We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel - Service could be better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Corona

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Corona
Ranked #21 of 70 Hotels in The Hague
Certificate of Excellence
Poughquag
1 review
“Great Hotel - Service could be better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

The hotel was great but the service on the first day for breakfast was terrible. The buffet as they called it was very limited compared to american type hotel buffets for example. The waitress was not really interested in serving us. the cook was not helpful at all. It was like she was not interested in serving us at all. We asked for additional fruit and basically said we do not do that. Eggs were indeed just eggs, no toppings, asking for eggwhites was not done. The weekend waitress and cooks were excellent. Make sure if you come by car to book parking which was not clear as we ended up in a parking garage a good bit away from the hotel. Nice hotel to say however and great location.

Room Tip: Make sure the remote is there for the air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampshire Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    112
    22
    5
    9
See reviews for
21
91
19
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bologna, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Excellent stay, from the reception to the room, actually clean, tidy and comfortable. Amazing location, in a beautiful classic building, just in the heart of that charming city. I liked everything and I strongly recommend it; the only bad thing was.. my staying too short!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampshire Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Massimo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I recently stayed at the Hotel Corona in Den Hague and found my experience there to be exceptional. The staff was very friendly. One fellow even came out of the Hotel to meet me in the car as they were doing road work and I had extreme difficulty finding the Hotel. After calling the main desk 3 times, he said he would come out to greet me. He then walked to the parkade so that I knew where to park. A very nice and extremely helpful young man! We almost gave up but he saved us! The parking is expensive, $20 Euros per day but I know that in Vancouver, many hotels also charge a large amount. The Breakfast option was also very expensive, $20 Euros per person, so we chose not to use that option. The Hotel is situated in a square that has a McDonalds and many, many other close options for eating. We went to a Cafe calle De Goude Hooft which was around the corner and shared a wonderful breakfast for $8.50 Euros plus an extra coffee...I will review that later. The Hotel room was quiet, comfortable and clean. I would highly recommend it and would definitely stay there again. It was also right across the street from the Binnenhof and at the end of that courtyard, sits the Mauritshaus. The Prison Gallery and the Prince William V Gallery were also right around the corner. The Mesdag Museum and the Royal Palace were about a 10 to 15 min walk. As was the Bredius and Escher Museum....everything was very close by!

Room Tip: we got a room facing the main square and it was very quiet....it was only June however, so if it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AstridBe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This hotel is well located in the centre of The Hague and is close to Parliament, shopping, bars and restaurants. The rooms are spacious and comfortable with good size beds, TVs and wardrobes. The bathrooms are modern and stylish. However, the complimentary toiletries offered are of poor quality when compared to the calibre of the hotel. The breakfast was disappointing, as the kitchen was being remodelled and there was a limited selection of food items on offer. Furthermore, the tables were not cleared in a timely manner which made the breakfast room look quite unsightly.

Other issues are:
- the number of stairs that one has to climb with heavy luggage, as the lift doesn't reach all floors
- the unacceptably high EUR 7.50 tray charge for room service. This is the highest I have ever paid in all my travels.
- the noise from the bar/club in the square that pumps directly into front facing rooms. Choose one at the back!
I would happily recommend this hotel if these issues were resolved.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank culchavulcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

In the center of the Hague just across the parliament. Perfect location for visiting the city and shopping and well connected to everything from the beach to Central Station and in the walking distance from many good restaurants. Interesting take on breakfast with old style service with individual plates , very pleasing experience. Very tasty, fresh products and juices/smoothies but I would prefer to have available more low carb choices rather than indulging in pastries and everything sweet!

Definitely one of my preferred hotels in The Hague!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Opalinet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Level Contributor
201 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Everything about The Corona is sleek and stylish - the furnitre, the public rooms, the bedrooms, and it's right in the heart of The Hague, just 100 metres for the Binnenhof and the Hofvijver (the lake adjacent to the parliament buildings). 200 metres in the other direction and you are on Vlamingstraat - the main shopping street that leads to Grote Markt with lots of restauarants and bars.

The rooms in the Corona are spacious and spotlessly clean. The restaurant provides excellent meals at reasonable prices and the staff are unfailingly polite and friendly. If you are spending time in The Hague, The Corona is the pace to be.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gramer999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East
Level Contributor
189 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

I had a most enjoyable stay at this hotel. The check in was efficient and the staff were incredibly helpful and informative.

The location was good on a lovely square in a nice part of the Hague which is a lovely city overall. The hotel is convenient for the Government buildings and the main shopping streets.

My room was spacious and comfortable with a good bed and a fair amount of cupboard and drawer space. I would agree that the trams can be irritating so I'd recommend asking for a room not overlooking the square. The water was hot and I loved the bath. Everything was spotlessly clean.

The restaurant was good and served me excellent steak, well cooked and prepared.

The breakfast was fine, nice fresh juice and good quality of bread. It wasn't the widest range ever but it was good quality and nicely served.

I would stay there again if I could get a good rate on the accommodation. I'd definitely visit the Hague again as I would like to spend more time exploring it rather than being there on business.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArgentineTango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these The Hague hotels
Zuidwal
Novotel Suites Den Haag City Centre
Hilton The Hague
#1 of 70 in The Hague
4.5 of 5 stars 1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Hague Marriott Hotel
#9 of 70 in The Hague
4.0 of 5 stars 260 reviews
Voorhout
Holiday Inn Express The Hague - Parliament
Paleis Hotel
#5 of 70 in The Hague
4.5 of 5 stars 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Corona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Corona

Property: Hotel Corona
Address: Buitenhof 39/42, 2513 AH, The Hague, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > The Hague > Kortenbos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in The Hague
#18 Luxury Hotel in The Hague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Corona 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Corona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Corona Hampshire Classic
Corona Hampshire Classic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing