We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular Service - Except in the Lobby Bar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #2 of 68 Hotels in The Hague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 19, 2012

This Grande Dame's remodel is bewildering in it's return to former glory. The rooms, beds, decor, amenities are rich and appropriate. Just don't make the mistake of wandering into the Lobby Bar area, expecting a drink because this is something that the hotel does remarkably poorly. Perhaps it is simply that the lobby is so extraordinarily beautiful that they want to spend most of your time gazing around looking for your waiter. Not content with being fooled once, or twice, I also made something of a blunder by having High Tea in the same lobby. I find High Tea generally underwhelming, but having accompanied mine with a bottle of champagne, I was expecting something special, and this was, if anything, abrupt. But again my only issue is with the bar/tea service. To the contrary, the welcome staff were gracious, and the room service encounters were professional and warm. I would be happy to return to this property.

Room Tip: Expect a lifetime to pass before you can get a drink in the beautiful Lobby Bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcmcman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIndes, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stay in Hotel Des Indes and for taking the time to write a review.

We are glad to read that you experienced our hotel in a good way, but of course we also take your comments with regards to the service in the lobby very seriously. Please note that we have passed on your comments to the department involved in order to avoid repetition in the future. We trust that, during a next visit, we will be able to prove to you that usually we do much better here.

Kind regards,

Pierre-Henri Bovsovers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,016)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

543 - 549 of 1,016 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2012

Great ambiance, nice furniture, a real time trip back into Tempo Doeloe. However in some hotels one wonders if the management ever stays in a room to test its practicality.
The square marble wash basins are lovely to look at but impossible to fill and to use. I find standing in a bathtub to take a shower always a poor experience and expect at this level a separate shower cabin. The breakfast has no options so 34 Euro is a bit heavy if one desires the continental choice. The bed linen needs to be a higher thread count ! If one just wants to watch TV you have to press 10 buttons to go past all adult movie etc option to get to CNN. It is the same system Hilton has and it really is a nuisance.
The worst experience is the internet. Not only is it 19 Euro per 24 hours but one has to pay for each device (computer, iPhone, iPad) again separately ! The already paid room rate did not extend to the meeting room so we had to pay again ! Come on Starwood: every coffee shop has free internet nowadays !

Room Tip: Avoid street side in view of the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HPDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIndes, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Hotel Des Indes on Tripadvisor.com. We are sorry to learn that you have experienced several issues in our hotel and we are doing our utmost to improve here.

Please be advised that paying for several devices seperately is not our policy at all. Also for all of our hotel guests we offer free internet in the lobby and restaurant.

Please contact the hotel directly so that we can sort out the above.

Kind regards,
Pierre-Henri Bovsovers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Grand Entrance and greatly designed room. Room amenities such as espresso machine, cd playing system next to bed - exceed epectations. Bed was amazingly comfortable. I love the bathroom color and fixtures chosen with underfloor heating- fit for a king and queen. Altough one comment - the bath was slightly high to step in for a medium tall person and cleaning of the bathroom could improve. Breakfast was good however limited and highly priced for what is served. On the positive side - a great selection of fresh fruit juices. We found no problem with parking - great service from the doorman, we found him to be very attentive. Overall great stay and we will definitely come back if in the hague.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pupa01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIndes, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Dear Traveller,

Thank you for your stay in Hotel Des Indes and for taking the time to share your comments.

We are dilighted to read that you had a good stay with us! We also like to inform you that we take your feedback very seriously and that we'll use it in order to train our team adequately.

We hope to welcome you back soon to Hotel Des Indes.

Kind regards,

Pierre-Henri Bovsovers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Amazing rooms - decor and convenience, one of the most luxurious and beautiful interiors I've stayed. Great location in the historic part. When I was checking in the staff offered free drinks for me an my colleague on the occasion of my recent birthday.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank I_R_Banker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIndes, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit to our hotel. We are very happy to read that you have enjoyed staying with us.

We strive to make every stay into an unforgettable one and surprising you for your birthday is part of that.
We hope to welcome you back soon to Hotel Des Indes.

Kind regards,

Pierre-Henri Bovsovers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I have just returned from a lovely luxury weekend stay at this hotel. The service was excellent - we arrived before the standard check in time but our room was ready early which was a bonus and what a lovely room they gave us. We were on the 3rd floor in a superior room. Although not a huge room, it was in a grand style. The bed was really comfy and it was nice to have the extras like an espresso machine, slippers, bathrobes, a card with the weather and temperature for the next day, some tea for 'sleeping well', and a turn down service where they even put on a bit of relaxing music for when we got back to the room. Anything I rang down for, the reception was quick to bring up to the room.
We ate in the hotel restaurant and the service was great. In particular, Arjan looked after us very well and tempted us into the chef's tasting menu which was definitely worth it! the restaurant is decorated in a really stunning style and the food was wonderful. We also had a lovely cocktail at the hotel bar and found Michael very good in helping us choose one.
The hotel has a great location not far from some lovely restaurants, shops and bars.

The one thing I would fault if anything, is the price of Euro 34.95 for the breakfast. Although it was delicious, it would have been nice to have a menu at the table with some extra things such as eggs benedict or an omelette available to order, to make it really worth the price.

Overall, a real luxury break in a hotel that more than lives up to its 5 star rating.
This hotel was recommended to me by several people and it certainly lived up to my expectations. Thank you!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophiesreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIndes, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Dear Traveller,

Thank you for sharing your experiences of Hotel Des Indes.

We are glad to read that the hotel was recommended to you by friends and that we lived up to your standards. As you can imagine, we are always seeking to deliver a consistent and high level of service.

Hotel Des Indes is located in the city center of the Hague, surrounded by many nice restaurants. But, as you have experienced, our own restaurant DesInDes is also one to remember!

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,
Pierre-Henri Bovsovers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

This hotel has a very high standard. It has the grandeur of a big stylish hotel while it is a medium size hotel. The room and bathroom were top. The bar and restaurant area are really very attractive. A few minor points for improvement. The hotel doesn't have sufficient parkings for its guests. Upon arrival the doorman asks me to park the car at the nearest parking which is approx 1,5km away or a 10min walk. It was pouring water that afternoon.... Besides, we noticed a very young and unexperienced staff in the afternoon tea restaurant which resulted in a slower service. As such the young staff was very friendly and tried to deal with it. A mix with a more experienced staff supervising the younger staff would solve that issue. Other than this,I think that Hotel des Indes is the best hotel to stay in Den Haag.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olivier120995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIndes, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Dear Traveller,

Thank you so much for your feedback with regards to your stay in our hotel. We appreciate the fact that you took the time to provide us with some feedback. This enables us to improve our level of service, something we are always seeking to do.

As you already mention, we have a very nice lounge were we serve anything you'd fancy. Especially our cocktails are worth recommending. Our bar tenders are masters in creating drinks to your liking.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,
Pierre-Henri Bovsovers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Firstly, The Hague is enchanting, people are friendly and Des Indes is very sexy, indeed. This hotel is the epitome of luxury in every sense of the word. The staff here are a great asset to the hotel. Kudos to the lady at concierge with the blonde hair her directions were correct and she read us very well. I guess my faux fur gillet and berry was a give away that I liked fashion? None the less she knew where there was an exhibition on that I would like. Which I loved. Also interestingly enough, when we had suggested places we had read about she mentioned that they were not as luxurious as our choice in hotel. Nice touch lady!

Reception are very warm, check in was seamless. At this point I would like to congratulate the reception staff on their mannerisms and for example standing when a lady is present. Very suave!

We also were recommended a Vietnamese restaurant little V – (never judge a book my its cover) not impressive from the outside, but go in its a beaut. Food is superb.
One day I did decide to have breakfast, unfortunately before I had sat down with a cup of coffee I was asked to give my room number. Slightly embarrassing, i’m not a banana thief! moreover minor hiccup. She needed to know.

In the mornings we would open the curtains to a courtyard view, beautiful. Nespresso machines In the room, YES. Brilliant. Round of applause! Blah blah blah get dressed and head for another coffee and some fresh croissants in the lounge area. I shudder to taint this sterling review but could have come a little quicker. However, they were fresh and tasty.

On the Saturday I took my book downstairs and read and drank red wine. This is when I really appreciated where I was. There is a rich history to this hotel, which I would hate to tell you all now, and be wrong but should you decide to stay here. Which you must! There is an information booklet from reception with interesting facts and anecdotes.

The thing about REAL five star hotels is the devil is in the detail. Really small pool? Who cares? – there is a built in current. If my partner is having a shower I guess I can’t use the mirror right. Wrong – it only steams up the side the centre stays steam free. Internet access by the exit is complimentary. There is also a book in the room about the hotel with stories from previous managers etc. The stairs creek – which adds to the historic feel.

The team at Des Indes are professionals. If hospitality is about catering to ones every need its done well here.

Des Indes is like an affair, romantic and exciting but has to come to an end. Until next time, darling xxx

Room Tip: ask for a 4 poster bed. They have them!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redwinefinedine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIndes, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Dear Traveller,

Thank you for sharing your travelling journal with us! We are delighted to learn that you have started an affair with our hotel. We really appreciate the way you write about the hotel, and indeed, after reading your story we can imagine falling in love with an historic property like ours.

Asyou describe, Hotel Des Indes has many historical features resulting in a great mixture of modern comfort and sofisticated style. Hotel Des Indes tries its utmost to keep the history alive.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,
Pierre-Henri Bovsovers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these The Hague hotels
Hilton The Hague
#1 of 68 in The Hague
1,690 reviews
Carlton Ambassador Hotel
#3 of 68 in The Hague
674 reviews
The Hague Marriott Hotel
#6 of 68 in The Hague
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zuidwal
Novotel Suites Den Haag City Centre
Paleis Hotel
#8 of 68 in The Hague
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: Lange Voorhout 54 /56, 2514 EG, The Hague, The Netherlands (Formerly Le Meridien Hotel des Indes)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > The Hague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in The Hague
#4 Romantic Hotel in The Hague
#5 Business Hotel in The Hague
#8 Family Hotel in The Hague
Price Range: $191 - $497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historical grandeur and elaborate elegance, Hotel Des Indes is a haven of luxury in the heart of The Hague. This five star deluxe retreat already embraces you even before you enter with the yellow facade and features a 315-square-metre health club, exceptional restaurant and sophisticated meeting facilities. Each room blends contemporary amenities with iconic architectural statements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien The Hague
The Hague Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing