We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carlton Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #3 of 68 Hotels in The Hague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I moved to this hotel since it is near to my colleague apartment. The price is extremely expensive for the quality of the hotel. Though it is clean and nicely decorated, you can notice that most of the furniture and bed are quite old. I am sure that there are other hotels in Den Haag with similar quality but more attractive price.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (690)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 690 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2012

Excellent hotel and superb staff. Great location in and around all the embassies and not to far from the centre. I had stayed here on several occasions and have found every room very charming ad tastefull decorated with very comforatble beds. Breakfast is a little megre but fresh eggs make up for this.

Room Tip: All are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steveprimrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonAmbassador, General Manager at Carlton Ambassador Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We really appreciate the fact that you have taken the time to share your experiences in our hotel with other travellers. We have had the pleasure of welcoming you numerous times of the last few years and we are looking forward to seeing you again soon!
With kind regards, Arwin Paulides - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I stayed here for one night on business. Though I was only there for a short time, the service I received was absolutely fantastic. From reception, to room service, to the bar - the staff were friendly and polite.

The room itself was large and comfortable. My only critique is that there were two twin beds pushed together, instead of a king size bed. That didn't matter too much to me though, as I was only staying for one night.

The bar was nice and had an extensive range of beverages. The breakfast in the morning was good too.

Would certainly stay here again when I am back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beitme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonAmbassador, General Manager at Carlton Ambassador Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments about your stay in our hotel, which we have shared with the entire staff.
We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced because of the twin beds. Please don't hesitate to inform us about your preferences and we will do our utmost to accommodate your wishes.
With kind regards, Arwin Paulides - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is simply one of the best hotels I have stayed in.

Located in the Diplomatic quarter within easy reach of the city centre attractions and trom stop for a trip to the nearby seaside at Schevenigen.

Restaurant excellent including champagne for breakfast if that appeals. Fresh food and fruit in great abundance.

A very large and comfortable room, beautifully decorated.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Culverhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Stayed here in June 2012. Wonderful location, very nice and well-appointed rooms, very caring staff who went out of their way to take care of guests and give tips on what to see and do. Would return again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amit5201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We stayed in the hotel this month and we are happy with it. It is comfortable and nice boutique hotel, and if we go to the Hague again this is where we would be staying. It is close to the center yet it is in a quiet area which makes it perfect for resting. The hotel inside is also quiet, very friendly staff which makes you feel welcomed.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrsvandeann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonAmbassador, General Manager at Carlton Ambassador Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experiences with other travellers. We are pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you again during your next visit to The Hague.
With kind regards, Arwin Paulides - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Two colleagues stayed in this hotel. Well travelled, but first time in The Hague, and they really enjoyed it. We had lunch together o nthe terrace. The dagmenu was superb. Warm, mixed fish salad, followed by strawberries and cream. Fresh, and beautifully served.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Leiden_food_lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonAmbassador, General Manager at Carlton Ambassador Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your lovely review. Our Chef was especially pleased with your comments about the lunch you have enjoyed on our terrace. Hopefully we will able to welcome you again on another sunny day!
With kind regards, Arwin Paulides - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these The Hague hotels
Hilton The Hague
#1 of 68 in The Hague
1,732 reviews
The Hague Marriott Hotel
#6 of 68 in The Hague
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zuidwal
Novotel Suites Den Haag City Centre
Paleis Hotel
#5 of 68 in The Hague
489 reviews
Carlton Beach
#1 of 24 in Scheveningen
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Ambassador Hotel

Address: Sophialaan 2, 2514 JP, The Hague, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > The Hague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in The Hague
#3 Luxury Hotel in The Hague
#8 Romantic Hotel in The Hague
Price Range: $122 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton Ambassador Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming boutique hotel located in the city centre of The Hague. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Carlton Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Carlton Ambassador
Carlton Ambassador The Hague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing