We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good hotel!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Den Haag - Promenade

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Den Haag - Promenade
Ranked #15 of 67 Hotels in The Hague
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very good hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza Promenade over the New Year's holiday and had a very positive experience. Our guest room was on the top floor, and while not large, was comfortable for the two of us. The bathroom was enormous and very, very clean, with both a tub as well as a shower stall, which I thought was nice. The hotel itself is somewhat basic on the outside but has a nicely furnished and decorated interior, with a modern style. Staff was helpful to all of our questions. In terms of the location, the property is not located in the city center, but closer to the beach, which is within easy walking distance. We also walked into the center on multiple occasions, but we're walkers, so it might be easier for others to take the tram. I'd suggest calling the hotel ahead of time to ask about the tram service as it was somewhat confusing for us, with some trams not working in the evening, etc. My only other note is that the breakfast is quite expensive at 23 euro per person, and that drinks in the lovely modern bar are also quite expensive - a pint of Heinekin is, no joke, 8 euros. But there are obviously many other places for food & drink if needed!

Room Tip: Top floor room was super nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VPahlplatz, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Den Haag - Promenade, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your review. It’s always a pleasure to hear that our guest are enjoying their stay with us. Unfortunately we aren’t able to amend the tram schedule, however we are currently looking how to provide our guests with better information about the public transport. Especially as the tram is by far the easiest way to travel to the city, the beach, even to city centre of Delft and it’s very convenient as it stops directly in front of the hotel.
Thanks again for your feedback and I trust that we may welcome you again soon.

Kind regards,

Vincent Pahlplatz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    236
    96
    36
    19
See reviews for
84
247
30
215
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

A hotel more suited to business travellers to The Hague as over the New Year the atmosphere was dire and the weather was horrible (obviously not under the hotel's control!) We were upgraded to an executive premium room as my husband is a priority member but the view was not very appealing as it overlooked the Shell Garage. Breakfast was very good but the staff were a little reticent and left the guests to find their own table - not always possible. Dinner was a let down for a holiday weekend as we were seated by the bar on two occasions; we booked the restaurant for the 3rd night but when we got there no reservation had been made. We were given a complimentary glass of house champagne that was disgusting and the dinner was not a pleasant experience for a supposedly 5 star hotel on New Year's Eve.

Room Tip: Don't know as the hotel is a business venue in reality and is stuck in a non-descript area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kamilla T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VPahlplatz, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Den Haag - Promenade, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback, however I was sorry to read that your stay was not up to standard. Your feedback enables us to make the necessary changes and improvements to improve our level of service.

The fact that our Brasserie was closed for a week between Christmas and New Year shouldn’t effect your dining experience in our hotel, unfortunately it did. Your comments are discussed with our operations team to make sure this can’t happen again.

It’s true that business guests are an important target group for the hotel, however due to the location of the hotel close to the beach, walking distance of the municipal museum and only 2 tram stops from city centre we welcome a lot of leisure guests as well. Indeed we can’t influence or change the weather however we our new Health Club & Spa offers a wide range of indoor relax solutions, several spa treatments, beauty treatments, sauna’s, pool etc. From your feedback I concluded that the hotel didn’t promote our unique possibilities in the hotel and it’s direct surroundings. This feedback is immediately shared with our management team and we are currently investigating how we can improve this.

Again I would like to thank you for your feedback. I sincerely hope that when you return to The Hague you will give us a second change. Please don’t hesitate to contact me personally for your next visit.

Kind regards,

Vincent Pahlplatz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed at the hotel last weekend, and we must say that we received excellent service and help from the night officer at the front desk. We had a dispute with a Taxi driver and the receptionist (Jim) was very helpful to solve this for us.
We also enjoyed the spa and sauna facilities.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frederik8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VPahlplatz, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Den Haag - Promenade, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your nice review. The team of the hotel is constantly striving to achieve the highest level of guest satisfaction and always try to go the extra mile to guarantee a great stay. It’s great to hear that our Night Officer Jim has gone the extra mile to make sure that you enjoyed your stay, I’m sure to share your feedback with him.

Furthermore it’s good to hear that you’ve enjoyed our new Health Club & Spa facilities These facilities(pool, treatment rooms, sauna’s and fitness) are added to the hotel in may 2012 and very much appreciated by our guest.

Again thank you for your feedback and I’m looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,

Vincent Pahlplatz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

As a business regular and priority member, I decided to subject my family to one of the Crowne properties on a holiday to Holland. First impressions last and I was disappointed when there was no valet and bell service available, especially when we were visibly struggling with 2 large suitcases, 1 carry-on, a stroller and a baby. Upon arrival to reception, no one offered to help us, I had prepared a decent tip as well.

We stayed in an executive room in the new wing which was pleasant, the room is well appointed and comfortable. The lobby area is impressive and we spend quite some time catching up with friends and relatives. The service was friendly and sufficiently attentive.

Breakfast was ok, except for the scrambled egg, which were quite horrible.

All-in-all, an underwhelming experience and if wasn't for the room and lobby area, this hotel would not have the rating I gave it.

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
Thank art_key
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VPahlplatz, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Den Haag - Promenade, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Sir,

I’m very sorry to hear that we didn’t provide you with the service you could and should expect from us during your stay.
In 2012 we invested a significant amount in the development of our new wing and renovation of our other facilities. It’s good to hear that you appreciated our new atmosphere and look & feel, however our profession is all about delivering service and helping our guests. My sincere apologies for the fact that we upon your arrival clearly didn’t deliver the standard of service we as a Crowne Plaza stand for.
I sincerely hope that you will return to The Hague, if you do please don’t hesitate to contact me and I personally guarantee you a perfect stay.
Kind regards,

Vincent Pahlplatz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bet Haemek - Israel
Level Contributor
150 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

Between Den Haag and Scheveningen you will find this renovated hotel.
Trendy bar and dining room; friendly staff and good value if you look for the special deals.
Very nice rooms with slippers.
Nice covered swimming pool and fitness center.

Room Tip: new wing of the hotel is slightly better
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rudie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VPahlplatz, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Den Haag - Promenade, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear sir,

Thank you very much for your kind review, it’s very much appreciated that you as regular guest took the time to review our property online. I will make sure to pass your comments to the team and I’m looking forward to welcome you again in 2013.
Kind regards,

Vincent Pahlplatz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

I was staying at the begining of December 2012 for 6 day. Nice and modern room and lobby. Big parking space. Unfortunetty the hotel needs more receptionist, because only 1 receptionist lady who responsible for check in and out guests, answering incoming call, call taxi, process for keeping in/out the luggage at the storage. These make a long queu on the reception. We suggest to add more reception to give a better service to guests.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank RFarini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Den Haag - Promenade, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear RFarini,

Thank you for taking the time to relay your comments regarding our property during your recent stay. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience queue at check-in might have caused you. I have taken note of your comments and we will address these points to improve upon our service. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to the area.

Sincerely,

Irish V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

This hotel really surprised me. When you arrive, you will have to enter through the parking lot but when you come in the newly renovated hotel lobby looks very contemporary. The lounge music in the background fits with the decor. The nice receptionist explained us about the renovations that have been completed last February. She advised me to take an upgrade to a executive or club room; they are in the new part of the building. We decided to take a club room and it was worth it! A huge, very comfortable bed, a bathroom with a separate shower and bath, and a big flatscreen tv with a lot of movie options. The minibar was well stocked and there were coffee and tea facilities. An iron, bathrobes and slippers were standard in the room and I liked the decor of the whole room.
We decided to try the Spa. It is exactly what we hoped for: a relax atmosphere, 5 different sauna's (including an outdoor one!), a relax room, a swimming pool and a pretty big gym. The only thing I missed was a hot tub.
We went for dinner and the lady Anne was our server for that evening. She advised us start the evening with champagne and to try the whole menu. She surprised us with a four-course 'Bite' menu. They have a lot of different bites, a bit like tapas, but they are not Spanish. All dishes were three or four little bites on a plate, which I like a lot. Normally you order a dish and tree quarter of your plate is garnished with food you didn't ordered such as potatoes and veggies.
The wine was amazing and the atmosphere was really comfortable and romantic, a perfect night with my boyfriend!
The breakfast was untill 10.30, which was great after a late dinner. The breakfast was really nice. They have a lot of choice, from different eggs, to smoked salmon, fruits, meats and cheeses, lots of different kind of breads and pastries and so on.

Crowne Plaza staff, thank you for a great experience!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Parker81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VPahlplatz, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Den Haag - Promenade, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for your great compliments. The hotel just went through a major refurbishment and renovation which was finished may 2012. It’s very good to hear that the changes we made are appreciated by our guests.

Again I would like to thank you for the nice review and the team and I are looking forward to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

Vincent Pahlplatz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these The Hague hotels
1.1 mi away
Hilton The Hague
Hilton The Hague
#1 of 67 in The Hague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,481 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Hague Marriott Hotel
The Hague Marriott Hotel
#6 of 67 in The Hague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel
1.4 mi away
Carlton Beach The Hague / Scheveningen
1.0 mi away
Carlton Ambassador Hotel
Carlton Ambassador Hotel
#2 of 67 in The Hague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Den Haag - Promenade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Den Haag - Promenade

Property: Crowne Plaza Den Haag - Promenade
Address: Van Stolkweg 1, 2585 JL, The Hague, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > The Hague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in The Hague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Den Haag - Promenade 5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Den Haag - Promenade hotel is surrounded by beautiful woodlands, peacefully located in the direct vicinity of the O.P.C.W., the Yugoslavia Tribunal, the Peace Palace, the World Forum Convention Centre, miniature city of Madurodam, Scheveningen beach with its sophisticated boulevard and the lively shopping centre of downtown The Hague.The Crowne Plaza Den Haag - Promenade hotel offers a high standard of service and deluxe accommodation. Throughout the building one can admire numerous paintings from prominent Dutch artists, a unique ongoing exhibition owned by the hotel and included in the official 'Guiness Book of Records.'Among the facilities of Crowne Plaza Den Haag - Promenade you'll find spacious meeting accommodation, hotel rooms and suites. The unique 5-roomed Prominential Suite has been the 'home' for visiting heads of state, dignitaries and leading artists. The Brasserie Promenade restaurant and the Couperus bar with its Grand Cafe make this hotel a culinary paradise. The private parking lot for 200 cars is unique in The Hague. The unique features of the hotel make it the ideal venue for any corporate or leisure visit or any event in The Hague. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Den Haag - Promenade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Den Haag - Promenade Hotel The Hague
Crowne Plaza The Hague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing