We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, nice but slow service”

Restaurant La Passione
Reserve with
Restaurant La Passione is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #62 of 1,274 Restaurants in The Hague
Price range: $19 - $27
Cuisines: Diner, Italian, Seafood, International, Grill, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Italian modern traditional kitchen in Noordeinde The Hague. THE interior is romantic classic , but serene atmosphere.We but every day the fish from Scheveningen harbour and the meat from a famous familie close to Rotterdam.Our chef's are from Lombardi C.Cuko and Toscany Charlotte Belle. We present a complet homemade cucina italiana. You are more than welcom to visit us for more avventure . You have to try our import truffels. We have a lot of famous wines from all Italy. Members of the Italian Academy of Cuisine this year and awarded like best Italian ristorante around The Hague. We are very close of Hilton hotel, King's Paleis, Carlton Ambasador , Des Indes, Park hotel...and a lot of nice hotels and areas around The Hague and Scheveningen. Tram 1, bus 22, 24 are very close of La Passione at Mauritskade (2 min walk)
Rotterdam
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food, nice but slow service”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We've been to La Passione in July 2012. We ordered the four courses menu for 34 euro, and a bottle of red wine from the Southern part of Italy for 19 euro.

The homemade bread that was served with olive tapenade was very tasty. The tuna carpaccio was good, the ravioli served with a sauce of wild mushrooms was excellent. The veal escalope was a bit disappointing because the taste of the sauce that was served on top of it was much too strong. The dessert was fine (tiramisu was better than the fresh fruit with ice).

The atmosphere was nice. The restaurant was fully occupied. The wine list was good (mostly Italian wines as one would expect). The waitress was very kind and good, however the service was too slow in our opinion.

All in all a good place to go to, especially if you have the time to spend the evening.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralph82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
t j, Manager at Restaurant La Passione, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you very much.
We hope too see you again.

Salute
Team la Passione
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    86
    15
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food, lovely restaurant, brilliant service”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Service is on the slow side but it's very much of the relaxed variety. When the food does come it's definitely worth the wait. The bread made fresh is one of the best I've tasted, probably worth it for this alone! The Tiramasu is fantastic. Unimposing but friendly staff, will definitely be back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
t j, Manager at Restaurant La Passione, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you very much.
We hope too see you again.

Salute
Team la Passione
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
68 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Dutch owner with passion”
Reviewed May 18, 2012

I went to this restaurant for lunch and it was a pleasant discovery.
Being Italian I have very high standards, but I was pleased with the quality of the food served here.
Fresh pasta with truffles was excellent and the price is not too pretentious.
The owner is Dutch, but has been living in Italy for a while. Certainly learnt a thing or two and beats some of our nationals who are not always capable of exporting the wonderful Italian flavours.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Francy_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
t j, Manager at Restaurant La Passione, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you very much.
We hope too see you again.

Salute
Team la Passione
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good Italian”
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Overall the restaurant gives you a small homely place. Staff was happy go lucky but professional. They had a decent selection of wines (as per my wine-expert friend).

We went for the four course menu, which was OK, not great not a disaster either.Everything was a touch away from Very Very good. One example - Caprese Salad had Mozzarella that was unusually hard - the softer the fresher and better... But the main course was much better. The highlight was the Tiramisu, which was top of the line..... I think the restarant has great potential but is falling short on food. Everything else is good.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vik2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
t j, Manager at Restaurant La Passione, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you very much.
We hope too see you again.

Salute
Team la Passione
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Nice quaint restaurant with yummy food. Definitely a step above the rest when it comes to Italian!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AdgieLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
t j, Manager at Restaurant La Passione, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you very much.
We hope too see you again.

Salute
Team la Passione
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant La Passione also viewed

The Hague, South Holland Province
The Hague, South Holland Province
 
The Hague, South Holland Province
The Hague, South Holland Province
 
The Hague, South Holland Province
The Hague, South Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant La Passione? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing