We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced & overrated”
Review of Panorama Mesdag

Panorama Mesdag
Ranked #4 of 172 things to do in The Hague
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: A magnificent experience in time and space.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Overpriced & overrated”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

You basicly pay 10 euro's to see one painting. I was done within a minute. I think The Hague has much nicer museums like the Escher museum. The painting is nice sure, but I don't think it was worth my visit. Won't go again, wouldn't recommend it.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank FloortjeNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,390 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    861
    438
    83
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

The first part of this gallery shows photographs taken at a 360 degree perspective - interesting but not 100% relevant to the area that you are visiting, although interesting if you like photography which we do. On the second floor is the panaramic painting of The Hague and area which you could quite happily pull up a deck chair and sit on the sand dunes (artificial but real sand) just to watch the painting as there is always something new to look at. Would be quite happy sititng for a couple of hours it is so well done.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JuneP63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, ME
Level Contributor
165 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“An unbvelieveable panorama”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Having visited today's rather depressing, overbuilt and unattractive Scheveningen, it was a delight to "experience" this historic panorama, which is relay realistic. Well worth a visit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank oldmayor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genève
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Panorama Mesdag, my all time favourite Museum!”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Whenever I am in The Hague I love to go to Panorama Mesdag. I have been so many times to this museum and still can't get enough of it. It's so magical! The view is never the same. On a sunny day the colours of the painting are light and sunny and on a dark day the sky and the sea are greyish. Scheveningen, I spent a great deal of my youth there. For me Panorama Mesdag is like going back in time.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tandem2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
210 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Unique Historic Perspective”
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

The beautiful seaside landscape and historic perspective of Scheveningen and The Hague in this panorama from a-top a sand dune is probably what will impress most visitors. It is a fascinating look back in time when life on the coast was a lot quieter and the dependency on the ocean and sea farers was close and real. Well worth a visit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank PeeWang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Panorama Mesdag also viewed

The Hague, South Holland Province
 
The Hague, South Holland Province
The Hague, South Holland Province
 

Been to Panorama Mesdag? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing