We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen
Ranked #30 of 67 Hotels in The Hague
netherlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

The Kurhaus is a beautiful classic hotel. The people that work there were very interested, kind and most helpfull. It is a pity the people that work at the terrace outside were not.
We enjoyed our dinner and the best breakfast ever! It is an expensive hotel and it was money well spend. It felt like a miniholiday.
We stayed in a clean newly refurbished room with a little terrace with seaview.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisaNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurhausscheveningen, Deputy General Manager at Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for this positive review. We are indeed very proud of our extensive breakfast buffet. We hope to welcome you to our hotel again in the future.

With kind regards,

Samantha S. Fulton
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    338
    192
    114
    72
See reviews for
197
539
42
181
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed for one night in June. The hotel is a historic monument in itself and the building is beautiful. Especially the restaurant is worth seeing.

I stayed in a basic room that was okay. The room was nicely decorated and clean and the bathroom was well equipped but the room itself was nothing special, it was like in any other business hotel. Comfortable bed and no disturbing noises.

The staff is helpful and polite but you would expect that in this price class. Good breakfast with wide variety.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jari A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurhausscheveningen, Deputy General Manager at Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear guest,

It is very nice to read that your stay in the Steigenberger Kurhaus hotel was to your satisfaction. We hope to welcome you in the Steigenberger Kurhaus Hotel again in the near future!

With kind regards,

Samantha S. Fulton
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
195 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

As Scheveningen has expanded to become a major resort community, with all the good and bad that implies, it's nice to find a traditional European hotel like the Steigenberger Kurhaus still holding court by the beach. If the Kurhaus was a little removed from the meetings I was attending in The Hague, it was also a welcome change from standardized business-class hotels. The Kurzaal Restaurant, which serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner, is a vast atrium with an elaborate skylight, ceiling paintings, and vaults. I was struck by the lack of comparably superior restaurants close by, but there are certainly other good restaurants elsewhere in the Hague. Even in September, when the beach crowd had gone, my stay at the Kurhaus was a memorable experience.

Room Tip: Ask for seaside rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurhausscheveningen, Deputy General Manager at Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review via Tripadvisor. We are very pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back in the hotel in the near future!

With kind regards,

Samantha S. Fulton
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
112 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I stayed here for a few days whilst attending a conference at the World Forum. My bedroom to be newly refurbished and of a good buisness-class standard. It was very handy to have sockets for UK shaped electricity plugs too, which was great for my laptop.

The huge dining hall is an impressive space with ornate painted ceilings and a grand old fashioned feel.

The hotel staff were helpful and courteous. I only had one meal there as I was with clients a lot of the time elsewhere, but the food was good. The immediate area is little grim if the sun is not shining - it was very windy & rainy when we were there, so it had a bit of a depressing air when we left the hotel. It is not in a grand area and is surrounded by rather ugly post war concrete buildings. Once inside the hotel though you are transported into a grander environment.

It is about 15 minutes in a cab or easy tram ride to the centre of The Hague and the World Forum conference centre, but the hotel is MUCH better than the Bel AIr or Novotel which are near the World Forum conference centre, so it's definitely worth staying here for conferences at the World Forum.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NMHastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurhausscheveningen, Deputy General Manager at Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear guest,

It is very nice to read that your stay in the Steigenberger Kurhaus hotel was to your satisfaction. We hope to welcome you in the Steigenberger Kurhaus Hotel again in the near future!

With kind regards,

Samantha S. Fulton
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
128 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

It is so nice to see historic buildings like the Kurhaus preserved. The dining room decor is just amazing. We enjoyed a few beers on their sea view terrace and a nice walk down the boardwalk.

Our room was large with comfortable beds and a nice refurbished bathroom. Sadly, our room did not have a sea view, and all the other floors had key-card access on the elevator, but ours did not. Poor directions on connecting to the wifi, but eventually I asked the front desk and received the code. Checkin service was also poor (we were directed to the wrong side of the hotel, and got a lot of attitude but no apology after we retraced our steps). However, the front desk was great in arranging transportation to the airport; they called a car service which was 70€ instead of 100€ on the meter.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ardith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurhausscheveningen, Deputy General Manager at Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. This feedback helps us to improve our service.
We offer you our sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused during your stay in the Steigenberger Kurhaus Hotel.

Please be as kind to contact our Executive Office via executiveoffice@kurhaus.nl when making your next reservation and we will make sure your next stay will be absolutely perfect.

With kind regards,

Samantha S. Fulton
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halmstad
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed here for 2 Days (1 night). Booked directly at the Hotels Website and as I was Hague already I was there within 1 hour. Checking in took rather long as its a big hotel and I got the feeling that the Reception is short on staff if there is alot of guests coming. Anyway I got a nice room facing the beach, the view was very nice and the room is more expensive then the ones facing the city. The room was nice though Im not so keen on the glass door to the bathroom. Wifi worked perfect and the tv have the channels I wanted. I had coffee in the bar as the bar/ball room has a wondeful interior, its very impressive. Breakfast is served in the ballroom/restaurant and it was very busy but the quality was good if not that Impressive. Got a voucher to the Holland Casino across the street, well Worth a try. All in all a Steigenberger is Always well managed and Kurhaus is no exception.

Room Tip: Try to get a beach view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FredrikHalmstad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurhausscheveningen, Deputy General Manager at Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you return to the Kurhaus so often and that you enjoy staying with us. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future!

With kind regards,
Samantha S. Fulton
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Classical, historical ambiance. Good hospitality and nice dinner. But we got a very noisy room over the plein or plaza, above restaurants and bars. We had a very nice breakfast and some sunshine on the beach!

Room Tip: Get a room on the water side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paola L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurhausscheveningen, Deputy General Manager at Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for leaving your comment on Tripadvisor and what a shame to read that you have experienced noise from the outsides restaurants and Bars. It is a shame that you have not contacted us during your stay, we would have been happy to give you a room move to an more quite room. Please contact our Executive Office via executiveoffice@kurhaus.nl when making you next reservation and we will make sure your stay will be perfect.

With kind regards,

Samantha S. Fulton
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these The Hague hotels
0.4 mi away
Carlton Beach The Hague / Scheveningen
2.4 mi away
Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel
2.2 mi away
Hilton The Hague
Hilton The Hague
#1 of 67 in The Hague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bilderberg Europa Hotel
Bilderberg Europa Hotel
#2 of 24 in Scheveningen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada the Hague Scheveningen
Ramada the Hague Scheveningen
#6 of 24 in Scheveningen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Hague Marriott Hotel
The Hague Marriott Hotel
#6 of 67 in The Hague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen

Property: Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen
Address: Gevers Deynootplein 30, 2586 CK, The Hague, The Netherlands (Formerly Steigenberger Kurhaus Hotel)
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > The Hague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in The Hague
#10 Business Hotel in The Hague
#20 Luxury Hotel in The Hague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen 5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel is directly located at the North Sea and is the ideal place to enjoy Scheveningen, the sea, the beach and the 'Royal' city of The Hague. The Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague offers a selection of 253 elegant accomodations. Each of the rooms offer extra-long, comfortable bedding, a desk and free use of the minibar which is restocked daily. The private bathroom comes with a contemporary decor. The restaurant serves an extensive breakfast and features views over the North Sea. When the weather allows it, it is also possible to enjoy breakfast on the terrace of the hotel. Guests can have a high-tea, brunch or coffee while chatting in the conservatory. The restaurant serves classic French-style haute cuisine for dinner, with a slight focus on fish and seafood dishes. The usage of the Wi-Fi is free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Kurhaus The Hague
Hotel Steigenberger Kurhaus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing