We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Helpful Staff Loved the City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Den Haag Central
Ranked #8 of 67 Hotels in The Hague
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great Location, Helpful Staff Loved the City”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Hint no. 1. Pull in front of the hotel just off the road and unload your bags before heading into the adjacent parking garage. Park and then walk back up the car entrance and you are just in front of the hotel. Make sure to take your ticket into the hotel and pay parking when you check out. Will save you 5Euros or more per day. Our room was nice and looked over the very modern plaza area near the theatre district. An easy walk to the old town. Lots of places to eat - including McDonalds! Everyone is on bikes. We were surprised at how small the town really is (which we liked). The hotel is uber modern and has a few things that don't work in the room (like the sliding door that closes off the bathroom), but we didn't even say anything about it. The lady at the front desk was very helpful and spoke perfect English. We had booked just looking for a place to stay on the way back to Brussels after visiting the tulip fields, and afterward wished that we had at least another night. Everyone we met was nice and welcoming. And the food was great. I even learned to eat mayonnaise with my French fries! This is a good deal.

Room Tip: Some others said that rooms were noisy, but ours was off the street on the 8th floor I think, and we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Softsoutherner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKnijff, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Den Haag Central, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback and enjoy the rest of your trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    407
    76
    20
    1
See reviews for
105
297
82
252
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Excellent location in the middle of the centre, good rooms, great shower/bathroom and a perfect breakfast. Combine this with a descent bar and you have a great business hotel.
Not a family hotel, but for the frequent traveller / business person this is all you require.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the town-hall (stadhuis) side. It's somewhat quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRE007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKnijff, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Den Haag Central, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Excellent location quite close to Central Station and public transport. High quality room with a really good shower, with bizarre glazed wall into room (there was a blind).

Would have got a higher rating, but for the 'hot' breakfast. Go for the fresh orange juice and cold buffet which was excellent, unless you like cold cooked food.

Plenty of good eating nearby, so we didn't try the restaurant.

Would stay again at the weekend rates.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JB00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKnijff, Front Office Manager at Mercure Hotel Den Haag Central, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Den Haag Central. It is always nice to receive feedback.
We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Nicely rubbished accor property, reasonable breakfast selection, good localization. Pleasant young bartender on late shift.

on cons side: locked TVs so if you intend to use HDMI inputs - no joy there; also the light in the mini bar fridge was sort of sensible to movements in the room - blinked every time I passed by, eventually gave the switch a bit of slap and it got stopped .)

Room Tip: 907 - well equipped, AC smooth and quiet, view over neighboring plaza
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We were attracted to the hotel by a great weekend offer, making a special hotel affordable for our stay. Everything was as we expected after reading reviews on Tripadvisor. Central location (less than ten minutes walk from the Central Station) and next to various cultural venues, and near the main shopping street and historic centre. Our room was compact but with everything one needs. Wifi was free and worked well. Breakfast was excellent and service was friendly and efficient. Overall, a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: N.B. there is no swimming pool or spa so rated these as 'terrible', when the review should a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonGlobetrotter59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Windsor, New Jersey, United States
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I was working in The Hague for two weeks in March and my company put me in this hotel. After a long flight, I walked in the smaller than average room and immediately dropped into the bed for some rest. I think the sheets scratched my face and found there were 2 twin beds put together. I learned to accept my bed was not very comfortable and the sheets may not even have a thread count. The shower was nice and the water here and all over the city tastes like minertal water so there is never a need to buy a bottle. The toilet was against the wall, but it seems the Dutch do that often.
The hotel staff was quite nice and helpful and the morning Breakfast was really good. They have a fresh orange juice machine that made me forget the bed on a daily basis and the coffee machine made it a joy to wake up. The bar was quaint and the menu is good for a hotel.
If not for the room I would have given the Mercure 4 stars.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsarcazim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights in March 2013 and were given a room on the top floor (10th). Nice cosy room with comfortable bed, great en-suite and good views as facing towards the city centre. Great breakfast. Nothing to fault really except the bar prices in the lobby - we didn't drink there once as all the other bars within 100m were half the price - shame really as we'd have spent a fair bit if slightly cheaper. Will go back though, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these The Hague hotels
Zuidwal
Novotel Suites Den Haag City Centre
Ibis Den Haag City Centre
#11 of 67 in The Hague
972 reviews
Hilton The Hague
#1 of 67 in The Hague
1,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zuidwal
Hotel Novotel Den Haag City Centre
The Hague Marriott Hotel
#9 of 67 in The Hague
533 reviews
Voorhout
Holiday Inn Express The Hague - Parliament
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Den Haag Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Den Haag Central

Property: Mercure Hotel Den Haag Central
Address: Spui 180, 2511 BW, The Hague, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > The Hague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in The Hague
#7 Family Hotel in The Hague
#7 Luxury Hotel in The Hague
#8 Business Hotel in The Hague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Den Haag Central 4*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mercure Den Haag Central is located in the lively heart of The Hague, within walking distance of several ministeries, the inviting shopping streets and numerous theatres. Schiphol Airport is only 45 km from The Hague. The hotel boasts 159 completely refurbished executive rooms, a cosy bar which also serves meals and a public undercover car park. Our hotel is the right address to make your meeting a success. Our hotel is 100% non smoking! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Hotel Den Haag Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure The Hague
Accor The Hague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing