We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice old hotel at the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen
Ranked #36 of 68 Hotels in The Hague
Reviewed August 30, 2012

The hotel is directly connected to the beach. I would not rate it 5 stars as the rooms on first floor had little seaview and were quite old and small. The prices are reasonable while parking is an issues due to limited space. The food was good and breakfast gave quite good choices.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DWGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurhausscheveningen, Deputy General Manager at Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Dear guest,

We are very pleased to read that overall you had a most enjoyable stay with us. We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in our hotel on a future trip to The Hague.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,393)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

384 - 390 of 1,393 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2012

Although the staff in general is friendly (especially at the frontdesk) this hotel was for me as a Dutch man dissappointing.
Small rooms, loud noises and on top of that even as a hotel guest having dinner in the hotel restaurant they refuse to serve water from the tap as it is not their policy.
Instead they want you to buy Spa Blauw with your wine.
Madness and I refused to do this.
They gave me a hassle about it but when i asked to speak to the manager it was possible.


Plus side is the location and the breakfast room.

Let me put it this way, I can see way the Hilton in Den Haag was fully booked.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LJV V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurhausscheveningen, Deputy General Manager at Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback as it helps us to improve our service.
Please contact our Executive Office when making your next reservation via executiveoffice@kurhaus.nl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I was in the Hague on business for a couple of days and stayed where the program would hold, Kurhaus. It was all I expected from a 5star hotel!

Though I booked for just myself, I was upgraded to a double family room. I didn't like the extra bed there but it proved useful as an outfits display platform ;) the room was equipped with everything I might need: from a bathroom scale to an umbrella, complimentary slippers to iron and ironing board.

I didn't get a sea-view room but the hotel is right at the beach so I went out for a stroll. Just beautiful, especially sunset! That was a huge plus for me.

As regards service, I was impressed with the wonderful "ballroom" we had lunch in. All with a pianist playing in the background; very classical. Staff were very curtious and polite and pretty much cordial. The only "downer" is I wish they were a little warmer. Did I mention the food was quite nice and just the right portions.

All in all for the couple of days I was there (my first time in the hague) it was exquisite.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oma Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurhausscheveningen, Deputy General Manager at Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing you positive review with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed in the beautifull Kurhaus on the 11th of August 2012. The building is impressive! Because of the good weather and the firework festival, the hotel was fully booked. A friendly clerc checked us in and our room (with landview) on the 4th floor which was small but nice decorated. Perfect beds and a modern fully equiped bathroom. Only problem was we could'nt change the thermostat (temperature) from the bath tap.. Reported it to the desk, but it wasn't solved.

We booked a package with tickets for Crazy Piano's and dinner was included. The food was allright but nothing special. But the service was poor... In The Hague is a school situated (Hogere Hotelschool) were students learn to be a manager in a hotel; we had the feeling this hotel is a place were a lot of students have there internship, but where is the teacher to tell them what to do?!? We had to waite long for our courses and now we know that Manuel from Fawlty Towers does exist! A young waiter took the wrong food to the wrong tables, it was hilarious how he ran around....

Because we went to Crazy Piano's till 2 'o clock in the morning (live music and a nice place to visit!) we were late for our breakfast (half past 10) The breakfast is great; so much to choose from! But... punctual 11 'o clock; they started to remove the buffet. Perhaps because of preparing the lunch, but this is not hospitality...

It's a pity, with a better service I would have rated this hotel higher!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MHD69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurhausscheveningen, Deputy General Manager at Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. Your feedback makes it possible to improve our service.
We hope to welcome you again in our hotel in the near furture.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

But that should be no excuse for a 5-star hotel to let their standards of service slip.
Saturday morning, breakfast: at 9.00am the buffet was already empty: a few drags of juice in the jugs and a few breadcrusts, no fruit salads. A cheff at the cooking station stating he was not responsible as he was not in charge. Staff was wondering around aimlessly, tables were not being cleared, the queues at the seating desk got longer as the waiter on duty kept leaving his post to direct other staff in the hall. Small guestrooms with small bathrooms, no discount in the underground parking, and for €650 for two nights we certainly felt we did not get value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToineWester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurhausscheveningen, Deputy General Manager at Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Dear guest,

Please accept our sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations during your stay. Please contact us via executiveoffice@kurhaus.nl when making your next reservation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

The area is very downgraded, not fit for a luxury hotel. No beach facilities. No free internet. Check-in slow, with only two (very nice) clerks. Executive Room with see view cost 300€/night. It faced a concrete building, you could see the sea to the left , but that is not what one understands (and pays for) by sea view No cupboards except in night stands. No executive lounge which is part of the cost of the executive room. Instead 1 drink per day in the hotel bar!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JAIMESANGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurhausscheveningen, Deputy General Manager at Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for the feedback regarding your stay. Please contact our Executive Office when making your next reservation via executiveoffice@kurhaus.nl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

There is no doubt that the Kurhaus is an impressive hotel but it falls well short in service standards from our recent visit.
We paid for an expensive package to watch the fireworks display on the beach and this included a 3 course bbq meal. The bbq meal was replaced last minute (with no reason given) by a meal in the main restaurant and we waited one hour (7.30 - 8.30) for the first course to be served and cleared. This was a cold first course and although the main and dessert were served faster, we still waited a long time for each one. Other diners were having the exact same experience around us and waiters were bringing out the wrong food to the wrong tables.
The bar area was chaotic after the meal and we could not order drinks in the bar but only from a waiter outside on the terrace. We tried 4 times to order a drink and eventually got one at 10.30pm after trying to order at 9.15pm.
The package had stated exclusive seating to watch the fireworks but if you had come out too late then you had to stand and watch as the seats were all filled.
This was so disappointing to us as this could have been such a special night. We will remember it now for all the wrong reasons. We have shared our concerns with the Management team.

Room Tip: Use the air conditioning rather than open the windows as the noise levels from outside can be high.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacobs08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurhausscheveningen, Deputy General Manager at Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Dear guest,
We are very sorry to hear that we have not been able to meet you expectations during the fireworks festival. Please contact our Executive Office via executiveoffice@kurhaus.nl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these The Hague hotels
1.6 mi away
The Hague Marriott Hotel
The Hague Marriott Hotel
#6 of 68 in The Hague
683 reviews
0.4 mi away
Carlton Beach
Carlton Beach
#1 of 24 in Scheveningen
1,150 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Carlton Ambassador Hotel
Carlton Ambassador Hotel
#2 of 68 in The Hague
701 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hilton The Hague
Hilton The Hague
#1 of 68 in The Hague
1,737 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bilderberg Europa Hotel
Bilderberg Europa Hotel
#3 of 24 in Scheveningen
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen

Address: Gevers Deynootplein 30, 2586 CK, The Hague, The Netherlands (Formerly Steigenberger Kurhaus Hotel)
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > The Hague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in The Hague
#11 On the Beach Hotel in The Hague
#21 Luxury Hotel in The Hague
Price Range: $141 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen 5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel is directly located at the North Sea and is the ideal place to enjoy Scheveningen, the sea, the beach and the 'Royal' city of The Hague. The Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague offers a selection of 253 elegant accomodations. Each of the rooms offer extra-long, comfortable bedding, a desk and free use of the minibar which is restocked daily. The private bathroom comes with a contemporary decor. The restaurant serves an extensive breakfast and features views over the North Sea. When the weather allows it, it is also possible to enjoy breakfast on the terrace of the hotel. Guests can have a high-tea, brunch or coffee while chatting in the conservatory. The restaurant serves classic French-style haute cuisine for dinner, with a slight focus on fish and seafood dishes. The usage of the Wi-Fi is free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Kurhaus The Hague
Hotel Steigenberger Kurhaus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing