We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sea life”

Sea Life Scheveningen
Ranked #28 of 174 things to do in The Hague
Attraction details
Waals-Br.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sea life”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This attraction is interesting both for children and adults. There is lots of information and the many different species are worth the visit. However, when crowded is gets difficult to go back and fwd. in order to be there when they feed some.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carlo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boet H, General Manager at Sea Life Scheveningen, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Carlo,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your visit to our SEA LIFE site. It is good to hear that you and the children enjoyed the visit and appreciated the variety of spieces and information provided. During holidays it can get rather busy indeed when people follow the feedinh schedule. There is a session at least every hour. In off peak periods the site is less crowded and maybe we see you again then! Again, thanks for your positive feedback, best regards,
Boet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    142
    114
    52
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I was there with my two kids in July, I really like the occasion to watch some really rare creatures of the see so closely. There are other Sea Life's spread around the world, some of them much bigger than that of Scheveningen, but this one comprises all what is necessary to give you a unique experience.
Unfortunately it is rather expensive, and that's why it gets only 4 stars from me.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MartinF229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boet H, General Manager at Sea Life Scheveningen, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Martin,
Thank you for reviewing your visit to SEA LIFE Scheveningen. We are real pleased with your positive remarks and are glad that you liked the species on display and the experience in general. There are several offers available, often as promotions or as pre-sale offers online that offer a nice discount. Maybe a good tip for a next visit? Again, thanks for your kind words, it is much appreciated. Regards, Boet Hensen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very creative and serene atmosphere”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

It is a really good place to visit will give u such a closeness to nature and even good if you have kids of learning age...I dont have but I think .... I would definitely go again if there is a chance

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank DrHINA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boet H, General Manager at Sea Life Scheveningen, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Dr Hina,
Thank you for your friendly and positive message about your visit to SEA LIFE Scheveningen. It is real good to read how much you enjoyed the trip. Please come by and visit again when you have the change, you are most welcome!
Best regards, Boet Hensen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Some wonderful fish, but overpriced & not great for adults”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

My partner and I visited a few days ago and were looking forward to seeing various species of fish, as well as sharks and an octopus (as advertised on the website). There were some very interesting fish there and a couple of small sharks, but the octopus was nowhere to be seen.

Our experience was also affected by the large number of parents pushing buggies around and allowing their children to run from tank to tank, shouting and screaming very loudly. It would have been good to see some staff watching out for this kind of thing - its great to see kids interested in the fish and no problem to have them there, but when they are allowed to run around like its a creche it really ruins the atmosphere for everyone else trying to enjoy the experience.

Another issue was the constant use of phone cameras - the centre have a policy that cameras are allowed as long as there isn't a flash, but people can ignore this and end up startling the fish in tanks with their constant pictures. Perhaps the owners might consider a "no photos" policy in future for the benefit of all the creatures there. Overall, an interesting experience, but definitely not worth the 32 euros we paid to get in.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Johanna53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boet H, General Manager at Sea Life Scheveningen, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Johanna,
Thank you for posting a review after visiting our SEA LIFE centre in The Netherlands.
I am sorry to hear that the Octopus was unwilling to perform on the day of your visit. They like to hide in corners and since we try to give it a natural habitat it sometimes hides for hours. On other moments it swims around and shows off to the public, especially during the feeding session it becomes real active. In summer holidays we have a lot of families visiting us, often with small children. Our core audience and yes, sometimes very loud indeed as they are excited seeing all the fish and tanks. If you are ever in the area again, try to visit outside the peak holiday periods or come by early in the morning. I can assure you that your visit will be less hectic and probably more enjoyable! Best regards, Boet Hensen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“The whales drew me, but alas!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

When i saw the post card of the sea life, I thought an opportunity to see sharks and whales as shown on national Geo. What I got was fishes, corals, shell fishes. The shark was small and didnt leave the impression of seeing a shark on me. I like the layout and the place looks like a defined maze.
Its a good place for kids and sealife lovers who can tell a fish from another. My son loved it.
For me, I am still in search of mywhale and shark watching.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank tbs4real
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boet H, General Manager at Sea Life Scheveningen, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear tbs4real,
Thanks for leaving a comment about your visit to SEA LIFE. I am sorry we were not able to show you all the creatures you had expected but we are pleased that you liked the visit anyway after all. No, we do not have space not the desire to have whales on display but we do try to educate all visitors about the oceans and everything living in them.
Again, thank you for taking the time to post a comment!
regards, Boet Hensen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Life Scheveningen also viewed

Scheveningen, The Hague
The Hague, South Holland Province
 
The Hague, South Holland Province
The Hague, South Holland Province
 

Been to Sea Life Scheveningen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing