We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very Italian food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lux

Lux
Ranked #219 of 889 Restaurants in Rotterdam
Price range: $0 - $73
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Italian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I went to Lux restaurant to give a try before to plan a business dinner with some client.

I was impressed from the food quality, it is really incredible.

You can Dinner in the back, where a garden will be a frame of your experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tangibleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    14
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
NL
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A marvelous neighborhood down-to-earth sophisticated dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I have come to Lux so many times. Its only fair to drop a review.
What to say? I like to come here on Friday nights and I know I'm going to have a really good meal with really good wine with my husband or friends and we will chat the night away (yes, we are some of those who leave the last). The menu changes frequently and it has always surprised me.
Excellent service and atmosphere. For the quality of the food its very good value for money. Not cheap but not expensive either. Writing the review makes me want to go back. Yum yum.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank underwatergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I really wasn't sure what to expect from Lux but having dined there recently, I can only recommend the place! The restaurant is light and airy, with a beautiful outside seating option in the summer. My partner ordered the octopus and ginger risotto for starters and we shared some antipasti whilst waiting for it to be freshly prepared. Antipasti were excellent, it's difficult to only choose 7 from the wonderful selection of homemade dishes! Main courses were equally delicious, simply prepared with high quality ingredients. Service was kind and thoughtful and we thought the meal was really good value for the quality of the food. We will definitely be going back...

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CranberryFizzOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monster, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
256 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great Italian food !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

After a new owner (the chef) took it over, part of the old restaurant was closed, the tables were put further away from each other and the result is an even better place to go for dinner. What stayed was the great food and great service and now with more space and less packed it is great !

Nice choice of starters with a cart full of fresh antipasti to choose from (4 or 7 choices on a plate) and also other starters you can choose from. Everyday fresh fish with the fish of the day and with great desserts this is definitely one of the better Italian restaurants in the area.

Great service from the very friendly lady who is in charge of in the dining area. Excellent knowledge of the food, great pairing with the wine (we had a beautiful Primitivo, to die for....) and last but not least a very friendly bill, we paid little bit over 200 euro with 5 persons with a bottle of red wine, 2 bottles of sparkling water and most of us had dessert as well, no coffee however.

No complaints here, great place, parking is not always easy and the neighbourhood is not the most beautiful there is, but that is the only thing against. Cannot go wrong here.....

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aliceesjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
153 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This restaurant i can really recomend, food is great, atmosphere is great and the service is super. However be aware teh maincourses are without any side disches, thsi you have to order separately. Value for money is very good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kirienesral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lux also viewed

Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 

Been to Lux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing