We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Couple stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bastion Hotel Rotterdam Alexander

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bastion Hotel Rotterdam Alexander
Ranked #29 of 53 Hotels in Rotterdam
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    47
    32
    12
    3
See reviews for
9
34
13
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Uithoorn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
133 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The Bastion on this location is a 'deluxe' which is expressed in better rooms than the other Bastions. Rooms are rather small, but good, bathrooms are good, and although the hotel is next to the highway there is absolutely no traffic noise in the rooms.
The restaurant is average, breakfast is good.
Staff is very friendly and efficient. Parking is in front of the hotel and free. Wifi is free in the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cor v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Rotterdam Alexander, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you left on Tripadvisor. We try to meet the expectations of our guests and I believe we did achieve this.

I hope to meet you again at our hotel in Rotterdam.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Location: about 7 km north of the center. Good and fast road link. Doable by car. GPS: "Hoofdweg 100". Free private, not guarded parking.
Very friendly and obliging staff both on reception and at breakfast and dinner.
Cosy restaurant. Fine dining, level of good brasserie.
In our room: pleasant small lounge and good writing desk. Free wifi of a good quality. Also excellent TV.
Proper hygiene, but hallways and rooms with carpeting. Allergy-unfriendly.
No seating in the lounge since part of it is sacrificed to a smoking area separated by a glass wall. That wall was open too long during breakfast, resulting in cigarette smell in the restaurant / breakfast room.
Breakfast buffet of mediocre quality: delicious breads and croissants, but dried cheese slices. Also scrambled eggs were dry, and moreover almost cold. The same was true for the crispy bacon.
Room 224 was difficult to heat in freezing weather. It remained the fresh side so we could make little use of the lovely seats and the tea and coffee making facilities. At our request an extra duvet was delivered immediately. The bathroom was not heated. It was really cold.
Altogether the quality did not reach the level that one would expect in a four star hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Rotterdam Alexander, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I assure you that I will take appropriate actions in order to improve our services. We regularly train our associates in assuring our perfect service and taking ownership.

I hope you accept my apologies ,

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwolle, Holland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I've made the choice for this hotel because it was very busy in Rotterdam.
I did not like it at all.
Because the sleeping was not that great, very noisy and worndown.
And it's a far walk away from public transport.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasperw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Rotterdam Alexander, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I assure you that I will take appropriate actions in order to improve our services. We regularly train our associates in assuring our perfect service and taking ownership.

I hope you accept my apologies ,

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rotterdam hotels

stoke
Level Contributor
82 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Clean and well presented room.
Modern in design with bar and restaurant. Good and varied breakfast although if the hotel is full can be a little cramped.
Staff friendly and helpul and advised of the best areas in town for nightlife and restaurants.

The hotel is quite a way from town and is approximately a 15 minute taxi ride - although the way our taxi driver was driving you would have thought he was on test drive for "touring car" racing championship :-).

Nothing in the area of the hotel by way of bars, cafes or alternate restaurants so its either a ride with "mad max" the taxi driver or staying in for the evening.

Main issue for me was location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikie346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Nice hotel,
+ Clean rooms,
+ free wifi,
+ convenient location next to the major A roads.
+ large parking
- The restaurant is below average and overpriced.
- Far from the center
Recommended for business travelers.

Room Tip: Ask for smoke free. Even numbers for the sunset. Odd numbers for the sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pe0mot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Scotland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

stayed at the hotel for just over a week

rooms were decent, free wifi but couldn't access viber for calls over the net annoying ??
the food was nice but could take a long time to be served.

the staff were friendly and helpful,

a cash machine is a good 15 - 20 minute walk towards town centre.

not even a cash machine in the local small shopping precinct approx 250m
behind the hotel

Ok for business

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pamder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Rotterdam Alexander, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I assure you that I will take appropriate actions in order to improve our services. We regularly train our associates in assuring our perfect service and taking ownership.

I hope you accept my apologies ,

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rotterdam
Bastion Hotel Rotterdam Zuid
#35 of 53 in Rotterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campanile Rotterdam Oost
#39 of 53 in Rotterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 58 reviews
NH Capelle
#1 of 1 in Capelle aan den IJssel
4.0 of 5 stars 361 reviews
Cool
easyHotel Rotterdam City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bastion Hotel Rotterdam Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bastion Hotel Rotterdam Alexander

Property: Bastion Hotel Rotterdam Alexander
Address: Hoofdweg 40, 3067 GH Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bastion Hotel Rotterdam Alexander 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bastion Hotels stands for a personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities for an attractive rate. Bastion Hotel Rotterdam Alexander offers a 24-hour front office, comfortable rooms and an extensive choice of dishes from the a la carte menu in the atmospheric restaurant. Guests are always welcome in the cozy hotel bar or smoking lounge. This lounge contains an LCD television, air-conditioning and relaxing lounge chairs. The hotel also offers a fitness room which guests can use for free, air-conditioning and free wireless internet in the entire hotel. In the lobby the hotel has a computer available, for guests, for free use of the internet. Domestic animals are not allowed. Location / accessibility Bastion Hotel Rotterdam Alexander is a comfortable four star hotel situated along the A20 and A16, near the centre of Rotterdam and a walking distance from the Kralingse Bos. The hotel is ideal for business guests because the hotel is well accessible by car. Only a ten minute drive of the Bastion Deluxe Hotel you will find the world dock and architectural city of Rotterdam. Lovers of nature and water will find the "Kralingse Forest" and the "Kralingse Plas" within walking distance. Rooms The hotel has 105 comfortable deluxe rooms. The deluxe rooms are equipped with a television, a modem, a bureau, a safe, free coffee and tea making facilities and a bathroom with bath, toilet and hairdryer. Food & Beverage The hotel serves breakfast on weekdays from 06:00 to 09:00 and in weekends from 07:00 to 10:30. The hotel has an attractive restaurant with an extensive a la carte menu. The restaurant is open from 11:00 until 23:00 for lunch and dinner. The hotel bar is open until 23.30. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Bastion Hotel Rotterdam Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bastion Terbregseplein Rotterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing