We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“top restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant Parkheuvel

Restaurant Parkheuvel
Reserve with
Restaurant Parkheuvel is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #32 of 990 Restaurants in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $62 - $151
Cuisines: Dutch, French, European, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Nieuwe Werk
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“top restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Excellent in every way.

Just as expected. I loved the food and wine pairing.
Great champagne and bites to start with. And I could not resist to end with some great cognac. To bad the evening had to end sometime.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JdeWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    41
    23
    9
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best one in rotterdam hands down.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Look, the price will be high. But in terms of food,service and prestige there is nothing that compares to it in rotterdam even in the netherlands it hard to beat this restaurant. I really recommend it for very special occasions i came here for my 20th birthday. Had the chef's 5 course menu was amazing.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank luisjavierhd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very good.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

The reception was very friendly although we were 40 minutes late. It was a warm day and we had lunch on the terrace - overlooking the river 'Maas'. We chose the 3-course menu. The food was very good ant the portions generous.
If in the area again, we would come back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MoniqueVG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“impecable, but missing the Wow factor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

A two-star Michelin restaurant needs to have a few qualities which set it apart from all others:
- Ingredients: 10/10 flawless quality and preperation
- presentation/creativity: 7/10 pretty safe, no surprises/innovation here
- atmosphere 7/10 large tables and lots of room inbetween tables. Decor is neutral and 'safe'. On the positive side this gives you good opportunity for quiet conversation with your table partner, on the other hand there is no contact whatsoever with the other diners, for example to share your enthousiasm about the dishes
- service 9/10 as with many of these restaurants, you have too many people at your table (one to seat you, one to welcome you, one for the water, one for the wines, one for the bread, one for the.... etc.) All where technically good, but it lacks the personal attention factor
- wine (list) 10/10 on this occasion: interesting choices, not all really expensive wines but selected on the fit with the dish. Another good thing was that my wife, who was driving, got a sip to taste of every wine served at no extra cost.

So now for the intangible part... for a two star Michelin restaurant, we did not walk out with the Wow-look on our faces. In fact, after the meal, we asked ourselves: would we rather return here, or at a nearby 1-star restaurant we ate a month earlier. We both chose the nearby 1-star for the creativity and the ' buzz'.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dibaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Expensive but good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Some time ago I had dinner here with 12 friends of me. We were put aside in a private room with our private personnel because as a group, we would probably be louder than the average guest. All in all this was very nice, because as a group we didn't have to care for our volume and we were able to have a great time together.

Our servant was great, adjusting to the level of his public! As main course we had deer which was excellent. Also the choices of wine were excellent.

The price is among the most expensive in the Netherlands, as we had to pay around 3000 in total for 13 people all eating the same dish.

Nevertheless, for a special night, this restaurant is a big recommendation!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SanderMonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Parkheuvel also viewed

Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant Parkheuvel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing