We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen
Ranked #30 of 67 Hotels in The Hague
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice facade”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed here on our honeymoon. The outside, the restaurant and the lobby are very nice and have a touch of class. Especially one of the bellmen went out of his way to please. With the exception of a nice lady in her 50s, reception staff appeared rather cold.

The valet parking, though at a price, is very convenient.

Unfortunately, the rooms are very small and quite noisy. The internet did not work, and like with other service requests, response to this issue was slow and rather ineffective. One of the lifts, looking very old and poorly maintained, would always take a minute or two before starting to move. The delay is not so much of an issue, but it does raise concerns about its reliability.

The hotel is right on the beach; location is perfect. A small shopping centre and a good number of restaurants (inclusing many Japanese and Chinese) are nearby, which is convenient.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Koalyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurhausscheveningen, Deputy General Manager at Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for the feedback you wrote to us. This feedback makes it possible for us to improve our service. We hope to welcome you again in our hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    349
    201
    123
    75
See reviews for
204
558
43
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
50 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

very nice hotel probably one of the best hotels in town
very good location for easy access to hotel
very nice location and comforts available to the beach by day and night time
very good food and other menus
central location to look around the city attractions
very good service indeed

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Espergaerde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurhausscheveningen, Deputy General Manager at Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for this positive review and we hope to welcome you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I was there in September 2012, for one working week. The room was really luxury, the bed wonderful mmmmmm, everything very nice, really, really relaxing and making you feel taken good care of.
I have tried the fitness rooms, it was a disappointment though, but ok, we don't come there to go the the gym. The hotel is at a wonderful location, perfectly looking towards a restourant space in front and to a endless romantic beach walk and romantic restourants line behind it. the staff is very helphul and restecting you, free WIFI in the rooms, many TV chanels, nice room lights and excellent room hauskeeping.
I haven't tried the restaurant as it was too much to pay about 20 euro for a brakfast...but perhaps if I go with my half during a weekend, I would make us allow this pleasure too, the price is also for the royal feeling of the environment in the building.
Also, I enjoyed very mch the exposition of Rolling Stones photograps from their tour in Nederlands and the concert in this hotel, of when they were very young.

Room Tip: If you are going to a business trip, allow yourself some bit more to pay on your account and take th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shamenet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurhausscheveningen, Deputy General Manager at Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear guest,

We are very pleased to read you have enjoyed your stay in the Kurhaus. We receive a lot of positive feedback about the Rolling Stones exposition and are very proud to present this artwork in our Lobby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urdorf, Switzerland
Level Contributor
319 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I wanted to spend some quality time for one night with my fiancée and I surprised her with a reservation at this amazing hotel. I booked us for one night in a room with seaview as I knew she would appreciate this and she did not disappoint me, the hotel is living and breathing a different lifestyle and this portrayed into our visit. The room was stuffed with goodies and amenities of the highest quality, the bathroom was immaculate and then there's the staff who were always a step ahead, alert and attentive. We had dinner in the restaurant right under the hotels' distinctive dome and the food was as good as you could expect, the ambience was increased by the live music and the staff who were courteous, profesional and not afraid to help you make the occasion more special by going the extra mile. Thanks everyone!!!

Room Tip: Pay the supplement for a seaview room, it's worth the view and sounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ddoron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurhausscheveningen, Deputy General Manager at Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review! We are very pleased to hear you have enjoyed your stay in The Steigenberger Kurhaus Hotel and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Too many stories of appalling service to recount in one review. Horrible decor. Inedible food (and surrounding restaurants offer nothing better). Terrible location. Crap beach. "Fitness room" nothing but a gutted bedroom with garish lighting and a few pieces of outdated equipment and rusty weights. No swimming pool. No spa. No sauna. A complete mystery as to how this place earned its stars. Absolutely not worth the money. Go elsewhere. Seriously.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurhausscheveningen, Deputy General Manager at Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear guest,

Please contact our Executive Office via executiveoffice@kurhaus.nl in order to tell us the full story of your stay with us. We would like to see if there is anything else we can do for you in this matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these The Hague hotels

Telford
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

This is a true story; you can verify it with the hotel. I promise I’m not making this up. I was staying here with my Dutch wife and her in-laws. I think most people in The Netherlands know this hotel and dare I say the Germans as well (they flock to Scheveningen like migrating swallows in the summer). So, it was a special treat.

My father-in-law arrived early and had already checked us in. The paper confirmation clearly showed that we had rooms with a sea view (btw, a little tip, make sure you get sea room views).

We all trudged off to the rooms and wondered at the elegance of the hotel – it truly is a beautiful hotel.

As we entered the rooms it became clear that there was no sea, merely a wonderful view of the apartments opposite which for voyeurs must be their equivalent of a sea view (btw, a little tip, if you’re a voyeur, ask for apartment views).

We rang down to confirm the wrong room and the receptionist said he would check, so we waited….and waited…and waited…and waited and…well, you’ve got the idea, we waited for 15 mins but nothing so off we trudged again back down stairs.

The receptionist did indeed agree that a mistake had been made. As we were about to trudge off a very apologetic hotel door man (that’s the guys in the long coat and tall hat) came to my father-in-law, they spoke a few words in Dutch and both went outside. They came back in. The doorman went to park my father-in-laws car and reversed it into a wall!!

It was at that point we all looked around for the TV cameras and a very enthusiastic but annoying TV host to say in Dutch – GOTCHA!!!! But no. It was sadly true.

In the space of 30 mins we had been checked into the wrong rooms and had one dented car.

So behind the wonderful façade. The opulent dining room – this is worth a visit on its own. Fine dining, good location, friendly staff (as Dutch, KLM, type friendly, very business like and sharp but you do get a smile if you tickle them), great breakfast and 5 star prices remember, it’s just any other hotel that makes mistakes.

Look, on another day I would have probably given them 5 but on this day! Nah! I think 3 is still a good score!

Room Tip: Book the hotel via their website. DO NOT ring. We did and prices were higher when we rang but we boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jupiter101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurhausscheveningen, Deputy General Manager at Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review. It is a shame to read that you have experienced your stay in The Steigenberger Kurhaus Hotel in such a negative way. Please contact our Executive office via executiveoffice@kurhaus.nl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We visited the Kurhaus in August for a weekend break by the seaside. The hotel is a beautiful building with a fantastic history and architecture - I would certainly have a wander round it if you're in the area.

We arrived after a long journey from the UK to be met by some of the slowest reception staff I have ever encountered. We had to wait for 20 minutes in a queue whilst the receptionists laboured over each and every check in. 20 minutes later and we were up to bat. One would have thought that by booking online and providing all of your details in advance this might expedite the process but alas no. No one apologised for the delay or even mentioned it - a nice touch I thought, do they teach that on day 1 of hospitality school?

Back to the hotel....the room we had was a seaview double and it was clean and very comfortable. Any light sleepers should be aware that the seafacing rooms look out onto the boulevard below and there is a nightclub there that played music so loudly that, even with all of the windows closed, you could still enjoy the delights of the naff eurobeats thumping late into the night.

Turning to the positives, the breakfast was great and served in the main hall which is a spectacular setting. Plenty of choice at the buffet from continental to cooked to more exotic (sushi etc), as well as champagne for any booze hounds.

When it came to leave I was sure that we couldn't go through the same experience again as we had at check in. Alas my faith was unfounded as we had to wait for 15 minutes just to check out. There was then a problem with the card reader that meant they apparently didn't accept visa cards, only maestro. This seemed odd at the time as I was of the belief that visa was a fairly acceptable form of payment around the world. Eventually we solved the problem and checked out.

As a rather alarming epilogue to this story, it turned out on checking our bank statements later that week that the "failed" attempts to use our visa card had indeed gone through and over a thousand euros had been debited from our account. We called the hotel immediately and they eventually arranged for it to be returned. We received no apology at all - they simply stated that they would have noticed it and returned the funds anyway - and we were wholly dissatisfied with the service we received.

All in all a beautiful hotel in a beautiful location. Just a shame about the reception team.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Merryfield007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurhausscheveningen, Deputy General Manager at Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback and what a shame that your credit card was charge after all. This is not the standard that we uphold and we would like to offer you our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay. Please contact our Executive Office via executiveoffice@kurhaus.nl for your next reservation in the Kurhaus and we will make sure your visit will be absolutely perfect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these The Hague hotels
0.4 mi away
Carlton Beach
Carlton Beach
#1 of 24 in Scheveningen
1,023 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel
2.2 mi away
Hilton The Hague
Hilton The Hague
#1 of 67 in The Hague
1,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ramada the Hague Scheveningen
Ramada the Hague Scheveningen
#6 of 24 in Scheveningen
178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Den Haag Scheveningen
Ibis Den Haag Scheveningen
#5 of 24 in Scheveningen
410 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bilderberg Europa Hotel
Bilderberg Europa Hotel
#2 of 24 in Scheveningen
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen

Property: Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen
Address: Gevers Deynootplein 30, 2586 CK, The Hague, The Netherlands (Formerly Steigenberger Kurhaus Hotel)
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > The Hague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in The Hague
#10 Business Hotel in The Hague
#20 Luxury Hotel in The Hague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen 5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel is directly located at the North Sea and is the ideal place to enjoy Scheveningen, the sea, the beach and the 'Royal' city of The Hague. The Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague offers a selection of 253 elegant accomodations. Each of the rooms offer extra-long, comfortable bedding, a desk and free use of the minibar which is restocked daily. The private bathroom comes with a contemporary decor. The restaurant serves an extensive breakfast and features views over the North Sea. When the weather allows it, it is also possible to enjoy breakfast on the terrace of the hotel. Guests can have a high-tea, brunch or coffee while chatting in the conservatory. The restaurant serves classic French-style haute cuisine for dinner, with a slight focus on fish and seafood dishes. The usage of the Wi-Fi is free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Kurhaus The Hague
Hotel Steigenberger Kurhaus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing