We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wow”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Prison Gate Museum

Prison Gate Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$54.69*
and up
Private Tour: The Hague Walking Tour Including Peace Palace Visitors Center
Ranked #14 of 170 things to do in The Hague
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: In the year 1280 AD, the gate to the outer courtyard or Buitenhof served as the main entrance to the castle of the Counts of Holland, known as the Binnenhof today. In 1428, this ‘Front Gate to the Court’ also became a prison. It was where defaulters were incarcerated and suspected criminals awaited their trials. It was a prison for four hundred years. The Prison Gate has been a museum since 1882. Ever since, it has been home to the biggest collection of instruments of punishment and torture in the Netherlands.
Den Haag, Nederland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“wow”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

tells a lot about the history of The Hague and The Netherlands. It is great to visit while the weather is not great. They do very good guided tours.

Helpful?
Thank Gerritsma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    132
    54
    11
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“very curious place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

highly recommemded i you are into unusual museums. learnt a lot! Easy to reach and close to centre. Check opening hours though....It is a muct see!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Derya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Haag
Level Contributor
87 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A prison where it is fun to be.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

A few years ago the museum was updated. The exposition is still not the greatest in the world but it gives a good impression of the times. I am very glad not to be living in those times. The guide had a vast knowledge. He knows his subject and obviously loves it. It is well worth visiting.

Helpful?
Thank Fir S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exciting and very fascinating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

The Gevangenpoort is a must see (the tours are very good) and also visit the gallery next door! Try to see it at Museumnacht!!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank mindy336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Tiny”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

This place is firstly difficult to find, secondly not very visitor-friendly, and thirdly tiny. It was not even clear that I was in the right place and at first I could not find the ticket counter; it's also housed in the same building as an art gallery. The ticket was more expensive than I was expecting (7,50EURO for a student) and definitely not worth that, in my opinion. It's basically only open by tour and there weren't any English ones when I went so I had to tag along with a Dutch tour (I speak zero Dutch). They give you a tiny, 8-page pamphlet that's supposed to cover what the tour guide says but from knowing German I could tell that I was missing a lot. There is one room with torture implements which are interesting but NOTHING is labeled so unless you ask you don't get much out of it. I would say that it was not worth my while.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prison Gate Museum also viewed

The Hague, South Holland Province
 
The Hague, South Holland Province
The Hague, South Holland Province
 

Been to Prison Gate Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing