We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Experience ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mochi

Mochi
Reserve with
Mochi is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #50 of 1,232 Restaurants in The Hague
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $36 - $61
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Mochi was born out of pure love! Patrick Buyze and Lissette Parra created a concept that intertwined both of their passion for travel and food. The restaurant offers a unique style of community dining serving Japanese-Latin American inspired dishes. The "Chefs Choice Menu" allows room for creativity and variety. With each course, you are served several distinct dishes to share and experience a journey of flavors like our famous Frikandel Speciaal. Aside from the menu there are a few classic items that can be ordered like the Pizza Sashimi, Bonito Waved Tiger Prawns and Hirado Asparagus. This innovative "new style" of cooking was influenced during both of their extensive travels around the world including Japan, China, Indonesia, Thailand, Colombia, Argentina, Brasil and many others which led to this success.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Best Experience ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

The menu was not translated so we kick off with the wrong foot. The waiter was on a hurry going from one table to the other and couldn't spend to much time translating. Ended up asking for random drinks and something to nible.

And then it happens: the dish was the absolute most delicious thing I ever tried. Looked right into the waiter's eyes and asked him: keep them coming, whatever you think is good. We loved every bite of it. Sake turned out to be a great companion to the meal as well.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roundtheworldcousine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    43
    14
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great place for a special meal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

This restaurant is a fusion restaurant, mixing the Asian- and South American kitchens. This is a combination that you don't find too often and it guarantees some very nice and special dishes. The restaurant does not use a menu, but rather surprises you with a superb three course dinner. You can indicate if you have any allergies, or if you dislike certain ingredients and the chef will take that into account.

Every dish we had, was prepared very well and tasted great. The service was very skilled and friendly and made sure we had nothing to wish for. We will definitely be going back to this restaurant in the near future.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JCvanDoorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miri, Malaysia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great fusion restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

I really enjoyed the food here. The fusion food was fantastic - fusing latin with japanese. The place is a bit small, so best to book ahead before going,

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank LCY_Msia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Surprising food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

The food at this place is amazing, especially the Oysters in a sambuca chili dressing. However, I noticed that over the past years, the service is declining. I hope this is temporary and that they will find their way back up.

Business tip: This is one of the few decent restaurants open on a Monday.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hansmaltha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Still my favorite restaurant when dining in The Hague. I hosted a party of visitors there last night and pleased to say once again the food, the service and the atmosphere were right on track. I am particularly loving the fish ceviche and the oysters in a sambuca chili dressing, t am a big fan of the fired asparagus in the crunchy bacon coating. The desserts are wonderful. Always a good offering of wine. We had a vegetarian in our party and the chef did a great job in substitutions and still followed the course selection. I always leave Mochi feeling like I have had a fun and delicious dining experience with nice people. Not a cheap place. Not for the picky eater or unadventurous - but truly a place that uses fine ingredients and a lovely imagination. They want to feed you and make you happy.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kimberlina34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mochi also viewed

The Hague, South Holland Province
The Hague, South Holland Province
 
The Hague, South Holland Province
The Hague, South Holland Province
 

Been to Mochi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing