We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not again!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag
Ranked #19 of 67 Hotels in The Hague
GreenLeadersGold level
UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not again!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

Not a great experience...

1) Room so dark / poorly lit you cannot read well and working at the desk was difficult
2) Carpet dirty and loose, so not that pleasant moving around
3) Weird design feature where they have installed a shelf with a sharp edge right above the sink, so if you lean forward when brushing your teeth, you suffer a head injury (or spit from afar)
4) Soul destroying lobby / restaurant

Will definitely avoid in future!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr_Bing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    621
    259
    81
    35
See reviews for
163
631
64
316
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Benson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
122 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

This hotel is located right next to the Central station making access to anywhere in the Hague or The Netherlands very convenient. The rooms are nice. I had issues with the AC and the room was very hot for a few nights until they got it fixed. The restaurant and bar are nice as well.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chunnicutt2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laramie, Wyoming
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

This hotel is ideally located next to the central train station and access from a large city park. It is clean and well-maintained. The staff was very helpful: the reservations agent went out of her way to straighten out some complications before our arrival and the front desk worked overtime to provide separate documentation of all the charges to both of us. The only inconvenience, if it could be called that, is that breakfast is not included in the hotel rate. It is extra and, by U.S. standards, expensive. However, there are places in the train station that could satisfy budget appetites.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampshire Hotels

Helpful?
Thank EricWY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob H, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you again in the near future “More Than Welcome”.

Kind regards,

Rob Hemmes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

Nice lobby with very friendly personnel, so no chance not to give a smile every time you deal with. Room was clean and big enough with some furniture for spending a time not sleeping only mode. BTW, sleeping there on wide bed with very comfy pillows was something about awesome. My toom was a little bit dark, but this mostly caused by close location to the near one tall building.
Breakfast plates range is more then enough to vary and dinner hall with glass panels to the awakening city center gives you a very relaxed feeling at morning. Location of the Hotel is nearly perfect in terms of both wlaking within the city center or traveling by trams/trains around the region.

I'd book this Hotel once again definitely once I back to Den Hague.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Artyom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob H, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you again in the near future “More Than Welcome”.

Kind regards,

Rob Hemmes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roskilde, Denmark
Level Contributor
86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

This was one of the hotels my conference recommended, and it is worth staying at if you need to be close to Leiden University, or just the Central Station in general. Both are less than a minute away. Rates could be a bit lower, though...
The room on the top floor (9th) is large, with a good view over parts of the city. The smog is pretty dire, though, so not much to look at out the window. The bed is large and great - quite firm mattress the way I like it. Bathroom has a tub, plus shower of course. The water pressure is disappointingly low - might be a problem particular to the top floor(s)...
Service - very friendly, but a little intrusive. No need to greet me every time I cross the lobby, folks!
The only slight downside to the place so far is the rather tacky decor, featuring poor art, burgundy pillow cases and weird glowing cauldrons on the landings. Babylon revisited, I guess...

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank i12bent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob H, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We have forwarded your suggestions to the appropriate departments for their attention. We hope to welcome you again in the near future “More Than Welcome”.

Kind regards,

Rob Hemmes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

Traveling to Zoetermeer on an important business meeting, I stayed one night in Hampshire Hotel.
Got a (real) non smoking room, great king bed, marvelous set of pillows.
At arrival all was perfect, room temperature also.
Got out to business dinner and afterwards the so waited rest.
And what a great night it was!
Woke up for a shower, the shower head was not so efficacy... although it made it OK at the end.
Good generous breakfast with freshly squeezed orange juice.
On my next trip to headquarters I will definitely "demand" this hotel!
Thank you Hampshire team for a great job done here!

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the main avenue, it will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Henrique C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob H, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you again in the near future "More Than Welcome".

Kind regards,

Rob Hemmes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

the rooms are neat and clean. hotel is located near the centrum so everything is close by. the price is fair however breakfast is NOT INCLUDED! it costs about 13 or 18 euros which is tooo much. walk to the "coffee Company" nearby to have some good breakfast at a reasonable price.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank yaztradamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob H, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you again in the near future "More Than Welcome".

Kind regards,

Rob Hemmes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these The Hague hotels
Hilton The Hague
#1 of 67 in The Hague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,481 reviews
Voorhout
Holiday Inn Express The Hague - Parliament
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Hague Marriott Hotel
#6 of 67 in The Hague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Parkhotel Den Haag
#12 of 67 in The Hague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
NH Den Haag
#9 of 67 in The Hague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag

Property: Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag
Address: Bezuidenhoutseweg 53, 2594 AC, The Hague, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > The Hague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in The Hague
#16 Luxury Hotel in The Hague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag is situated next to the main train station, in the midst of the bustling city life, with across the street an oasis of peace in the beautiful Haagsche Park. This modern 4-star hotel has a prominent reputation for outstanding service and quality comfort. Bright and spacious rooms and a warmly decorated restaurant and lounge provide guests with inviting spaces to dine and unwind. The hotel is ideally located in the heart of town, Den Haag's main attractions are easily reached. With the station providing direct links to Schiphol and the beach just 10 minutes away, this is the ideal hotel for business and leisure travellers alike. Certified with the Golden Green Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Babylon The Hague
The Hague Eden Babylon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing