We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it!”

3 Stones Kenyan Restaurant
Reserve with
3 Stones Kenyan Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #71 of 1,232 Restaurants in The Hague
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $38
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Warm Laughter Good Conversation Delicious Kenyan Food The Name 3Stones The African kitchen is traditionally outside or in a separate building apart from the sleeping and living quarters. By far the most traditional and to this day the most common sight in an African kitchen is a large pot filled with meat, vegetables, and spices simmering over a fire. The pot usually sits on 3Stones arranged in a triangle, and the fire slowly consumes three pieces of wood that meet at a point under the pot. Karibu Chakula Enjoy your meal Dinner is served on a large tray to share with friends. This is what makes the 3Stones Kenyan Restaurant such a unique restaurant to dine in. The Restaurateurs We own it, We run it & We Love it! The Restaurateurs 3Stones opened its doors to the public on 15th September 2006 .The restaurant is run and owned by two African ladies, Gigi, from Kenya and Priscillah, from Zambia. Both studied hotel management and have worked in 4 & 5 Star establishments, including various European and African restaurants.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

I really enjoyed this place!! Great food, great African beers, and I felt right at home. African vibe in there, albeit a glam-African vibe. I'll go there again! Oh, and they've done something interesting with the bathroom.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alletta F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    34
    11
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
202 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“special and delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

very lovely locaiton for enjoying a delicious kenian meals.
staff is really lovely, welcoming you and suggesting the best meal for every guest, even though it's quite slow (I would like to think that everything is really cooked once ordered so...that's good waiting for...)
if you're lucky, try the original kenian beer - not all the time available due to "difficult deliveries" but if available, have a try!
Menu is really rich, beef - lam - chicken - veal....I would sugges to go for the menu...it's something about 31 euros with all the different special meals to try.
It's really nice, especially if you're going there with friends, to share food of the menu
Prices are not really cheap, actually...but anyway it's a real place to enjoy

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank backpacker_f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food, good atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

I was introduced to this restaurant by my wife. We regularly return and also introduce friends. Easy going relaxed atmosphere, don't go if you're short of time. Service very friendly.
Food is excellent, very much the Kenyan coastal cuisine. Would recommend the ' big five' to give a good cross section for next time you go.
Occasionally they get Tusker (Kenyan brewed beer) to enhance the Kenyan experience.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RovingCelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston Bagpuize, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“African hospitality, African home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

My first and definitely not last visit to this tiny Kenyan restaurant. Serving traditional Kenyan dishes (which of course has been largely influenced by those that established trade routes along the East coast of Africa, and this contains a lot of spicy foods resembling Indian dishes).
On the night I was there, they ran out of 1) Castle Lager (a South African beer); 2) Sprite. Somehow this made the place more African and more endearing.
Staff's smiles and warm welcome, happy faces an absolute bonus!
I'll be visiting here regularly.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HarryLoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Try it. You'll like it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

Excellent food, good variety, different. Very nice ambiance, great staff. It's African food that I never knew existed- from East Africa, influenced by India and trading routes to exotic lands. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank DSHuete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 3 Stones Kenyan Restaurant also viewed

The Hague, South Holland Province
The Hague, South Holland Province
 
The Hague, South Holland Province
The Hague, South Holland Province
 

Been to 3 Stones Kenyan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing