We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic Chinese” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tai Wu

Tai Wu
Ranked #126 of 990 Restaurants in Rotterdam
Price range: $22 - $36
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Cool
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
184 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Authentic Chinese”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

First walking into the restaurant there are koi ponds in the floor, it was in need of a good cleaning and could have nicer but I get the effect they were going for. Inside the restaurant it was typical chinese decor. The food was great and large portions , enough for sharing so keep that in mind when ordering.The restaurant was large and had a crowd. A few things were put offs though. Upon entering the Manager asked if we needed to pay in cash because the credit card machine was broken. The water we ordered to drink came in a small glass and was chilled so we assumed it was tap, They charged us 8.00 for 4 small glasses of water. For Europe the food was good and convenient to the metro.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jbh3ah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    90
    23
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
77 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Hadn't been to this restaurant for years and thought I would try it again. It is a very large typically furnished Chinese restaurant. The food was very mediocre and there are better Chinese restaurants nearby. The place was grubby and the toilets should be avoided. Service was cold and unwelcoming although it was busy. Disappointing.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Average chinese food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Great looking restaurant. Big enough for the tour bus crowd. Was expensive compared to other
restaurants with similar food. If you like decor glitz and very large portions, this maybe for you.
1 dish easily serves 2. Quite a few locals... it was a Saturday night. Next time I will look elsewhere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank luassudipal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
440 reviews
308 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
“Very nice dimsums”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

We lived 6 years in Asia, out of which 3 years in China. So we have very high expectations of chinese food and mainly dimsums. All we had here for lunch was dimsums and they were very good. Not the best we have ever eaten, but the best we have had so far in Europe. The prices also very reasonable around 4-5 EUR per portion, including 3-4 dumplings. For two of us with jasmin tea and egg tarts we paid 30 EUR. Absolutely worth the money! Service was pleasant and fast.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dafne07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
312 reviews
296 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“Authentic Chinese cuisine”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Tai Wu is one of the most popular restaurants in the small Chinatown of Rotterdam. It is known for its uncompromising Chinese food, mainly Asian clientele, hurried service and questionable hygiene. In short: this is a piece of 'zhong guo' in the Netherlands.

The rice sticks with beef was not bad, but a bit bland, whereas the overcooked Chinese vegetables were drenched in garlic (MSG) sauce. The three dim sums that we had were all very tasty, although the dumpling with shrimp was not much shrimp and too much dough.

40 Euro for this meal for three persons including tea was, of course, very reasonable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Venneper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tai Wu also viewed

Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 

Been to Tai Wu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing