We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“brilliant!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Louwman Museum The Hague

Louwman Museum The Hague
Book In Advance
More Info
$43.96*
and up
Skip the Line: The Hague and Holland Pass
Ranked #2 of 167 things to do in The Hague
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Louwman Museum is home to the world's oldest private collection of motor cars, compiled by two generations of the Louwman family. The museum dates back to 1934 and now comprises over two hundred and fifty antique and classic motor cars. Experts regard the collection as one of the most beautiful in the World. The museum exudes passion. Each car has its own story to tell, its own contribution to history. The motor car is a mirror of culture. The collection is housed in a purpose-built museum in The Hague, the city where P.W. Louwman established his Dodge and Chrysler import company. The building, designed by American architect Michael Graves, blends in sympathetically with its historic surroundings. The landscape gardens, designed by Lodewijk Baljon, complement the architecture of the building.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“brilliant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

Wet and cold Sunday in the Hague. What to do?. Probably the best museum I have ever been to....and I'm not particularly interested in cars

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Doogall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    853
    308
    33
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wow, Just Wow!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

Even though I am not exactly a car enthusiast, word of mouth took me to this museum and I am more than glad I went. What an absolutely stunning collection of cars!! Most museums hold my attention for an hour at most, but after three hours of walking around, I had to be reminded that the museum would close and that it was time to depart. Luckily, by then i had just about made my rounds, but i will definitely be going back in the future. The stories behind the cars were almost as interesting as the cars themselves, but with over 250 cars on display, each with their own history, there was only enough time to read the stories of a handful of the cars. I will have to go back one day as there is so much more to discover.
A word of advice. The museum is located in a suburb of The Hague, and you will not pass it accidentally so you will have to plan in advance. Also make sure though you plan enough time as the museum is huge. But it is most definitely most worth your time and adventure. Having enjoyed it as much as i did, i can only imagine the delight that must be felt my real car enthusiasts.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
272 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“If you like cars, go here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Never ever have we seen a museum as nice as this, the whole building and the collection was done with taste, also there are a good bunch of old gaspumps :)

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DiabloDesigns v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

This is an incredible collection of classic cars ( almost 300) with the addition of some wonderful collections of toys, porcelain, silver, glass, spare parts and motor vehicle memorabilia - it's almost too much to just see and appreciate all the cars, without really looking at the rest - we definitely need to return again for another visit. It's also hard to explain what a great museum the Louwman collection is - from the location to the building itself and the decor of the rooms where the cars are displayed. A great deal of thought has gone into the ambiance created in every room and the write up ( in Dutch and English) about almost every motor vehicle is really comprehensive and detailed.
If you just want to enjoy seeing the cars then you could walk around in a couple of hours, but to really read about all the displays, it would take at least a couple of visits. If you know about motor cars then you will appreciate that some of them are almost unique and worth a fortune, others have had famous owners which adds to the interest. Finally it is really interesting to compare the styles and the history of the motor car by comparing the examples from different countries, particularly the US and Europe but also within Europe itself.
The security is minimal and yet the displays are so valuable - it's like being allowed to just wander around an incredible private collection. OK the cars are roped off so visitors can't touch but you can get really close and take as many photos as you like. We can't wait to return for another visit.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Goodfoodlovingred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great experience! Car is art.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

One of the best museums I've seen. Very rich collection of cars and pieces of art in a place extremely rich in details everywhere.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank LuizCurado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Louwman Museum The Hague also viewed

The Hague, South Holland Province
 
The Hague, South Holland Province
The Hague, South Holland Province
 

Been to Louwman Museum The Hague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing