We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent location and service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carlton Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carlton Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #4 of 70 Hotels in The Hague
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent location and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

My wife and I stayed in this hotel whilst attending a wedding recently. The wedding reception was also at the hotel. The entire experience was great. The most attentive, helpful and pleasant staff I have ever encountered in a hotel. The bed was very comfortable and we slept well. No problems with noise and when we ordered room service (after arriving very late, at nearly midnight) the food was delivered promptly.
The only reason I have not given it 5 stars overall is that while I felt the room rate was very reasonable the breakfast rate of nearly €50 for the two of us, was in my opinion much higher than justifiable based on a nice, but not exceptional, hotel breakfast.
I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel, but I would say that given the proximity to adorable cafes and other places to have breakfast there is no reason to spend quite so much.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJS_travell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arwin_Paulides, General Manager at Carlton Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay at the Ambassador whilst attending a fantastic wedding party. It is a true delight to read your review and a great boost to the team to receive these great words of recognition. Regarding the price of our breakfast I would like to let you know that we always do offer special rates including breakfast and also have the possibility to book breakfast in advance against a special rate. Do not hesitate to contact me directly for a future reservation, we will go for five stars next time!

Warm regards,
Arwin Paulides
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    149
    31
    6
    4
See reviews for
49
200
20
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
*
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Very good location just blocks from the old town pedestrian shopping streets.

The outdoor cafe is a great venue to catch a little sun.

The rooms themselves were solidly comfortable (and quite spacious by European standards) if not a bit dated.

A good choice for a city break or business trip.


Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Cguu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arwin_Paulides, General Manager at Carlton Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear guest,

We are happy to read that you had a pleasant stay at the Ambassador and that you were able to enjoy our sunny terrace as well. Our service team is looking forward to prepare delicious food & drinks from our MoodBook again!

Best regards,
Arwin Paulides
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

I stayed for a week at the Carlton Ambassador in a double room with breakfast included. The hotel is impeccably managed, each staff member was excellent in their service delivery and general demeanour! Breakfast was delicious and with a wide variety of options. I truly loved staying at this hotel, the character of the beautiful decor was an additional positive. Would highly recommend staying here while in the Hague.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ryb30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arwin_Paulides, General Manager at Carlton Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback and for sharing your experience at Carlton Ambassador. I am delighted that you specific mention the excellent service delivery of our entire team. Wow, what a fantastic compliment! We all are looking forward to welcome you again during your next visit to The Hague!

With warm regards,
Arwin Paulides
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
272 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel, very charming and classy (not stuffy)!. Centrally located, within walking distance of the center and stores and restaurants. I stayed here for 3 nights and my room was spacious, and is loved the classy touch of the plush bathrobe and slippers.
The breakfast was very good and the coffee was excellent!
I also had dinner once and lunch another time T the hotel's Henrikus restaurant. I enjoyed both.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Antigoniesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arwin_Paulides, General Manager at Carlton Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear guest,

Thanks for recommending Carlton Ambassador at Tripadvisor, we are delighted that you enjoyed the charming ambience we love to offer here. We are glad that you liked our breakfast and even experienced our coffee as excellent. Looking forward offering you that good start of the day very soon again!

Kind regards,
Arwin Paulides
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

My recent stay at the Carlton Ambassador Hotel on all counts was excellent. A well-appointed room and a very good dining room. The hotel service was especially enhanced by the gracious and prompt service of SANDRA and JAKE at the Front Desk. They do make a difference.

Francis "BUD" Scully, Jr.
Hotel Guest, 04-2014

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Francis-Bud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arwin_Paulides, General Manager at Carlton Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of all of us, but especially Sandra and Jake, thank you for staying with us! We really enjoyed having you as our guests and we're delighted to read that you have enjoyed it just as much. During your daytrip you have only seen a small part of Holland, so hopefully we will be able to welcome you again next year and we will happily arrange another private tour.

With best regards,

Arwin Paulides
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

Very nice hotel and very accomodating.
Right beside tram stop, which takes you into town or out to the beach.
Within walking distance of city centre and very close to peace palace.
Breakfast is expensive however, so i would suggest looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arwin_Paulides, General Manager at Carlton Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

It's truly fantastic to read that you have managed to enjoy every aspect of our location during your stay. You were really lucky with the weather that week, so visiting the beach was a wonderful choice. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon!

With best regards,

Arwin Paulides
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
287 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 431 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

We made last minute plans to visit The Hague and used TripAdvisor to select the Carlton Ambassador and as usual it turned out to be a very good choice. We took a taxi from Delft and arrived at 11:00 in the morning not expecting to get into our room, but it was ready. We were assigned a room on the top floor that had a great view of a flowering chestnut tree from the balcony. I don’t know about the other floors, but the fourth at the Carlton had an English theme with prints of London on the hallway walls. Our room was clearly modeled on Wedgewood blue as you can see from the photographs. It was pretty to look at and very comfortable. The bathroom had both a very large tub which my wife enjoyed and a shower with the best water flow I might have ever had in a hotel. So much for crappy European plumbing. It also looked brand new.

There was free wifi and a mini bar that had lots of room to store our own beer and wine. Every time we passed the front desk there seemed to be a different person on hand and they were all uniformly very pleasant, fluent in English and good at what they did. When I asked where the closest grocery store was I got directions that were absolutely precise and accurate.

The Carlton has a great location too. It is the closes hotel to the Mesdag which is a must see in The Hague and only minutes from the Peace Palace, another must visit. The No. 1 tram stops nearby and will take you into the heart of The Hague in minutes or going the other way to the seashore at Scheveningen in an equally short time. As a Canadian it was great to see our embassy almost directly across the street.

We had a nice if not outstanding meal at Henricus, the hotel restaurant.

All in all given the location, price, room quality and staff I think this rates as an excellent hotel.

Room Tip: There are only four floors and the upper ones have better views and possibly a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maritimeexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arwin_Paulides, General Manager at Carlton Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for all your beautiful compliments about Carlton Ambassador and our staff! Great that reviews about our hotel on Tripadvisor helped you to make the right hotel selection in The Hague. Besides the English themed we have Dutch boutique rooms, another reason to stay again with us and experience the Dutch way. I will share your compliments with our team and would like to ask you to keep on spreading your nice words about the Ambassador all over the world. Looking forward to your next visit!

With kind regards,
Arwin Paulides
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these The Hague hotels
Hilton The Hague
#1 of 70 in The Hague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
The Hague Marriott Hotel
#7 of 70 in The Hague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zuidwal
Novotel Suites Den Haag City Centre
Paleis Hotel
#3 of 70 in The Hague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Ambassador Hotel

Property: Carlton Ambassador Hotel
Address: Sophialaan 2, 2514 JP, The Hague, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > The Hague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in The Hague
#4 Luxury Hotel in The Hague
#9 Romantic Hotel in The Hague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton Ambassador Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming boutique hotel located in the city centre of The Hague. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Carlton Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Carlton Ambassador
Carlton Ambassador The Hague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing