We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Patten Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Patten Hotel
Ranked #56 of 67 Hotels in The Hague
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
217 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

I booked this hotel through booking.com and the pictures the hotel gave were nothing in comparison to when we got there. The rooms are on top of the restaurant so the hallways always smell a little like food.
The beds and pillows were comfortable and the towels were really nice. The staff was warm and friendly.
Breakfast was basic, which is fine. They will make you eggs to your liking. Cereal, bread, yogurts and meat and cheese.
Free Wifi in the rooms was nice.
That being said, I had no side table beside my side of the bed. You could see where one used to be by the indent on the carpet. The drapes were not all hooked onto the ceiling. The faucet leaked and there were water stains on the ceiling. Someone also left cheese on the outside deck from their last stay.
So yes this hotel was very inexpensive for the area, and it has a great location. So if you can overlook some of the flaws, it is fine.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Kara79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    44
    24
    23
    17
See reviews for
12
56
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

Very good location,This hotel is in the Chinatown, bur very downtown close of everything by walking distance The room are very clean and enough large with a king bed.
The breakfast is huge. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AudetR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

This is a three star hotel and so expect that standard of facilities. Having said that, it is comfortable and clean, the room was nicely kept, roomy and warm. You have total control of the temperature in the room. The room was also quiet with a modern bathroom and good shower. The hotel is located close to the Centrum, Den Haag and within very easy reach of the town centre attractions, shopping and transport. It is on the edge of China Town which is I think good. Further in gives the impression of being a bit seedy but we had nor saw any problems. I would stay here again and used it as a base for my visit, which was for work purposes, albeit at my own expense. The in-house restaurant was good value and good Chinese food.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thirsk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

This is a small Chinatown hotel in a very convenient location for all the sites and shopping in The Hague. THe rooms are clean, the staff friendly and helpful. I didn't try the restaurant but the breakfasts are fine. The prices are very fair (c.70 euros for a double room on Saturday, c. 45 euros for the Sunday) and it is only a short walk from the railway station. Highly recommended

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Really, this is more a restaurant (an excellent one) with hotel rooms above. The rooms are smallish but adequate. Not beautiful and not ugly. The location, however, is excellent, in easy walking distance from both train station and the historic center. Inexpensive, but I'll go somewhere nicer next time I'm in The Hague.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank constanttraveller50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

I find the Golden ship hotel a nice hotel. Stayed here for about a week.
Its located in a small china town close to the city centre of den haag.
A train station - Holland spoor- is just a 10mins walk from the hotel.
Helpful staff, great breakfast and ok rooms.

It was a business trip, so i didnt see much more than stated.
Before i forget, It also has a chinese restuarant in the main hall.

I find it ok for a business trip but not sure i will want to stay there on a vacation.
I am always paranoid working that long street from the station to the hotel in the late evening - a lot of young lads/boys hang around.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tbs4real
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jablonec nad Nisou, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

I was positively suprised by this hotel. Small, but quite well located. Very nice room, all in "chinese style". Staff on the reception is very helpful. No possibility of parking though.
The location is nice, closely to one of the channels where you can rent a boat, with loads of chinese, indonesian and other bistros.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pavla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these The Hague hotels
Voorhout
easyHotel Den Haag City Centre
The Student Hotel The Hague
#11 of 67 in The Hague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Ibis Den Haag City Centre
#13 of 67 in The Hague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parkhotel Den Haag
#12 of 67 in The Hague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Zuidwal
Hotel Novotel Den Haag City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patten Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patten Hotel

Property: Patten Hotel
Address: Wagenstraat 127-129 | Chinatown, 2512 AT, The Hague, The Netherlands (Formerly Golden Ship Hotel)
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > The Hague
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 67 Hotels in The Hague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Patten Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new hotel in The Hague, we are now rennovating the hotel and adding 18 rooms to our 20 existing rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Patten Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing