We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Business Class Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Den Haag Central
Ranked #8 of 68 Hotels in The Hague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I've stayed in this hotel during several visits to The Hague and can strongly recommend it. The Hotel Mercure is right in the centre of things and is easily reachable by foot from Centraal Station. Rooms have good facilities and are spotlessly clean. WiFi is available free of charge. There is a small but decent bar/restaurant for evening meals. Staff were friendly and helpful. I got a great rate via the Accor Hotels website. December is clearly a quiet month for the hotel and there appeared to be practically no one staying on my floor, which was great as I slept soundly. The Hague is not the liveliest of Dutch cities - everything seems to shut down, at least in the centre, after 6 pm - but it is very culturally rich and there are a lot of museums etc to see during the day.

Room Tip: Always worth asking for a quiet room, but to be honest all the rooms, even on the street side, are w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnL63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKnijff, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Den Haag Central, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Thank you for your comments during your stay in our hotel.
This will give us the oppurtunity to improve the standards in our hotel to
ensure you will have more comfort on your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (891)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 891 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2012

The Mercure Central Hotel in Den Haag is located at the Spui 180, in the middle of the city centre , right next to City Hall, Philips Concert Hall and Netherland Danse Theatre. In walking distance there is the old city centre with shopping streets and restaurants, also some museums are nearby. This is really a strong argument for booking the hotel.

The reception in the hotel is friendly. The lobby is modern with a quite stylish restaurant. You find also 3 computers for "public" use. In the rest of the hotel the personnel is unfriendly or at best neutral. No sense of hospitality!


The rooms are on floors 3 - 10 with 20 rooms on each floor.
The rooms are ok without any particular luxury or flavour. The comfort of beds is not more than ok. Bathroom is small. Rooms are clean. There is a Mini Bar and a small coffee machine, no iron.

When you check in at arrival, you are asked to sign an agreement of a non smoking policy. And on every floor there are sign of "no smoking". I find it extremely annoying that out of 8 days I have spent in the hotel, on 4 days the aisle of my floor was full of smoke from cigarettes and drugs !!
The use of Hashish is may be very Dutch, but should be limited to coffee shops. Definitively not acceptable in hotels. The management does not seem to undertake efforts to solve the problem.

TIP: ask for rooms numbered 1 - 11: they are facing the central plaza which is much more quiet than rooms numbered 12 - 20, which are facing a noisy street with cars, trams and busses.

Breakfast might be included in your rate. From 6.30 to 10 on weekdays on the first floor:
the quailty of food is not good. Especially meat, wurst and cheese looks as it would be a week old, if not more. There is a good WMF coffee machine and a juice machine for fresh orange juice.
There is absolute no service there !

There is also no fitness centre or a pool in the hotel. You will be asked to pay 10€ for an outside fitness centre which does not belong to the hotel.

I had been booking here for 9 nights and had to leave a night early. Despite announcing this 10 days in advance the management refused to reimburse me the one (prepaid) night. Not very helpful !

Once I asked for a fax to be sent: the fees for this are annoying: 2.50€ per page !

My resume would be that as long you are staying here for one or two nights, the hotel might be ok, but I would not recommend this for a longer period: quality of service and food are below average. And certainly this hotel does not merit 4 stars !

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JunM59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

The hotel is conveniently located in the heart of the Hague. It's a few minutes walk to the main shopping area. The Den Haag Central station is also only 5 to 7 minutes walk away. There's also a tram station nearby.
The room is clean. There's also free wifi provided. The hotel staffs were really friendly and made me feel warm while away from home.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ocean8282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKnijff, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Den Haag Central, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Thank you very much for your nice comments. Hope too welcome you soon again in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Arrived here for business, you cannot get a better hotel in the heart of The Hague.
Conveniently located in the centre of The Hague! Public transportation nearby, shops etc. aswell

Rooms were very clean and neat. Warm interior with everything you need. Beds were good and i had a nice view across the square looking right into City hall. It is very much a business hotel and would recommend it as such. Families should look elsewhere.

Breakfast was decent and everything was there, had a slightly grumpy employee who didn't greet me when i did, but, small things can happen. It did not ruin my overall experience.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ewansink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

The Mercure is an efficient, clean and good hotel within easy walking distance of the centre of The Hague, the central station, etc... It does not have much character or atmosphere but rooms and bathrooms are modern and clean. You can be sure of what you are getting when you book here even if it does not have the "wow" factor of some hotels. I have stayed here on and off over the last four years - probably 5 or 6 times a year. For a "chain" hotel, the reception staff are particularly good and welcoming.The evening meal options are limited but buffet style breakfast is good.

Room Tip: There is very little difference between the normal (on lower floors) and superior rooms (higher floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Funandwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

The exterior of this hotel isn't impressive but I really liked the interior and the effectiveness of the staff. Really nice lobby and effective rooms. Everyhting is modern, clean and it is easy to stay there. The reception staff was very helpful and had no lines. The location is much downtown, close to shops and restaurants and both of the stations. Little further away from World Forum where I had the meetings but that's ok, rather stay in a downtown hotel than close to the conference.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKnijff, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Den Haag Central, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Thank you for your nice comments. Hope to see you again in our hotel, in the near future !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Havind to spend three days in The Hague while en route, we decided to stay in the Mercure hotel. The hotel is situated in walking distance of the city center. We booked this hotel through booking.com, because of which we received a significantly better rate including breakfast! The hotel staff is very friendly, helpful and efficient. The rooms are modern, clean and simply decorated. The beds are fine and eveything is fresh and clean.
There is a closed parking next to the entrance of the hotel which is convenient albeit a little bit expensive. The normal cost of this parking is 25 euros per 24 hours, but the hotel gives you a discount of 5 euros. So parking is convenient. The breakfast is absolutely marvelous! I have seen almost every kitchen in the world taken into acount! I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoorLeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKnijff, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Den Haag Central, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Thank you for your response. The price should be the same on every site;
we will check our procedures, to offer the best price everywhere.
Looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these The Hague hotels
The Hague Marriott Hotel
#6 of 68 in The Hague
683 reviews
Zuidwal
Novotel Suites Den Haag City Centre
NH Den Haag
#7 of 68 in The Hague
1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Voorhout
Holiday Inn Express The Hague - Parliament
Hilton The Hague
#1 of 68 in The Hague
1,735 reviews
Ibis Den Haag City Centre
#12 of 68 in The Hague
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Den Haag Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Den Haag Central

Address: Spui 180, 2511 BW, The Hague, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > The Hague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in The Hague
#8 Luxury Hotel in The Hague
#8 Business Hotel in The Hague
Price Range: $105 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Den Haag Central 4*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mercure Den Haag Central is located in the lively heart of The Hague, within walking distance of several ministeries, the inviting shopping streets and numerous theatres. Schiphol Airport is only 45 km from The Hague. The hotel boasts 159 completely refurbished executive rooms, a cosy bar which also serves meals and a public undercover car park. Our hotel is the right address to make your meeting a success. Our hotel is 100% non smoking! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Mercure Hotel Den Haag Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure The Hague
Accor The Hague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing