We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like Belgian beer ...”

Belgisch Biercafe Boudewijn
Ranked #214 of 1,028 Restaurants in Rotterdam
Price range: $15 - $31
Cuisines: Belgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Buffet, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Oude Westen
Linz, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
624 reviews
310 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
“If you like Belgian beer ...”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

... then that's the place for you. Unfortunately, I don't like Belgian beer, so I had to stick to the whisk(e)ys, and the selection was not really great.
But I suppose for lovers of that Belgian stuff it is a great place. Very nice waitress.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honguito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    31
    13
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Dirty bar and people didn't want to work”
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

We went to this bar on a Tuesday night. It was quiet, but took some time before they helped us. When we ordered a Belgian beer, they didn't have the first 2 beers we wanted. When we got our beers the glasses were dirty.
People working there were not interested at all. They didn't say anything, checked their phones and after paying the bill (off course without tip) they didn't even had the power to say 'thank you' or 'good bye'

Helpful?
4 Thank Mephistofiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich, Zwitserland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“'n Biertje!”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Boudewijn is a genuine Belgium Beer pub with a restaurant. It is located just outside of the true city center, conveniently located on the long road of Nieuwe Binnenweg. There is a terrace in front, during summertime you can eat in the garden behind. The restaurant on the inside is up the stairs.

In this pub you can't just order a beer; there are simply too many! First choice: draft or bottle. On draft:seasonal or not? I just love to try out the various, mainly Belgium, beers! This treasure hunt gives so much satisfaction.

Up to the restaurant. In a causy athmosphere they serve nice appetisers (like garnalen kroketten), a reasonable number of main courses and deserts. On top there is a "daghap" and a "chefhap" - daily menus for 10 to 15 euro. You will have your dishes accompagnied by the same choice of beers as in the pub.

I tend to agree that service in the restaurant sometimes might be slow. I find that happening during July/August. It seems recurring. Is this the holiday period of the cook? During the other months I was always served quickly.
Tip: if you have to make it to the nearby cinema or theatre let them know the times in advance. In my experience they are more than happy to make adjustments or give advice on cooking time of the various dishes!

Proost!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaumentester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algiers, Algeria
Level 6 Contributor
346 reviews
252 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Jolly good spot in central Rotterdam (or Rotherdam as the BBC named it)”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Came here after a rained out day at the cricket. Peaceful and brown (lots of Morse-isms). Food a bit steep but I believe my burger - which was good and I would have again - is what is known as a Craft Burger. Must be at least 100 beers on the blackboard - and you can't ask Dave the barman to direct you to said blackboard cos all konobari are gels.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Flattered to be Belgian in here”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I should not have been there, since I am a Belgian myself. However, heedlessly neglecting this first traveller's principle, I must admit: great place.
The beers are brilliant. (Or what did you expect?) The decoration of the place is very cosy. May feel a little more like a British pub, but definitely ideal on so many occasions. (Ours was rainy, tired, hungry, christmassy, ... you got the picture)
A good Belgian beer comes with some great Belgian cheese. (some of the Dutch kinds would definitely do too) Here, the rating misses the last excelling dot. Throw in some tiny changes to the food side of the bar...

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bLueDinosaurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Belgisch Biercafe Boudewijn also viewed

Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 

Been to Belgisch Biercafe Boudewijn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing