We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice lunch experience”
Review of 't Goude Hooft

't Goude Hooft
Reserve with
't Goude Hooft is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #63 of 1,251 Restaurants in The Hague
Cuisines: Bar, European, Central European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Kids, Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice lunch experience”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stopped here for lunch on a day trip to The Hague. We have only good memories. The building is beautiful--historic outside and nicely renovated inside. Prime location. Service was prompt and our server was very friendly. We had a sandwich and an omelet for lunch and the portion sizes were ample, the food tasty. For dessert, I could not resist one of the chocolate covered cream puffs in the display case, and I'm glad I didn't try to resist it. Delicious. We would readily return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Donnmein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    174
    69
    37
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“long gone glory”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Pro’s:
• the location

Con’s
• Very dark place, maybe that’s better because it is a totally
• dirty and worn down place (don’t even think of using the toilet!!)
• Food matches the place: hardly any taste and poor quality

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank JosephineNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the hague
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Historic inn”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Beautiful historic decor inside, although a bit darkish. Nice porch and terrace on sunny days. Great place to celebrate special event.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank willllll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Enjoyable solo evening”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

I visited here alone after being seduced by the beautiful old building, cosy outside seating and friendly ambience.

I wasn't very hungry so just had one of the salad starters (smoked chicken, mango and cashew nut), accompanied by a glass of Chenin Blanc. However, I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of the food and it was more than enough for me.

The service was very friendly and efficient, and I enjoyed watching the world go by from the perfectly positioned outside seating. A good place to visit alone as all the seating faces outwards.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Business_girrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kopavogur, Iceland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Dissappointment”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

I have often gone to this place to have a coffee or a beer and snack and then sat outside, this very beautiful house.

This is the first time I have a dinner in this restaurant, with my family. We arrived rather like around 20.30. The restaurant was around 40% full. Still, it took time to get menus. The waiter came many times while we read asking us to order drinks, even after we said we would order drinks when we had decided what to eat.

Soups and bread were excellent. We had to wait a long time for main course. We the parents ordered grilled meat and the youngster chicken nuggets from children's menu. The meat was well prepared and good. We thought it was strange that vegetables, potatoes and fries came together for the two of us to share, but OK. However, the child said it could not eat the chicken and just ate the fries. Still hungry so we asked for more fries. Husband still hungry after soup and meat, so he decided to eat chicken left by child. Turned out, it was some sort of fish fingers! Not very fresh fish and not what we had ordered. We called the waiter to point this out and he just said Oh! should I ask the kitchen to prepare a new plate. But then just very few people were still there and we were ready to go home, so we said no.

We were surprised to see the nuggets on the bill!

Two soups, bread, two grilled meats, "nuggets", bottle of OK wine and one glass cola was 100 euros.

In short, food was good, but not plentiful, surroundings beautiful, but service not great. For example when we got the bottle of wine, he let the husband taste it, then poured in his glass. He never poured more, so we had to do it.

I had wanted for so long to have dinner at this restaurant but in a way it was a dissppointment.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoninaMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 't Goude Hooft also viewed

The Hague, South Holland Province
The Hague, South Holland Province
 
The Hague, South Holland Province
The Hague, South Holland Province
 

Been to 't Goude Hooft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing