We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only if you have to”
Review of Jorplace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jorplace
Ranked #40 of 68 Hotels in The Hague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 28, 2013

The rooms have triple bunk beds, which are really uncomfortable. The whole vibe of the place wasn't very friendly or welcoming. The bathrooms were really filthy, especially the showers (you couldn't go in there without wearing a pair of sandals). The receptionist was friendly enough but that was about it, we were kept up till all hours by drunken yelling till about 4am, but if you went down there, you weren't really welcome... I don't know, it's okay if you just want to spend a few days at the beach with some friends (which is what we did) but don't bother going alone, or for a long period of time, it's too uncomfortable. It is also pretty pricey.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (269)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 269 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2013

Located 5 min from the beach, has a super market and tram stop on its door step... what more could you ask for! The rooms are clean and kitchen facilities are top notch. The best part of hostel is definitely the atmosphere!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flynavy110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrissy B, Manager at Jorplace, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Hi there,

Thanks for your lovely review :) We appreciate that very much.

See you soon!

All the best:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I was working there for a month and all i can say is this is the best place for backpackers! During a long travel all you need is a nice place to stay with clean rooms, friendly crew, and delicious breakfast. I bet you are going to enjoy your time at Jorplace! It has such a nice atmosphere that after a few days it is going to be hard to leave!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annuskad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Jorplace is 3 mins to the beach and 15mins to the centre. The hostel was clean and staff were excellent. I stayed for 3 nights an enjoyed it immensely! The hostel has a cool layout with nice chill out area. Would recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Watamg42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Great location, great breakfast and great price/value for the bedrooms!
There is a great lounge area with a bar,a fireplace and different games as pool table, darts chess and many more..
You can hire longboard to cruise around the boulevard and they give you helmets as well!
Me and my friends loved it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

jorplace beach hostel is a colorful cool hostel centrally located in scheveningen, right next to it you'll have a supermarket and around the corner you'll find the tram station. it's also just a short walk to the beach.. the hang out area in the hostel is really nice and interesting with some artwork to discover! that all goes well with the relaxed atmosphere. the staff is very friendly... you can tell they are trying to make your stay as pleasant as possible good job, Jorplace

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luu222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Jorplace has a prefect location only 2 minute walk from the beautiful sandy beach. It has a supermarket less than a minutes walk away and good cooking facilities so you have everything you need. The interior of the hostel was really brilliant and the staff were nice. The only two things I would say is the WiFi didn't work half the time and on the odd occasion it did it was so slow only one webpage would load before it crashed again. Also if you are looking to rent a bike DONT do it through the hostel, its was expensive at 10 euro for 24hrs, and the bikes are really bad quality had to stop numerous times as the chain repeatedly came off, which also meant there were no brakes as the bikes are foot brake bikes.
All in all I would definitely stay here again and recommend this hostel to anyone looking for a relaxed get away.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kate3793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these The Hague hotels
Voorhout
easyHotel Den Haag City Centre
Hotel Mimosa
#6 of 24 in Scheveningen
203 reviews
The Student Hotel The Hague
#11 of 68 in The Hague
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Hague Teleport Hotel
#24 of 68 in The Hague
181 reviews
Patten Hotel
#58 of 68 in The Hague
153 reviews
Andante Hotel
#13 of 24 in Scheveningen
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jorplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jorplace

Address: Keizerstraat 296 | 2584 BN, 2584 BN, The Hague, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > The Hague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 68 Hotels in The Hague
Price Range: $51 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Jorplace 2*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Searching an affordable & relax place to stay in Scheveningen? Welcome at the first & only Beach Hostel in Scheveningen, Jorplace! We offer beds from € 11,- p.P.P.N. Jorplace offers more than just a bed: Eat, Drink, Sleep & Fun! Fully equipped and no time to get bored! We offer private 2-persons room up to 24-persons bunk rooms. We are located just a 2 minute walk from the beach in a street with a loads of shops and bars & restaurants. We also have our own bar inside the hostel, a professional kitchen, a lounge, a garden with fireplace to relax and a kitchen to make your own food and great staff to answer all your questions! Looking for something to do? We can help you with kitesurfing/surfing/SUP lessons, yoga, longboarding etc! So what are you waiting for... See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Jorplace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing