We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A safe harbor in a stormy night.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag
Ranked #19 of 67 Hotels in The Hague
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A safe harbor in a stormy night.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

Traveling to Zoetermeer on an important business meeting, I stayed one night in Hampshire Hotel.
Got a (real) non smoking room, great king bed, marvelous set of pillows.
At arrival all was perfect, room temperature also.
Got out to business dinner and afterwards the so waited rest.
And what a great night it was!
Woke up for a shower, the shower head was not so efficacy... although it made it OK at the end.
Good generous breakfast with freshly squeezed orange juice.
On my next trip to headquarters I will definitely "demand" this hotel!
Thank you Hampshire team for a great job done here!

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the main avenue, it will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Henrique C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob H, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you again in the near future "More Than Welcome".

Kind regards,

Rob Hemmes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    621
    259
    81
    35
See reviews for
163
631
64
316
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

the rooms are neat and clean. hotel is located near the centrum so everything is close by. the price is fair however breakfast is NOT INCLUDED! it costs about 13 or 18 euros which is tooo much. walk to the "coffee Company" nearby to have some good breakfast at a reasonable price.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank yaztradamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob H, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you again in the near future "More Than Welcome".

Kind regards,

Rob Hemmes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

First, the lobby... Oh my! How ancient it looked. It felt a little bit like we'd gotten into some shady 1980's hotel. It's dark and not welcoming.
Then the room: the room in its generality, was nice. It felt cosy and somewhat luxurious but then if you started to look around (or to the floor for that matter), you'd start noticing a few flaws. Stains on the carpet and the likes.
The bathroom was clean and modern but:
- the tap of the sink would not give us cold water. We could get some cold water out of it at some point but then it started leaking at the back and splash the mirror
- the shower hose once stayed in my hand, instead of in the wall and was a bit tricky to put back on
- the door to the bathroom was a shabby sliding door that hardly served any use (not the most comfortable when it is your first night in a hotel in a new relationship)

Now to the bed... Oh the bed!
It featured the best pillows you could ever get: thick, fluffy, comfy. It was like resting your head on a cloud. I have since then decided that I need THOSE pillows at home in place of what now feels like stone under my head.

And finally, when it comes to the location, THAT was perfect. It's so close to the station that you could almost think they're part of the same building. From there, the centre is only a few hundred meters away.

I don't think I would go back due to all the little flaws that made the stay not as comfortable as it could have been. Except maybe for the pillows...

Room Tip: Depending on your preference, I guess you should try and make sure get one type of room or the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LilRedFrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob H, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write your feedback. It is only because of feedback from our guests that we are able to improve our services. We have forwarded your comments to our Technical Department.

We are happy to inform you that we have completed a full renovation of our lobby. A photo of our new lobby can be found on our Facebook page.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future in our new lobby.

Kind regards,

Rob Hemmes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paramaribo, Suriname
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Location is perfect. Just behind Den Haag Central station and 10 minutes walk to the city. Professional staff. First they couldn't find my reservation, but luckily they found it. I always ask for a room in a higher floor. This time I got the room, but the noise from the street was unbearable. I couldn't sleep until 3 am. The bathroom was good with a bath and Rituals toiletries. I only got half toilet paper. Housekeeping should do a little bit more dusting. That's the only issue. Overall this hotel has a great location and very nice front desk staff. I would definitely go back and recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the other side of the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leandro987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob H, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write your feedback. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay. It is only because of feedback from our guests that we are able to improve our services. We have forwarded your comments to our Housekeeping department for their immediate attention. We hope to welcome you again in the near future "More Than Welcome".

Kind regards,

Rob Hemmes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

Stayed here on business for roughly a week. The hotel has all the amenities you expect when traveling on business. The breakfast is OK although the selection was a bit sparse. It's located right next to the central station (literally), so it's easy to get around in Den Haag. There is a lot of good restaurants in walking distance from the hotel. At nighttime it was quite noisy due to ongoing construction work in the square outside the hotel. The hotel can't be blamed for this, although they could have made guest aware - some are lighter sleepers than others...

-H

Room Tip: Avoid a room facing the square or main road which is generally noisier outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank henrikr529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob H, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you again in the near future. “More Than Welcome”

Kind regards,

Rob Hemmes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

This hotel is in excellent location immediately next to the central railway station, and very close to the main shopping centre and the tourist locations in the old part of The Hague. In fact the hotel is immediately above the brand new Babylon shopping complex, which makes is very convenient for serious shoppers. It is a clean and very modern hotel. The reception staff were friendly and efficient, but the hotel lacks character or any distinguishing features which meant my stay was a slightly soulless experience. The bedroom was reasonably spacious, but the ceiling was low and the lightning and air conditioning slightly confusing to operate. I should be content to stay in the hotel again for an overnight business trip, but if visiting for a leisure break I would look for a hotel with more charm and character.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Mazandrew433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob H, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you again in the near future. “More Than Welcome”

Kind regards,

Rob Hemmes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

The Hampshire Hotel, Babylon Den Haag has a lot of plus points - it is a terrific location, right next to the train station, the beds are very comfortable and the staff are very helpful and friendly. The breakfast buffet is good with a nice selection of breads and condiments.

The only issue was that the room needed some attention - the shower head was loose, a couple of lamps weren't working and the bathroom was a bid scruffy. I'm sure this can be fixed easily.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob H, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write your feedback. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay. It is only because of feedback from our guests that we are able to improve our services. We have forwarded your comments to our Technical Department for their immediate attention. We hope to welcome you again in the near future. “More Than Welcome”

Kind regards,

Rob Hemmes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these The Hague hotels
Hilton The Hague
#1 of 67 in The Hague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,481 reviews
Voorhout
Holiday Inn Express The Hague - Parliament
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Hague Marriott Hotel
#6 of 67 in The Hague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Parkhotel Den Haag
#12 of 67 in The Hague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
NH Den Haag
#9 of 67 in The Hague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag

Property: Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag
Address: Bezuidenhoutseweg 53, 2594 AC, The Hague, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > The Hague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in The Hague
#16 Luxury Hotel in The Hague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag is situated next to the main train station, in the midst of the bustling city life, with across the street an oasis of peace in the beautiful Haagsche Park. This modern 4-star hotel has a prominent reputation for outstanding service and quality comfort. Bright and spacious rooms and a warmly decorated restaurant and lounge provide guests with inviting spaces to dine and unwind. The hotel is ideally located in the heart of town, Den Haag's main attractions are easily reached. With the station providing direct links to Schiphol and the beach just 10 minutes away, this is the ideal hotel for business and leisure travellers alike. Certified with the Golden Green Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Babylon The Hague
The Hague Eden Babylon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing