We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting meal”

Indonesisch Restaurant Garoeda
Reserve with
Indonesisch Restaurant Garoeda is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #156 of 1,232 Restaurants in The Hague
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Voorhout
Dallas
Level Contributor
102 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Interesting meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

We ordered one of the menus with several entrees. We really liked the spicy beef dish, but the rest of the items were marginal. I would have liked more vegetable/salad dishes as part of the menu. It was a very expensive meal, and service was marginal, but that's typical in Dutch restaurants.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LakeHighlandsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    120
    70
    47
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oegstgeest, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
289 reviews
278 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Historical Indonesian restaurant, highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

This is one of the historical Duch-Indonesian restaurants that serve classical colonial Indonesian rice tables. It always reminds me of the Indonesia rice tables we had in classy Indonesian restaurants when I was a kid. If you are with many people good to share the special Garoeda rice table that has a overwhelming number of dishes some of them specialties of this restaurant. It is advicable to order rice table for less people than indicated, e.g. a rice table Garoeda for three when visting with six people and take some extra side dishes. My favourites are the mussels and mackarel, prepared in the classical Dutch-Indonesian style. Not to be compared with the Indonesian food like currently served in Indonesia, but with the old fashioned colonial style from the fourties. A very bussy restaurant, probably it has been visited by every self-respecting parliament member, we have spotted a few ourselves, so reservation required. The ambiance on the ground floor is the best, but that is usually fully booked.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Herman S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great service, Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

We had a great experience there. The Rijstafel was excellent and more than my wife and I could finish. The waiter was great with our five year old--after he saw her turn up her nose at the baked chicken that we ordered as being too spicy, he ordered chicken satay without sauce for her (at no charge)...except the kitchen sent up two skewers with peanut sauce on them. He didn't hesitate and took them back and moments later reappeared with two fresh skewers with no sauce on them.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sitroomlarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Classy Indonesian restaurant with average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

We were looking for real Indonesian food and this restaurant was recommended by our hotel. The restaurant was very busy with many reserved tables: a good sign we taught. The location is prima with a nice view on the surrounding street. The service is friendly and charming.
I wanted to give my husband on his birthday a special treat and we ordered the more expensive "rice tafel". The food was plenty and just OK. We expected freshly prepared refined courses but received dry reheated meat dishes that were very sweat. The mussels were rubbery and chewy. All vegetables were overcooked and four of the vegetables dishes contained green beans.
As we have been living for many years in Asia, we were really disappointed with the quality of the food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awful”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

I came here with my team this week to experience some Indonesian food in The Hague. The building is lovely, but that is all. The food was utterly disappointing - cold and sloppy and not even that cheap. The worst part was that they use vegetables from a tin...in a restaurant!! We asked for an Indonesian drink or dessert at the end and were told they didn't have any. Indeed, the service in general, although fast, was lacklustre. My team travels to The Hague for work often and we have been to some excellent restaurants. This is not one of them and we will not be coming back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Niamah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indonesisch Restaurant Garoeda also viewed

The Hague, South Holland Province
The Hague, South Holland Province
 
The Hague, South Holland Province
The Hague, South Holland Province
 

Been to Indonesisch Restaurant Garoeda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing