We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Gemeentemuseum Den Haag
Book In Advance
More Info
$272.27*
and up
Private Guided Tour of Mauritshuis Museum from the Hague with Art Historian
Ranked #5 of 173 things to do in The Hague
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The monumental Gemeentemuseum Den Haag, designed by the architect H.P. Berlage in 1935, is perfect for wandering around in. It houses a varied collection and many changing exhibitions. You will find the world’s biggest collection of works by Piet Mondrian, the highlight being his last abstract work Victory Boogie Woogie, along with some of the finest works by artists of the Hague School, paintings by Picasso, Kandinsky, Van Gogh, Monet, Toorop and many contemporary artists. Gemeentemuseum Den Haag also houses one of the biggest and best collections of Delftware.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Lockers / storage, Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children
Augusta, GA
Level Contributor
1,311 reviews
625 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 496 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

My husband loves the Dutch masters, and this museum has many. There was also a Dutch masters contemporary exhibit involving internal body parts that we were not crazy about, but were glad we saw it. The Coco Chanel exhibit was very good, but my favorite was the Delft blue exhibit. There is another special exhibit of Lalique glass that is very good, and there are a few impressionists and other popular artists as well that are well worth a visit.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,076 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    580
    426
    65
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
108 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“We just couldn't leave”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We planned on spending about two hours here, to see the Dutch Masters, but first, we found that that part of the collection (which includes works from the currently closed Mauritshuis Museum) was so fascinating that it took us nearly two hours to get through it (with the free audio guides, which really added to the experience). Then, we kept finding other treasures, from the Hague School (19th century) to a lovely exhibit on Delft china (featuring an amazing doll house), to several short-term exhibits. We finally left, simply because we could no longer stand, after nearly 4 1/2 hours! This is an absolute "must see" for anyone interested in art!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy_from_Broomall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zutphen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
135 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Always suprising”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

A wonderful afternoon out, great cafe/garden, always new encouters and the wonderful oldies like Mondriaan. Nextdoor is Museon, which is even better for kids, and the Omniversum, so the combination can be a great whole day out! I think the architecture of the building itself is also one of its great assets.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank diederika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Mixed bunch”
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

We went for the Chanel expo which was decent but lacked surprise I found. Expected more of it. An expo on anatomy makes you think : why? Kinda scary actually, my daughter did not like it, and can't blame her, I looked away from a dead baby as well. The best of the Mauritshuis was great. Entrence price of 14,50 is really on the steep side! The building is by famous architect Berlage but somehow it reminds me more of an old swimming pool, not a fan. All in all, good for The Hague but there is better to be found in other cities.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank LivefromAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
84 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“exhibits by famous painters”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

There is a different collection each time we go to the Gemeente Museum.... when we were there it featured the works of famous Russian artist Kandinsky and some works from famous impressionists like Monet and some modern artists. There was also an exhibit of Delft blue and white porcelain. While it is smaller than the museums in Amsterdam, still worth visiting including the Escher museum downtown.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paulette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gemeentemuseum Den Haag also viewed

The Hague, South Holland Province
 
The Hague, South Holland Province
The Hague, South Holland Province
 

Been to Gemeentemuseum Den Haag? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing