We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Clingendael, A Beautiful Blend of Nature and History - Japanese Garden, the centrepiece

Clingendael is possibly one of the most beautiful estates in the Netherlands. The 16th century... read more

Reviewed January 15, 2021
The Shots O
,
The Netherlands
Fantastic

Very cool place. I'd highly recommend going there for the style and the garden itself. Very nice to... read more

Reviewed July 5, 2020
Ellicaw
,
The Hague, The Netherlands
Read all 585 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around The Hague
from $20.73
More Info
from $47.39
More Info
from $188.37
More Info
Reviews (585)
Filter reviews
585 results
Traveler rating
332
190
45
14
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
332
190
45
14
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews clingendael park small garden worth a visit rainy day autumn plants visitors netherlands century dutch lover
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 585 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2018

A relatively authentic Japanese strolling garden in Europe! The mossy paths reminded me of Kokedera, the moss garden outside Kyoto, but since there is no main building this garden lacks focus. There is a small central pavilion, flanked by a couple of vermilion bridges, and a maze of pathways to enjoy at your leisure. One other down side is the limited dates of opening, but this is a must-see for any fan of Japanese culture visiting Holland.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2018

When you live very close to some attractions/destinations, the tendency is you put off visiting knowing that they are always there. The first time I visited Clingendael estate was in 2004. It was peaceful and beautiful but I failed to go back again after that, always telling myself it's just there and will go soon.

After 19 years, I made it a point to re-visit just before the garden closes for the summer. Just like that first visit, the garden is a solace and even on a late afternoon when it gets a bit windy and chilly, there are still visitors sitting around in silence, enjoying the serenity of the place just being one with nature. It is truly therapeutic knowing that outside these woods is a busy city that draws you to the ways of the world.

The Japanese garden inside the Clingendael estate is open twice each year during spring and autumn (13-28 October in 2018). It is still in its pristine condition since it was opened 104 years ago by Marguerite M. Baronesse van Brienen, the rich owner of Clingendael at that time. It is now under the management of the municipality of The Hague. Lady Daisy as she was fondly called, travelled several times to Japan by boat and brought back lanterns, a water cask, sculptures, the pavilion, the little bridges and several plants. Because of the age of the garden, buggy's and electric cars are not allowed. Those in wheel chairs have a separate entrance. Dogs are not allowed. Entrance is free and the place can be reached by bus #18 from The Hague Central Station to the direction of Clingendael. Get off at the end point where the bus travels and walk back a few paces to the main entrance of Clingendael estate.

Date of experience: June 2018
2  Thank ElaineJSnA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2018 via mobile

We visited Hague and we had to see the Japanese Garden! The whole park is beautiful and peaceful, but the Garden itself sends you directly to anoher world. We spent a couple of hours in he park and the garden and we left feeling like new people!

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank oanal1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2018

A must if you travel to The Hague in spring and autumn. I specially love it in spring time. Beautiful and relaxing.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Viajera782013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2018

The Japanese Garden is a tranquil spot in the larger Clingendael Park. However, it's only open for a few weeks each year. The park itself is wonderful for walking, with some picturesque vistas and quiet walking paths. Clingendael is not the easiest location to visit by public transportation, so plan accordingly.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank ILoveAmsterdam1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews