We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Polite, cozy and great quality” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Toros Santiago

Toros Santiago
Reserve with
Toros Santiago is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #246 of 1,224 Restaurants in The Hague
Price range: $13 - $38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: We welcome you to enjoy our Argentine specialities at the heart of The Hague Center, surrounded by a comfortable, relaxing environment that says luxury. Listen to our selected music and get entertained in style that will truly impress.
Izmir Province, Turkey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Polite, cozy and great quality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Honestly I never rate places with 4/5 stars but I was really astonished by the quality, amount and price of a decent meal in this restaurant.
We took 2 Filet steak of 300gr, some salads, beers and coffee and we spent almost 50 Euro in total, which is quite impossible in the Netherlands.
The meat was tender, juicy and very tasty. Honestly it was one of the best steak I ever had.
It's a must go if you stop by Den Haag, you can't skip it!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank raffaeu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    29
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Grote Markt - late afternoon search for BEEF”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

It was our last day in The Netherlands and we decided to go to the Grote Markt area in Den Haag, looking for a place to get a hunk of beef. We exited the tram station and walked past all of the places and people gathering for an afternoon biertje..and straight ahead on to SchoolStraat. Toros Santiago is on the left, just past the Stanley & Livingston travel store, and just before Giuliano's (Italian) Restaurant.
It was well before most people are looking for food in the summertime in Den Haag, so we were almost the only customers. We sat by the window, to "people watch" all of the passers-by on SchoolStraat as it's a busy street...bikes and walkers, no cars. The waitress was helpful and quick with bringing our two glasses of wine. We ordered empanadas for a started, and they came hot and quick... and were very tasty.
We ordered two small bief de lomo (filet) and asked for "Medium". They were a tad less than medium, but tasted so good that we were happy with a little bit more rare than we usually want.
The rekening came with the wave of a hand, and we were on our way.
If you are in the area, and need a restaurant that know's what to do with beef, then Toros Santiago should work for you. Oh, they do also serve, chicken and lamb and seafood, but no pork.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, Netherlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Attentive service; tasty steak; but not a lot of extras on the plate”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

This is quite a small intimate restaurant; no music playing and we were a party of 8 so we made quite a lot of noise (sorry to the other diners!)
Welcome and service were fantastic, very attentive and fast. Could also be because the restaurant was half empty.
Food was a little bit slow in coming, I got the impression they only had 1 chef that night. The steaks were very tasty but not cheap (10 euro minimum price, up to 70 euro for a kilo!).
The main course was very basic, I asked for steak with grilled peppers and just got some raw pepper slices on the side of my plate. So you definitely need to add side dishes to your plate, that pushes the price up a lot.
A 3 course meal with 2 glasses of wine was 50 euro, quite a lot for a salad, piece of steak, some raw pepper and a slice of cheesecake.
I prefer Gauchos or Los Argentinos.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RHartes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Looking for somewhere around Grote Markt in The Hague for a quick dinner I walked past this unassuming looking restaurant with its blackboard outside advertising the set meal for €20. Looked like it was what I was looking for so I wandered in.
Service was quick and friendly, the wine list was certainly adequate, the music not too loud, but the best bit was a really tasty fillet steak for the main course on the set menu. Served simply, it melted in the mouth.
Starter and desert were OK - nothing to write home about - but I would go back there for the steak on any day of the week.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank James_C_S_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amateurs!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Just had dinner at this place. The only thing it has going for it is that thr food is reasonable and the decor doesnt resemble the "typical" Argentinian place. Otherwise everything else was average. Servive is extremely poor, not once after ordering and the meal arrived were we asked if we wanted anything else...we were not even offered coffee or desert. I will not be going back in a hurry.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cheerioshiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toros Santiago also viewed

The Hague, South Holland Province
The Hague, South Holland Province
 
The Hague, South Holland Province
The Hague, South Holland Province
 

Been to Toros Santiago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing