We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay @ The Hague”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Carlton Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #4 of 67 Hotels in The Hague
Certificate of Excellence
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very nice stay @ The Hague”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

I stayed in The Hague for 3 days and I can say it was a great experience. The hotel is very well located, within a walk of the main points of interest of the city. Very ample and comfortable room & bathroom, nice bed & linen, very clean. Thought breakfast was not the same level of the hotel, but was OK. Very nice staff. It was a business trip, but would afford family, friends and husband

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adriana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arwin_Paulides, General Manager at Carlton Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Adriana,

Thank you for being our guest and for sharing your experiences at the Ambassador with other travellers. Fantastic to read that your stay with us was a great experience! Our team can't wait welcoming you again. For your next visit our Chef, Edward Kreuger, is more than willing to arrange items you specifically missed during breakfast this time. Of course all possible improvements are also always welcome by e-mail to apaulides@ambassador.carlton.nl or by telephone +31 70 3630363.

With warm regards,
Arwin Paulides
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    190
    43
    7
    7
See reviews for
66
272
26
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

The staff at this hotel make you feel that you are one o their best friends that have come to stay in their home. The wine list is excellent, the food is good and the rooms are charming. I'd move in tomorrow.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Whirlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arwin_Paulides, General Manager at Carlton Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Dear guest,

We are thrilled you experienced perfect hosting during your stay at Carlton Ambassador as we always aim to create unique and memorable experiences for our guests! Jules, our Food & Beverage Manager loves your compliment about the selection of wines in our MoodBook. And yes, we do like you to move in tomorrow! Thanks for sharing such a beautiful review.

With warm regards,
Arwin Paulides
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

I enjoyed the two nights. This is a hotel that many would find traditional. If you want to stay in a modern establishment chose one of the larger chains. For me, it was a nice place to unwind after a busy week. The room was fine, with the only 'entertaining' part being how they managed to fit everything into the small bathroom - including a deep bath, a separate shower and the toilet. Tight, but manageable. The bed is very comfortable. The only cloud on the visit was when I left. The front of office assured me - twice - that the taxi to Amsterdam airport would be Euro $65. So, I asked them to book one for me. Apparently this is a rate that is organised. So, when I was charged $105 at the airport I was not pleased. This is something that needs addressing as the behaviour of the taxi driver took away from the visit.

Room Tip: If you want a very quiet location ask to not be looking out over the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arwin_Paulides, General Manager at Carlton Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Dear Gary,

Fantastic to read that you experienced the Ambassador as a great place to unwind after a busy week, as boutique hotel we always aim to create a homy atmosphere. Regarding the taxi drive to Schiphol I would like to ask you if you are able to e-mail me some details to apaulides@ambassador.carlton.nl. I can fully understand that you were not pleased after the driver charged you the mentioned amount since whe have other agreements with our taxi companies. Thanks for your review, we do hope you have the opportunity to visit us again soon as we would love to welcome you back.

Best regards,
Arwin Paulides
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

My wife and I stayed in this hotel whilst attending a wedding recently. The wedding reception was also at the hotel. The entire experience was great. The most attentive, helpful and pleasant staff I have ever encountered in a hotel. The bed was very comfortable and we slept well. No problems with noise and when we ordered room service (after arriving very late, at nearly midnight) the food was delivered promptly.
The only reason I have not given it 5 stars overall is that while I felt the room rate was very reasonable the breakfast rate of nearly €50 for the two of us, was in my opinion much higher than justifiable based on a nice, but not exceptional, hotel breakfast.
I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel, but I would say that given the proximity to adorable cafes and other places to have breakfast there is no reason to spend quite so much.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJS_travell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arwin_Paulides, General Manager at Carlton Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay at the Ambassador whilst attending a fantastic wedding party. It is a true delight to read your review and a great boost to the team to receive these great words of recognition. Regarding the price of our breakfast I would like to let you know that we always do offer special rates including breakfast and also have the possibility to book breakfast in advance against a special rate. Do not hesitate to contact me directly for a future reservation, we will go for five stars next time!

Warm regards,
Arwin Paulides
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
*
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Very good location just blocks from the old town pedestrian shopping streets.

The outdoor cafe is a great venue to catch a little sun.

The rooms themselves were solidly comfortable (and quite spacious by European standards) if not a bit dated.

A good choice for a city break or business trip.


Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Cguu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arwin_Paulides, General Manager at Carlton Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear guest,

We are happy to read that you had a pleasant stay at the Ambassador and that you were able to enjoy our sunny terrace as well. Our service team is looking forward to prepare delicious food & drinks from our MoodBook again!

Best regards,
Arwin Paulides
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2014

I stayed for a week at the Carlton Ambassador in a double room with breakfast included. The hotel is impeccably managed, each staff member was excellent in their service delivery and general demeanour! Breakfast was delicious and with a wide variety of options. I truly loved staying at this hotel, the character of the beautiful decor was an additional positive. Would highly recommend staying here while in the Hague.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ryb30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arwin_Paulides, General Manager at Carlton Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback and for sharing your experience at Carlton Ambassador. I am delighted that you specific mention the excellent service delivery of our entire team. Wow, what a fantastic compliment! We all are looking forward to welcome you again during your next visit to The Hague!

With warm regards,
Arwin Paulides
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
296 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel, very charming and classy (not stuffy)!. Centrally located, within walking distance of the center and stores and restaurants. I stayed here for 3 nights and my room was spacious, and is loved the classy touch of the plush bathrobe and slippers.
The breakfast was very good and the coffee was excellent!
I also had dinner once and lunch another time T the hotel's Henrikus restaurant. I enjoyed both.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Antigoniesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arwin_Paulides, General Manager at Carlton Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear guest,

Thanks for recommending Carlton Ambassador at Tripadvisor, we are delighted that you enjoyed the charming ambience we love to offer here. We are glad that you liked our breakfast and even experienced our coffee as excellent. Looking forward offering you that good start of the day very soon again!

Kind regards,
Arwin Paulides
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these The Hague hotels
Hilton The Hague
#1 of 67 in The Hague
1,605 reviews
The Hague Marriott Hotel
#9 of 67 in The Hague
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paleis Hotel
#3 of 67 in The Hague
452 reviews
Zuidwal
Novotel Suites Den Haag City Centre
NH Den Haag
#6 of 67 in The Hague
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Ambassador Hotel

Property: Carlton Ambassador Hotel
Address: Sophialaan 2, 2514 JP, The Hague, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > The Hague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in The Hague
#4 Luxury Hotel in The Hague
#8 Romantic Hotel in The Hague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton Ambassador Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming boutique hotel located in the city centre of The Hague. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carlton Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Carlton Ambassador
Carlton Ambassador The Hague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing