We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice hotel if you have a car” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bastion Hotel Rotterdam Alexander

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bastion Hotel Rotterdam Alexander
Ranked #32 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel if you have a car”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

This hotels has a very good quality/price ratio.
The food is average, there are better places in Rotterdam for your dinner.
The breakfast is ok, not generous but enough.
The rooms are great, clean, air-co, nice bathroom.
So, not luxurious but surely enough.
The only drawback is no public transport and far away from Rotterdam.

Room Tip: Ask for third floor or higher, first and second are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pe0mot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Rotterdam Alexander, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Google Translation
Geachte gast,

Hartelijk dank voor uw opmerkingen die u heeft geschreven op Tripadvisor. Dergelijke opmerkingen steunen mij en mijn collega’s in het geven van een goede service aan onze gewaardeerde gasten. Wij trachten altijd de verwachtingen te overtreffen van onze gast.

Ik hoop u in de toekomst wederom te mogen begroeten bij Bastion Hotelgroep.

Met vriendelijke groeten,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    59
    39
    15
    6
See reviews for
13
46
13
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton
Level Contributor
146 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stayed here for one big after attending a conference. Rooms were large and clean however some of my collegues were complaining that their windows were not opening but I had no issue so this as mine was ok. I did have a problem with a flooded bathroom when. Had a shower as the drain was blocked but as it was so late I did not call housekeeping for a fix.
Free wifi was also included as well as a breakfast so this was an added bonus however I did thi k that the rate was quite high but it may have been due to the conference.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mooer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Rotterdam Alexander, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you left on Tripadvisor. We try to meet the expectations of our guests and I believe we did achieve this.

I hope to meet you again in one of our hotels.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense, Denmark
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Very standard. Ok rooms clean and good bed. Breakfast was better than standard. All in All Value for money.hotel is a little fare from centrum. easy check in and check out. Free parking just outside the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Rotterdam Alexander, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you left on Tripadvisor. We try to meet the expectations of our guests and I believe we did achieve this.

I hope to meet you again at our hotel in Rotterdam.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uithoorn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
136 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

The Bastion on this location is a 'deluxe' which is expressed in better rooms than the other Bastions. Rooms are rather small, but good, bathrooms are good, and although the hotel is next to the highway there is absolutely no traffic noise in the rooms.
The restaurant is average, breakfast is good.
Staff is very friendly and efficient. Parking is in front of the hotel and free. Wifi is free in the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cor v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Rotterdam Alexander, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you left on Tripadvisor. We try to meet the expectations of our guests and I believe we did achieve this.

I hope to meet you again at our hotel in Rotterdam.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Location: about 7 km north of the center. Good and fast road link. Doable by car. GPS: "Hoofdweg 100". Free private, not guarded parking.
Very friendly and obliging staff both on reception and at breakfast and dinner.
Cosy restaurant. Fine dining, level of good brasserie.
In our room: pleasant small lounge and good writing desk. Free wifi of a good quality. Also excellent TV.
Proper hygiene, but hallways and rooms with carpeting. Allergy-unfriendly.
No seating in the lounge since part of it is sacrificed to a smoking area separated by a glass wall. That wall was open too long during breakfast, resulting in cigarette smell in the restaurant / breakfast room.
Breakfast buffet of mediocre quality: delicious breads and croissants, but dried cheese slices. Also scrambled eggs were dry, and moreover almost cold. The same was true for the crispy bacon.
Room 224 was difficult to heat in freezing weather. It remained the fresh side so we could make little use of the lovely seats and the tea and coffee making facilities. At our request an extra duvet was delivered immediately. The bathroom was not heated. It was really cold.
Altogether the quality did not reach the level that one would expect in a four star hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Rotterdam Alexander, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I assure you that I will take appropriate actions in order to improve our services. We regularly train our associates in assuring our perfect service and taking ownership.

I hope you accept my apologies ,

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Campanile Rotterdam Oost
#40 of 52 in Rotterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Bastion Hotel Rotterdam Zuid
#34 of 52 in Rotterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cool
easyHotel Rotterdam City Centre
Hotel Rotterdam
#31 of 52 in Rotterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bastion Hotel Rotterdam Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bastion Hotel Rotterdam Alexander

Property: Bastion Hotel Rotterdam Alexander
Address: Hoofdweg 40, 3067 GH Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bastion Hotel Rotterdam Alexander 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bastion Hotels stands for a personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities for an attractive rate. Bastion Hotel Rotterdam Alexander offers a 24-hour front office, comfortable rooms and an extensive choice of dishes from the a la carte menu in the atmospheric restaurant. Guests are always welcome in the cozy hotel bar or smoking lounge. This lounge contains an LCD television, air-conditioning and relaxing lounge chairs. The hotel also offers a fitness room which guests can use for free, air-conditioning and free wireless internet in the entire hotel. In the lobby the hotel has a computer available, for guests, for free use of the internet. Domestic animals are not allowed. Location / accessibility Bastion Hotel Rotterdam Alexander is a comfortable four star hotel situated along the A20 and A16, near the centre of Rotterdam and a walking distance from the Kralingse Bos. The hotel is ideal for business guests because the hotel is well accessible by car. Only a ten minute drive of the Bastion Deluxe Hotel you will find the world dock and architectural city of Rotterdam. Lovers of nature and water will find the "Kralingse Forest" and the "Kralingse Plas" within walking distance. Rooms The hotel has 105 comfortable deluxe rooms. The deluxe rooms are equipped with a television, a modem, a bureau, a safe, free coffee and tea making facilities and a bathroom with bath, toilet and hairdryer. Food & Beverage The hotel serves breakfast on weekdays from 06:00 to 09:00 and in weekends from 07:00 to 10:30. The hotel has an attractive restaurant with an extensive a la carte menu. The restaurant is open from 11:00 until 23:00 for lunch and dinner. The hotel bar is open until 23.30. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Bastion Hotel Rotterdam Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bastion Terbregseplein Rotterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing