We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Been there, done that...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of India Palace - CLOSED

India Palace
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Been there, done that...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We also thought a Groupon deal for €17 was worth a try. Well, - we understand now why there is constant a Groupon deal for this restaurant - they would otherwise never get anyone to come.
We also tried to call to make a reservation - should have already had a premonition things were not good when no one answered the phone in the afternoon - I would have thought all restaurants have someone there to do that. When we finally did get through, we were told we should come at 1800 - but shouldn't come too late. When we did arrive - we were the 3rd party in the place - it was almost empty. We could pick any table - and thought a table by the window would be the best - but the tables there are packed in so tight we could not even fit in comfortably, so taking into consideration the "ocean view" was almost non existant - especially when it is dark - so we took a table in the middle of the floor. This meant 2 of us were looking at this huge video wall - great if you want to watch a soccer match but we didn't go to a restaurant to watch Hindi music videos - as attractive as they can be. Luckily it was not too loud, but still very disturbing and strange.
As far as the food goes - quality wise - it was edible - but that is about the best we can give it. For a buffet we thought it was very limited in its choices and not being an expert on Indian food we wondered if macaroni and tomato sauce is Indian?
All in all - our experience did not really live up to our expectations and we certainly would not repeat this - even with another Groupon deal - which they constantly repeat. If I was Groupon - I would ask why a restaurant has constant deals and should check if they want to be associated with restaurants of such quality.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    9
    4
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
München, Deutschland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Hardly worth it...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Service was leaning towards rudeness, food was OK but nothing special - however certainly overpriced for what it was.

And the atmosphere indeed was a bizarre mixture of cold waiting room and Indian tackiness that just didn't fit together. Not worth a repeat.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sb75muc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Dirty dieing restaurant...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012 via mobile

The floor was sticky, strange stains in the seating of my chair, forks and spoons not cleaned well, table dirty. Everything felt not cleaned well, and in my lamb curry there was a big black hair. I just couldn't finish my dinner. The walking buffet was nice, choice from 10 dishes but most of it was cold. I am never gone go back there. I didn't get sick but I like good hygiene ... The employees where friendly, only spoke English.

Helpful?
3 Thank NvdHaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
203 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Best Indian restaurant in Holland -- so far”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

...this title may sound like a big compliment, when in fact most Indian food I've had has been pretty abysmally dumbed down and tasted like it came from a jar. But my partner and I went to chow down at the India Palace buffet and so got to sample a lot of different dishes -- all of which were better than any other Indian I've tasted in Holland in the 1.5 years I've lived here. Some were better than others, but at least they all tasted homemade.
The ambience is just okay (big-screen Indian music videos provided tacky entertainment), but the waitstaff were all polite and helpful. Overall, a comparatively decent dining experience.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nakalanzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good, standard curries”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2011

The India Palace serves a good range of the standard curry recipes. I ordered the chicken vindaloo and was pleasantly surprised when it turned out to be really hot and spicy, which is not always the case in some restaurants. The food was cooked and seasoned well and the naans had been freshly prepared. The drinks list was rather limited but importantly it did serve Indian beer. For those wanting good value for money, the restaurant also holds all you can eat curry buffet nights on selected evenings.

The restaurant is located close to the seafront and has a direct view of the beach and sea from some of the tables near the doorway. It is part of an arcade of shops and is very close to a nearby underground car park. The India Palace is large and also doubles as a venue for receptions and parties, judging by the disco ball and sound system.

Overall, a good curry house for those wanting a fix of well-prepared Indian food.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VBTAFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed India Palace also viewed

Scheveningen, The Hague
 
Scheveningen, The Hague
Leidschendam, The Hague
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing