We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #3 of 70 Hotels in The Hague
Certificate of Excellence
Lelystad, Netherlands
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

From the moment we stopped our car in front of the hotel until the moment we got into the car everything was perfect.
Very, very attentive and friendly staff. Beautiful room ( executive twin) with absolutely amazing beds. Coffee and tea making facilities in your room off course.
Bathroom with rain shower and bath and really exciting decoration.
Our windows were at the front of the hotel, with lovely view outside.
No loud noises outside but this was November so not many people about.
Finished our stay with lovely high tea in the rotunda. The atmosphere is so relaxing....
Could not find anything missing or negative.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilylady50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIndes, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your great review! It was a pleasure to have you as our guest!

Hotel Des Indes indeed has some Executive Twin Rooms as well. Those rooms are great in size and offer 2 big beds which is great when visiting with a friend.

As you already mention, we offer complimentary coffee and tea facilities in the room. Those enable you to enjoy a nice cup of your liking before going to bed.

Kind regards,

Pierre-Henri Bovsovers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    174
    57
    35
    14
See reviews for
91
351
57
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

Don't use the car service. It was some ridiculous set cost like €10 to the train station which is literally one block away. Wonderful location near the art museum. Great room with tall four post beds. The hot water could be improved too.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 7continentsby25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIndes, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Global Explorer,

Thank you for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor and for staying at Hotel Des Indes, A Luxury Collection Hotel!

For taxi services in the Netherlands you always start off with a fixed rate. The fixed rate depends on the time you travel by taxi and on the company. Central station can better be done by foot than by taxi, what we also communicate towards our guest in general. We will definitely pick this up with our colleagues again.

Kind regards,

Pierre-Henri Bovsovers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed at Des Indes while on business travel to the Hague. Excellent choice. From the doorman, to the front desk, and including housekeeping, this hotel was terrific. Old world charm defines the hotel. Plush, service oriented, welcoming after a long day of work. Bed was very comfortable, bathrooms are large and heated floors, dining room is beautiful and food is good. A great, historic hotel in the Hague.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kathleen o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIndes, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Travelers,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Tripadvisor.

We love to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will communicate this towards our colleagues in all departments.

We are looking to receive you back in the hotel and we wish you the best in the meantime.

Kind regards,

Pierre-Henri Bovsovers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Everything about Hotel Des Indes was very special. From the moment we set foot into the hotel until we left we were looked after exceptionally well. The room was comfortable, had great roof top views and was fully equipped with everything to make the stay feel as though you were home from home. The Nespresso coffee machine and excellent quality teas was a touch we appreciated.
The hotel is well situated near many of the city's main sights, including the Escher Museum, public trams and quaint streets as well as many excellent restaurants and bar's. The hotel itself has a wonderful history which I enjoyed reading about during my stay, bringing this truly magnificent hotel and all it's charms to life.
We cannot praise the hotel highly enough for making our stay truly memorable. Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Estes08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIndes, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Estes,

Thank you very much for your wonderful post on Tripadvisor! It is good to read that all our efforts pay off to make sure you have an impeccable stay at Hotel Des Indes, A Luxury Collection Hotel.

We truly appreciate the comments regarding hotel. We believe we can make a difference in providing impeccable service towards our guests. We will share your compliments with all parties involved and hope we may welcome you back in the hotel.

Warm regards,

Pierre-Henri Bosvsovers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British
Level Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

A city-break in The Hague was a great pleasure in early November, all the more so because the Hotel des Indes enveloped us in the lap of luxury. This is a seriously comfortable hotel, with soft (sometimes too soft) lighting, deep plushy carpets, rich drapes, incredibly soft mattresses and high quality linen on the beds. The banisters are even velvet-coated! The lobby is the most elegant of entrance spaces, with a swirling staircase, high domed ceiling studded with fairy lights, artistic 'nude' standard lights - but still full of cosy nooks for your evening aperitif or afternoon tea. Think fin-de-siècle, belle époque crossed with a fairground! Tea is a Sunday-afternoon institution for the well-heeled Dutch haute bourgeoisie who gather here to be served from silver teapots, and consume copious pastries - as rich and buttery as they are. But you are just as likely to spot an ambassador, international lawyer or ICC prosecutor meeting over a coffee or beer, here in the heart of this city of courts.
The staff were delightfully polite, smiling and old-fashioned in the nicest possible way. Concierge service was personal, friendly and expert. Coats were whipped away and returned, umbrellas folded.
Though tempted, we didn't eat in the restaurant (which looked lovely, but expensive), however if breakfast was anything to go by the quality was high: delectable Dutch breads, a huge array of fruit, cold meats, flavoured local Gouda cheese, great coffee.
All this at a heavily discounted off-season weekend rate made for a feeling of satisfying but unextravagant luxury.
Only two gripes, during a lovely stay: the temperature in the room was at times suffocatingly hot; hard-to-control thermostat. So our night's sleep could have been better...
And the hotel charges an exorbitant extra rate for Wi-fi, which these days seems unacceptable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MargaretBritish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIndes, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Margaret,

Thank you very much for these kind words! It is good to read our hard work to please the guests works off.

Next time that you visit the hotel you must try our new cocktail menu with fitted canapés. Our barman is working together with the chef to match the tastes of our delicious new inventions with beautiful and exciting snacks.

We cannot wait to welcome you back to Hotel Des Indes next time!

Kindest regards,

Pierre-Henri Bovsovers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
133 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This review is not about the hotel but about the high-tea (which costs almost as much as a room). Hôtel des Indes has a great reputation in The Hague and this explains why today the restaurant was packed in the afternoon. We booked a table for the high-tea, which is supposed to be the specialty. This is one of the most expensive high-tea in The Hague (37 euros) and we were expecting wonders. Truth be told, the setting is wonderful, truly The Hague level, but this is pretty much it. The service was slow and clumsy, and the food was very average and pretentious. I suggest to go to Hôtel des Indes' restaurant for coffee (tea does not seem to be their specialty) to enjoy this beautiful and classy hotel. For a high-tea, many other options are better in The Hague, especially our favorite by far at Lapsang (and it is also much cheaper...).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderingProfessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIndes, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Google Translation
Beste gast,

Refererend aan uw bezoek aan Hotel Des Indes, danken wij u voor de tijd en moeite die u hebt genomen om uw gedachten op Tripadvisor te plaatsen.

Wij betreuren het ten zeerste dat uw verblijf niet geheel naar verwachting is verlopen en bieden daar dan ook onze oprechte excuses voor aan. De verschillende punten betreft de service zijn uitvoerig met de verschillende afdelingen besproken. Dit om te verzekeren dat herhaling in de toekomst niet aan de orde zal zijn.

Wij hopen u spoedig weer in ons hotel te mogen begroeten.

Met vriendelijke groet,

Pierre-Henri Bovsovers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
74 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Hotel des Indes is perfectily situated in the heart of the Hague, next to the market on Lange Voorhout and close to the Denneweg. A lovely place for a lover's week-end. We really enjoyed the cosy rooms and the sauna and swimming pool.

Room Tip: Prices vary a lot depending on availability. Good deals can often be found if you do not care too mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christophe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIndes, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear regular guest,

Thank you very much for you post on TraipAdvisor and for being a guest at Hotel Des Indes, A Luxury Collection Hotel in The Hague.

We enjoy receiving comments from our regular visitors! This shows us we are continuously performing on the level we strive for.

Kind regards,

Pierre-Henri Bovsovers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these The Hague hotels
Hilton The Hague
#1 of 70 in The Hague
4.5 of 5 stars 1,317 reviews
Paleis Hotel
#4 of 70 in The Hague
4.5 of 5 stars 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Carlton Ambassador Hotel
#2 of 70 in The Hague
4.5 of 5 stars 446 reviews
Zuidwal
Novotel Suites Den Haag City Centre
The Hague Marriott Hotel
#10 of 70 in The Hague
4.0 of 5 stars 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Property: Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Address: Lange Voorhout 54 /56, 2514 EG, The Hague, The Netherlands (Formerly Le Meridien Hotel des Indes)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > The Hague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in The Hague
#4 Romantic Hotel in The Hague
#5 Business Hotel in The Hague
#9 Family Hotel in The Hague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historical grandeur and elaborate elegance, Hotel Des Indes is a haven of luxury in the heart of The Hague. This five star deluxe retreat already embraces you even before you enter with the yellow facade and features a 315-square-metre health club, exceptional restaurant and sophisticated meeting facilities. Each room blends contemporary amenities with iconic architectural statements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien The Hague
The Hague Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing