We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good dim sum” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Asian Glories

Asian Glories
Ranked #43 of 990 Restaurants in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Stadsdriehoek
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
205 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good dim sum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Went here for lunch with a friend on a Sunday, there weren't many people. We ordered the dim sum menu. All of the dim sum is home made and they look fantastic. I don't eat a lot of meat (only chicken and fish) and the staff was very accomodating to that, me and my friend sometimes got served different items. They serve the dim sum in courses and it was very filling. Of one of the dim sum (filled with chicken) we wondered if it was cooked enough, because it was a bit pinkish inside, but otherwise everything was really good. It was a bit of a cold day, so we chose to sit in the back and after asking, the waitress closed one of the doors for us (because there was a draft). The place is a bit expesnive and not your everyday Chinese restaurant, but for a special occasion it's a nice option. I guess during weekdays, it would also be a good option for business lunches.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Beriha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    68
    25
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Expensive for Chinese”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We went here thinking, "Oh top spot on trip advisor". Had no idea how much the menu was but wow. €50 for 1 entree, 1main, 1 side. Nice enough food. Little on the salty side but that's probably for the local palette. Service was average not exceptional. And it's Chinese food. I am Chinese myself and felt I was ripped off. Note to self, Despite what TripAdvisor reviews say. Only eat Asian food in Asia.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fongolicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Love the peking-duck-pancakes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

We have been here several times and always a wonderful evening. Service is excellent and the food as well. Jenny is lovely and very helpfull!
We always order the scallops...love it....the pancakes....love it.....salt-pepper cicken...sweet-chicken...love it......and some other dishes to trie, let Jenny surprise you. You won't be dissapointed!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wenbrug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Top Asian, all around great.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

I have to give them an excellent. I've been here 4 or 5 times. Was the first restaurant i ever went to when i move to rotterdam. You wont be disappointed it is the best asian restaurant, even though it's specialization is chinese food. If you are a vegetarian I'm telling you this is a must.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank luisjavierhd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
199 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Not consistent enough”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

I have enjoyed several meals in Asian Glories, known to locals as one of the best Chinese restaurants in Rotterdam. It will be crowded, a reservation is recommended.

First, your table. Get a table at ground floor, the basement area isn't just that.

I have had great experiences here, but their quality of food and services vary strongly.
I would not recommend the Dim Sum menu, it's a lot of the same, and too much fried food.
The surprise menu is pretty good, but not outstanding as some write.
The staff don't know their wines.
Service varies from rude to good.

Location of Asian Glories is opposite of the V&D garage, look for the small sign.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FASttRaveller77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asian Glories also viewed

Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 

Been to Asian Glories? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing