We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean room and good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #2 of 67 Hotels in The Hague
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Clean room and good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

The room was clean . Hotel of course is very impressive from the inside. Room was spacious and had tea and coffee making facilities. Room had petals sprinkled all over (maybe because we mentioned that we just got engaged). the tv in the room is placed in the corner of the room behind a big piece of furniture. Not really practical. There was a concierge that took us to our room which wasnt really necessary as we carried our own luggage. He walked us to our room and poointed out the obvious : "this is the tv" , "this is the bed", "this is the bathroom" , 'that is the window" ....??? it was a bit silly really. I have been to a lot of luxury hotels and this just seemed like a waste of personnel. He waited around akwardly for a tip , which I refused to give as he didnt do a thing!

During checkout the same concierge passed us by and didnt even bother to greet just gave us a mean glance, terrible! Unlike the rest of the staff who greet whenever you pass by,....as is normal. He must have been upset we didnt tip. Shame as the rest were very friendly and helpful even had a turndown service. He kind of spoiled the image I have of Des indes.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CeceeJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIndes, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Ceecee,

Thank you very much for your visit to Hotel Des Indes and for taking the time to share your feedback.

We are delighted to learn that you had a positive experience with us. However, we are sorry to read that some service interactions were not up to our standard. We will discuss this with our team to avoid repetition in the future. Please do note that our entire team is informed about the fact that tips are included in their wages and therefore tips should not be expected as you describe. Let us please apologize for the inconvenience.

We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Rem Bastiaens
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    554
    198
    61
    35
    14
See reviews for
102
388
68
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
KL
Level Contributor
89 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

This was a fantastic hotel and completely blew me away, it's not the normal modern hotel am used to. but was pleasently suprised with the large rich interiors of the room. It's almost like a boutique hotel somewhat.

The hotel is also just next to a road that goes down with plenty to eat and drink, this makes your stay even more interesting as things are round the corner.

Hotel staff were top class and my stay was the best without doubt.

Room Tip: Do take a walk outside and down the street, it's jsut there and an absolute delight
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thivanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIndes, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Traveller,

Thank you very much for your stay in Hotel Des Indes and for the time you took to write a review on your stay on Tripadvisor.com.

It is a delight to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us and it would be a great pleasure to welcome you back soon.

As you already mention, Hotel Des Indes is situated very well in the center of The Hague. The Denneweg, which is right around the corner offers a great collection of antique shops and wonderful restaurants.

Kind regards,

Rem Bastiaens
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

From the entrance to our departure, the entire experience was a once in a lifetime one. All the members of staff that assisted us, or saw in the corridor greeted us sincerely. this made us feel very comfortable during our stay.
Furthermore the city of The Hague is definitely worth paying a visit to!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank truffelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIndes, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Traveller,

A sincere thank you for your very nice comments on Tripadvisor. We are very proud to read that you have experienced your stay with us as a great one and it is our pleasure to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Rem Bastiaens
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

I was fortunate when I went to the Hague with my family and the usual 5 star hotels were full and 'left' with Des Indes which I have not heard before. I was pleasantly surprised. Has huge rooms for European standard, its a former holiday palace and hence has a rich history with a palatial interior. Has modern facilities - LCD TV and a Nespresso coffee machine! What separates it is the staff. So helpful and friendly from the porters to checkin in and banquet. Breakfast spread is a lot more than other hotels I have been to in Europe. Location is 12 mins walk to central train station and 3 mins to a tram location. Smack in a line of boutique shops and 5 mins walk to the Hague shopping district and historical places. The rooms are old and hence in one of our stay, my room had a cold breeze through the window. This was easily solved by the hotel who supplied us with an extra portable heater. It is part of the Sheraton chain.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank RazifYusoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIndes, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Traveller,

Thank you very much for your visit to Hotel Des Indes. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest. We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you have shared this online.

Hotel Des Indes is part of Starwood, and Starwood also has brands like Sheraton for example. In all of the Starwood brands you are able to use your SPG membership.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Rem Bastiaens
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
255 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Des Indes Hotel is the best hotel in the Netherlands and is very charming. Staff was welcoming, warm, friendly, and accomodating They allowed leaving my bags for several extra hours and a few other conveniences. I have stayed there several times. All the rooms are good and well decorated in Old World European style. The room had new LCD screens now. Fitness center is smaller, but has all the equipment needed. All fitness staff is nice and especially the Manager. He was always welcoming and smiling. Des Indes Tea was very tasty. I recommend this Hotel, historic and the best location for class in The Hague . it is expensive but is worth the money.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveHom1796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIndes, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Dave,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay in Hotel Des Indes. Thank you so much for your kind words. We have passed on your comments to our team.

Our Des Indes Health Club and Spa offers all necessary facilities for a great work out. The team is always there to personally assist you during your work out. Also our beautician is always there to facilitate the best treatments with great products.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

Rem Bastiaens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

This hotel was so amazing, and not at all what I was expecting. I ended up catching a horrible cold the day before I arrived, and the amazing staff at the front desk made my check in process so smooth and quick. I ended up in a lovely room, that while small, was absolutely perfect for the solo traveller. The in room dining was always so quick and tasty, and Concierge was able to give me perfect directions to a near by pharmacy when I needed one. They also told me about Vapiano's which is an adorable italian-esque restaurant nearby that was so amazing! Upon my deperature they were also able to help me book a car service to take me back to the airport which was so lovely, and made me end my stay with a cherry on top.

The only thing I wish was that internet would have been slightly cheaper, but I am glad such a strong signal was available none the less in my room.

I hope to stay at this hotel again in the future, and explore more that it has to offer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RBCanada99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIndes, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Traveller,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It is a great pleasure to read that you have experience your stay in Hotel Des Indes and it would be a delight to welcome you back as our guest.

As you already mention, our concierges know the greatest hot spots in the city and it is always their pleasure to assist you with all possible requests.

Kind regards,
Rem Bastiaens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

This was a beautiful historical hotel with attention to detail. As an American I find hotels in the Netherlands usually very small. This room on the Club level was large and beautifully appointed, the bathroom actually had an electrical outlet next to the mirror for plugging in hair tools. Our room was quiet with mini bar and a desk for working. The high tea was "nice" but did not flow, long time between several courses, we didn't receive all the tea choices and it sort of faded at the end. Front desk staff and doormen very attentive, great location, and good experience. I would return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlh206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIndes, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for your stay in Hotel Des Indes and for sharing your view with the world.

We are delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we have passed on your comments to our Front Office team!

Also we take you comments with regards to the service during High Tea very serious and we do our utmost to retrain our staff here.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

Rem Bastiaens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these The Hague hotels
Hilton The Hague
#1 of 67 in The Hague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,509 reviews
Paleis Hotel
#3 of 67 in The Hague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zuidwal
Novotel Suites Den Haag City Centre
Carlton Ambassador Hotel
#4 of 67 in The Hague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
The Hague Marriott Hotel
#6 of 67 in The Hague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Property: Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Address: Lange Voorhout 54 /56, 2514 EG, The Hague, The Netherlands (Formerly Le Meridien Hotel des Indes)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > The Hague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in The Hague
#4 Romantic Hotel in The Hague
#5 Business Hotel in The Hague
#8 Family Hotel in The Hague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historical grandeur and elaborate elegance, Hotel Des Indes is a haven of luxury in the heart of The Hague. This five star deluxe retreat already embraces you even before you enter with the yellow facade and features a 315-square-metre health club, exceptional restaurant and sophisticated meeting facilities. Each room blends contemporary amenities with iconic architectural statements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien The Hague
The Hague Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing