We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A big desillusion”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen
Ranked #27 of 67 Hotels in The Hague
paris
Level Contributor
47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A big desillusion”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

My husband and i booked that hotel which is supposed to be an institution in NETHERLANDS for a special occasion!!
We were quiet disappointed!! We were hardly welcomed at the reception. The room with so called beach view was ugly and tiny and the sink was blocked!!
Fortunetaly the restaurant was good!!
The reputation of this hotel is overated!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lekkerpollux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurhausscheveningen, Deputy General Manager at Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Please be as kind to contact our Executive Office via executiveoffice@kurhaus.nl so we can discuss the feedback of your stay with us together.

With kind regards,

Samantha S. Fulton
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    326
    186
    110
    69
See reviews for
192
522
41
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gilze
Level Contributor
144 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

The Kurhaus Hotel is an impressive building right on the Scheveningen beach. Although the building itself dates back from 1885, it is carefully modernized and the rooms are quite comfortable.
We stayed here using a Groupon discount for a seaview room and including a 3-course dinner.
As mentioned, the room was quite comfortable, not large but with splendid sea view.
The dining room is an impressive fin de siecle room; during dinner there was a pianist was playing and singing. The 3-course dinner was tasteful, the wine arrangement, however, was poorly arranged as only 1 one was served instead of 3. Ok, miscommunication between the waiters.
The next day, a buffet breakfast was served in the same impressive room.

Room Tip: The rooms with sea view have a great view but can be noisy in the evenings because of the take-away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Akulon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurhausscheveningen, Deputy General Manager at Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your stay in the Steigenberger Kurhaus Hotel. We would like to offer you our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused during your dinner in our Kurzaal restaurant regarding your wine arrangement. We hope to welcome you again in the future.

With kind regards,

Samantha s. Fulton
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We had a wonderful time at this beautiful and historic beach resort! Even though very busy, the Hotel staff remained extremely attentive from check in till check out. Breakfast had been served in a most stunning and breathtaking restaurant with an excellent choice, from fresh orange juice to the custom fit egg specialty prepared at the live cooking station. We went one night for dinner on the outside terrace, which just confirmed the excellent level of service – do not eat at the restaurants on the promenade with little value for money!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurhausscheveningen, Deputy General Manager at Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much fory your positieve review! We are very pleased to see that you enjoyed our stay in the Kurhaus as wel as your visit to our Kurzaal Restaurant and Terrace.

With kind regards,

Samantha S. Fulton
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netherlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

The Kurhaus is a beautiful classic hotel. The people that work there were very interested, kind and most helpfull. It is a pity the people that work at the terrace outside were not.
We enjoyed our dinner and the best breakfast ever! It is an expensive hotel and it was money well spend. It felt like a miniholiday.
We stayed in a clean newly refurbished room with a little terrace with seaview.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisaNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurhausscheveningen, Deputy General Manager at Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for this positive review. We are indeed very proud of our extensive breakfast buffet. We hope to welcome you to our hotel again in the future.

With kind regards,

Samantha S. Fulton
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed for one night in June. The hotel is a historic monument in itself and the building is beautiful. Especially the restaurant is worth seeing.

I stayed in a basic room that was okay. The room was nicely decorated and clean and the bathroom was well equipped but the room itself was nothing special, it was like in any other business hotel. Comfortable bed and no disturbing noises.

The staff is helpful and polite but you would expect that in this price class. Good breakfast with wide variety.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jari A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurhausscheveningen, Deputy General Manager at Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear guest,

It is very nice to read that your stay in the Steigenberger Kurhaus hotel was to your satisfaction. We hope to welcome you in the Steigenberger Kurhaus Hotel again in the near future!

With kind regards,

Samantha S. Fulton
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
195 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

As Scheveningen has expanded to become a major resort community, with all the good and bad that implies, it's nice to find a traditional European hotel like the Steigenberger Kurhaus still holding court by the beach. If the Kurhaus was a little removed from the meetings I was attending in The Hague, it was also a welcome change from standardized business-class hotels. The Kurzaal Restaurant, which serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner, is a vast atrium with an elaborate skylight, ceiling paintings, and vaults. I was struck by the lack of comparably superior restaurants close by, but there are certainly other good restaurants elsewhere in the Hague. Even in September, when the beach crowd had gone, my stay at the Kurhaus was a memorable experience.

Room Tip: Ask for seaside rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurhausscheveningen, Deputy General Manager at Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review via Tripadvisor. We are very pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back in the hotel in the near future!

With kind regards,

Samantha S. Fulton
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
113 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I stayed here for a few days whilst attending a conference at the World Forum. My bedroom to be newly refurbished and of a good buisness-class standard. It was very handy to have sockets for UK shaped electricity plugs too, which was great for my laptop.

The huge dining hall is an impressive space with ornate painted ceilings and a grand old fashioned feel.

The hotel staff were helpful and courteous. I only had one meal there as I was with clients a lot of the time elsewhere, but the food was good. The immediate area is little grim if the sun is not shining - it was very windy & rainy when we were there, so it had a bit of a depressing air when we left the hotel. It is not in a grand area and is surrounded by rather ugly post war concrete buildings. Once inside the hotel though you are transported into a grander environment.

It is about 15 minutes in a cab or easy tram ride to the centre of The Hague and the World Forum conference centre, but the hotel is MUCH better than the Bel AIr or Novotel which are near the World Forum conference centre, so it's definitely worth staying here for conferences at the World Forum.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NMHastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurhausscheveningen, Deputy General Manager at Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear guest,

It is very nice to read that your stay in the Steigenberger Kurhaus hotel was to your satisfaction. We hope to welcome you in the Steigenberger Kurhaus Hotel again in the near future!

With kind regards,

Samantha S. Fulton
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these The Hague hotels
0.4 mi away
Carlton Beach The Hague / Scheveningen
2.4 mi away
Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel
2.2 mi away
Hilton The Hague
Hilton The Hague
#1 of 67 in The Hague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bilderberg Europa Hotel
Bilderberg Europa Hotel
#2 of 24 in Scheveningen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada the Hague Scheveningen
Ramada the Hague Scheveningen
#6 of 24 in Scheveningen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Hague Marriott Hotel
The Hague Marriott Hotel
#6 of 67 in The Hague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen

Property: Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen
Address: Gevers Deynootplein 30, 2586 CK, The Hague, The Netherlands (Formerly Steigenberger Kurhaus Hotel)
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > The Hague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in The Hague
#10 Business Hotel in The Hague
#19 Luxury Hotel in The Hague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen 5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel is directly located at the North Sea and is the ideal place to enjoy Scheveningen, the sea, the beach and the 'Royal' city of The Hague. The Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague offers a selection of 253 elegant accomodations. Each of the rooms offer extra-long, comfortable bedding, a desk and free use of the minibar which is restocked daily. The private bathroom comes with a contemporary decor. The restaurant serves an extensive breakfast and features views over the North Sea. When the weather allows it, it is also possible to enjoy breakfast on the terrace of the hotel. Guests can have a high-tea, brunch or coffee while chatting in the conservatory. The restaurant serves classic French-style haute cuisine for dinner, with a slight focus on fish and seafood dishes. The usage of the Wi-Fi is free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Kurhaus The Hague
Hotel Steigenberger Kurhaus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing