We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conveniently located, solid business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag
Ranked #16 of 67 Hotels in The Hague
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Conveniently located, solid business hotel”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Next to Haag Central station. Short stroll to shops, bars and restaurants. Lovely woods across the road for relaxing stroll or pleasant jog. Rooms good, iron & ironing board, flat TV, free Internet access, bed comfy, easy to use safe, fridge. Shower lacks pressure, difficult to control room temperature and no gym. Breakfast was nice but expensive (17.5 Euros per person). Staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    682
    277
    84
    36
See reviews for
184
694
67
337
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Reason why we stayed in this hotel was of its location, close proximity to the train station. Travelled with 2 adults and 2 young children aged 3 & 6.
Upon arrival, checking in was dead slow despite having an online reservations. After check in, non-smoking room was not ready and had to come back after 5 pm. We returned at 6 pm and had a rude shock and afterwhich it started our most terrible hotel stay experience ever.

At 6pm, we were escorted into the hotel room by a lady receptionist. She informed us the hotel 'rigid' policy of max 2 pax in a room. It was not our first time travelling, I know 2 adults & 2 aged 12 and below children are a norm in most hotels in the world. Most online booking websites allow 2 adults + 2 child (aged 12 and below) option. . We argued back about their policy and asked for their understanding as our children were very young. The lady recept gave us a stern warning regarding fire safety. She showed no empathy and inflexiblity to understand our plight. We ended up in a predicament - since the hotel policy was only 2 pax in a room, they urged us to book another room for all our stay in Den Haag. Next, she told us all standard rooms were fully booked which means only the superior rooms were available. We needed to discuss. At that time, both my children were tired and worn out. We still had to decide quickly whether to leave the callous hotel or to put up with the hotel's nonsense.

We called the nearest hotel - Novetel City Centre, sadly they were full for the night but we could move over the following day. Novetel told us they had triple room and IT WAS CHEAPER AND NICER than Babylon. The staff from Novetel sounded nice and friendly and best of all empathise with our situation.

By 7pm, my husband walked out to meet his colleague who was staying in Den Haag to let him bunk in for a night in his home as the hotel was chasing us out.

Shortly after my husband left the room, I called the recept to ask for some towels and the same lady recept came to deliver towels. She reminded me that only 2 pax per room and she left. (note this part because I thought she left but she did not and was eavesdropping on us.)

At 8pm my hubby came back to shower and packed his belongings. So I called the recept to convey our decision and to make sure I wont be charged for the next 3 nights. The same lady recept picked up the phone and reassured us only 1 night will be charged. Before I could hang up the phone, she began to question me as she overheard me talking to my husband, obviously we were being spied. I was so mad and furious that I could no longer tolerate her. With my husband in the shower and me focusing on the phone, I did not realise my son fell and hurt his right eyelid. He was crying loudly and my eldest son was yelling for attention, no way I could concentrate on the phone. Yet I was still being interrogated for no reason. She did not care if the room were filled with screaming and shouting.

I hung the phone and turned to my bleeding son, I was terrified. I walked out of my room in bathroom and slippers to confront the lady from the front desk.

When the elevator door opened on ground floor, I was dashing towards the front desk. Unfortunately, there were lots of onlookers. Her first word to me was : Madam, there are other hotel guests, please lower your volume and do not shout in the lobby like an uneducated Chinese!!!

I scolded her for indirectly causing stress in our family. She smiled at me and pushed the blame back to me : Madam, it is your duty to look after your own child not my responsibility. My duty is to ensure that the room can only accomodate 2 pax max for safety issue. This is the hotel and the management policy. My job is to make sure only 2 guests are in the room. The lady recept main concern was not to give first aid to my son. Next she started with her hallucinations that I was talking to my husband. I asked her to prove as I knew my husband went out to buy dinner. She said the hotel cameras were the best evident. The last thing (and the most terrible) she said was security guards were allowed to open the guests room door to check the room as they have spare keys.

Woo Hoo Hoo, so this hotel actually have the rights to peek and eavesdrop and spy and argue and racist and enter freely to check out the rooms and need not give first aid to a bleeding child on the eye!!!!

So now, who can feel safe staying in such a hotel? Despite the need to comply by their 2 pax max rule, I still have to worry about being checked in the middle of the night. Finally, I pleaded my husband not to go to his colleague's house for the night and stay with us as I cant cope with a teary son. And throughout the night, no one came knocking so it was just a hoax!

So readers, decide for yourself if this is the kind of hotel to stay when u visit Den Haag?

Lastly, the reason why my son got hurt was because there were sharp metal edges all around the hotel room. Its part of their interior design.

PS : My son still have a small scar on his right eyelid. If I did not comply to Babylon's Hotel Policy, who am I going to ask for compensation over a scar that can never be erased???

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bebesha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Pro's; next to the train station; big, clean, comfortable room; good quality and value in the restaurant and bar.
Con's; an empty mini bar; no wi-fi in the room; no iron and ironing board in the room; no water pressure in the shower; impossible to use the basin without either banging your head on the shelf that it's under, or flooding the floor.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xslee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 356 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Hotel is adjacent to the central railway station - very easy to reach if coming by train.
Our booking was prepaid - so we figured all we need do was just turn up, maybe let reception take a photocopy of a passport and we can then go to the room. Alas no...

We had only cash (a mix of pounds, dollars and a small amount of euros [to pay for a restaurant that night]) and no cards that would work in the Netherlands. Reception was insistent that we had to leave a card imprint or 50 euros cash in case we used hotel services - even though they confirmed that the minibar had already been emptied. The requirement to leave a deposit after prepayment of the room was not clearly advertised - had it been made clear at the time of booking, I would have ensured I had a credit card on me.

While I had 52 euros cash on me, I wasn't prepared to give up all my cash, and then be unable to buy any food for supper that evening and go hungry that night. The menu in the hotel restaurant looked expensive and bland - did not justify eating there when a 10 minute walk gave a large choice of restaurants.

We explained that we could leave cash dollars or cash pounds, but this was not accepted - and were sent to a bureau de change that had closed over an hour earlier. When we returned to the hotel and explained that the bureau de change was closed, the response was hostile and not helpful.

In the end reception agreed to take pounds cash as a deposit against us possibly eating at the hotel - the room was prepaid after all - (although they said they couldn't give a proper receipt for the money), but the welcome we were given was sufficiently hostile that we could only think of spending our time somewhere else - it seemed like by staying here we were being a burden to the staff.

I'm fine with a hotel wanting a card imprint when the room has not yet been paid. If a customer pays cash for the room or has prepaid, plenty of hotels have internal systems that tell staff in the restaurant if there is no card imprint and to therefore ask for cash payment - thus permitting a stay without forcing a deposit at check-in.

While the cash was returned on check out, I can't recommend this as a place where staff will make an effort to help their guests.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pmbma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

The hotel has great location - next to Den Haag Central train station. It is voncenient to explore the city on foot.
Room in the second floor was rather small and nothing special.
Breakfast was good.
Hotel is OK, but nothing special. It is worth visiting it because of its location.

Room Tip: Do not take room in the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fragi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2012

This hotel is right next to Den Haag Centraal Train station which makes it very convenient. Their Restaurant "The LivingRoom" is very good and serves multiple dishes that an Americans will enjoy, including a burger, and Ben & Jerry's Ice cream. Staff is quite friendly, multi-lingual, including English and very helpful. Close walk to lots of food, bars, etc.

Some reviews noted that the rooms were cold. I was there in the coldest time of the year and I would agree. The thermostats max out at 23C (73F) but the room was typically topping out at 21C (69.8F) as the radiators fought the cold from the windows. The room I stayed in was a Jr. Suite which had a king size bed. The beds are very comfortable. Bathroom had a tub/shower combo that was updated and nice. Room had flat screen TVs which were useless as everything on them had a daily charge.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravisJGood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

This was a very nice stay in Hotel Babylon. The Staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was delicious. It's just around the corner of Central Station and walking distance to the city centre.
The only thing was that we could hear the aircondition/heating system all night long eventhough it was switched off.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SazzoAlkmaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these The Hague hotels
NH Den Haag
#6 of 67 in The Hague
1,231 reviews
Hilton The Hague
#1 of 67 in The Hague
1,611 reviews
Zuidwal
Novotel Suites Den Haag City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Hague Marriott Hotel
#9 of 67 in The Hague
533 reviews
Ibis Den Haag City Centre
#11 of 67 in The Hague
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag

Property: Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag
Address: Bezuidenhoutseweg 53, 2594 AC, The Hague, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > The Hague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in The Hague
#12 Luxury Hotel in The Hague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag is situated next to the main train station, in the midst of the bustling city life, with across the street an oasis of peace in the beautiful Haagsche Park. This modern 4-star hotel has a prominent reputation for outstanding service and quality comfort. Bright and spacious rooms and a warmly decorated restaurant and lounge provide guests with inviting spaces to dine and unwind. The hotel is ideally located in the heart of town, Den Haag's main attractions are easily reached. With the station providing direct links to Schiphol and the beach just 10 minutes away, this is the ideal hotel for business and leisure travellers alike. Certified with the Golden Green Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Babylon The Hague
The Hague Eden Babylon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing