We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Some of the dishes were excellent, but some below expectations”

Indonesisch Restaurant Garoeda
Reserve with
Indonesisch Restaurant Garoeda is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #156 of 1,232 Restaurants in The Hague
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Voorhout
Arlon, Belgium
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Some of the dishes were excellent, but some below expectations”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Quiet atmosphere, beautiful building with very large windows. We were 4 and took a "rijsttafel". Service was quick and correct. From the approximately 10 different dishes we got, 2/3 was good to excellent (especially the saté with peanut sauce was excellent), but 1/3 was rather poor. Maybe we did not make the right menu choice? Next time we should maybe try a rijsttafel with more different dishes.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ElsB588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    120
    70
    47
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Den Haag
Level Contributor
87 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Delicious and a great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Been eating there of and on over the years. The atmosphere is wonderful. The food is very good. The service enjoyable. Writing this I decided that it is high time for me to go there again. It has been to long. This is one of the two best restaurants in its sort in The Hague.

Helpful?
Thank Fir S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
134 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Ethnic cuisine with a twist”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Garoeda has been serving Indonesian cuisine for more than 50 years. We had the complete Rijsttafel (ricetable) which is excellent for sharing in a larger group and expresses the spirit of 'garoeda' which means happiness and friendship. I would recommend Garoeda for a good night out in The Hague.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank HallyHoHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Incredible food. Good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

A group of 12 ate here. Admittedly we were going to eat at the indonesian restaurant next door but they couldn't accomodate us. Just as well as we thoroughly enjoyed our dinner. We all ordered the set menu. It was a ton of food (and a tad pricey). But the taste and flavors were fantastic. Service was quick and efficient. Waiters were friendly. I recommend it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FunWithDaFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Yummy rijstafel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

I don't know where all the negative reviews are coming from, because I thought it was super. I was in a group of about 12 people that included 4 actual Indonesians and we all loved it. I love the atmosphere and the rijstafel. The spicy egg, the dried ground coconut was really outstanding, and the chicken and beef satay were both amazing. The vegetarian coconut and lemongrass was also really nice - mild in the face of all the spice, but nice. There was also a cooling pickled cucumber dish which I really liked as well - the marinade was just nice. In fact the only thing I didn't like was not because of the restaurant but because I'm not a fan of brisket, ever, anywhere. They did have where you could choose whether you wanted a menu that included pork or was pork free, which is a nice touch given that it's an Indonesian restaurant in the Hague! The fried banana and the Indonesian cake were superb as well.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank philsdottir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indonesisch Restaurant Garoeda also viewed

The Hague, South Holland Province
The Hague, South Holland Province
 
The Hague, South Holland Province
The Hague, South Holland Province
 

Been to Indonesisch Restaurant Garoeda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing