We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than average, but not very good.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bastion Hotel Rotterdam Alexander
Ranked #32 of 53 Hotels in Rotterdam
Reviewed January 31, 2012

As you can not choose between better than average and not very good, I chose average. As the hotel itself is an average 3 star hotel. The hotel is in a business area of Rotterdam and has easy access to the highway. Room was not too big but clean. Breakfast was okay. Hotel seems to be popular with businesspeople. They have rooms where you can smoke (I don't know if that is a salesargument these days). What makes this hotel not the standard average is the staff. The people who work here make it a better experience than just plain average.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DutchyCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Rotterdam Alexander, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you left on Tripadvisor. We try to meet the expectations of our guests. Your opinion is very important to us, I can assure you that the compliments will be forwarded to our hotel staff! For all of the other comments, we will take the necessary actions. I hope to meet you again in one of our hotels
.
With kind regards,
Maik Willems
CEO and Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 207 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2011

Terrible internet - not suitable for work or leisure
Food is bad - pretty expensive and bad
Rooms are clean - the rooms are cleaned everyday
Restaurant is not clean - tables are sticky
Bathrooms are clean - this applies to room and public bathrooms

Tip: don't choose breakfirst for 13.50 euro.

Room Tip: Skip breakfirst and call the hotel for the best price
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kwesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Rotterdam Alexander, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I can assure you that I will take the necesarry appropriate actions in order to improve our services. We regularly train our associates in assuring our perfect service and taking ownership.

I hope you accept my apologies ,

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Owner and CEO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for one night on April 9, 2011, for the Rotterdam Marathon. The hotel is slightly out of the way from the city center, which involves a 15 min. walk to the train station then a 15 min. ride on the train. The hotel staff are helpful and professional. The rooms are extremely clean, and quiet. No freeway noise was heard even though our room faced the freeway. One area of improvement for this hotel would be to offer better and larger bottles of shampoo / shower gel, etc. A fine hotel. No problems here.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sketavong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2009

Clean and well equiped room. Bed not great but good enough. Ample space. The safe did not work. Location is not good. Its a 15 min walk from Alexander station, which is 10min overground train to Centraal Station. Another reviewer says there are no pavements down, this is not correct, but you can walk off the pavement path if you dont look ahead. I believe I was there the same night as this gentlemen, as I overheard that conversation.... I had the meat Lasagne! Like the other meals it was very good and surprisingly well priced. The mini-bar is also not badly priced by other hotel standards.

Breakfast I was unhappy with. As noted by another review, they do not replace the food, in actual fact, the lady stood about while I was putting food in my plate, as soon as I sat down she brought out more, WHY? The staff really are hands off, they buzz about asking if you want anything etc, but in my case I actually like that. I dont even like the usual "is your meal ok/everything to your satisfaction?". Here they let you get on with it, other people would consider that rude i guess.

On the whole I was quite happy, but like every hotel in Rotterdam, its very expensive. A great facility there is free-wifi. Id give this hotel 3.5 stars.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neofytos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2009

1. Breakfast ends at 1030. Arrived at breakfast at 1020. There was hardly no food available. Food was not being refilled. Spoke to Asst. Manager about it. She was very rude, arrogant, not customer friendly. Very negative attitude. Her comments were:
"It's finished, no more food is being put out". She even said: "So, you just don't eat".

2. Room key was defect. Desk personnel was not allowed to issue a new one until the next morning.

Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank rmd2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2008

We booked our stay using the Bastion Group website, and that worked fine - we were expected when we arrived.

The hotel is located just off the Rotterdam Ring (NE corner), on a busy suburban street, Hoofdweg. It is thus easy to access, and it has its own, free, carparking, both above- and under-ground. There are no shops in the immediate vicinity, but the major Oosterhof/Alexandrium shopping centre is about 2km east along Hoofdweg.

The hotel is new, opened in November 2007, so it's pretty much unmarked, as you might expect. That said, there's still some niggling post-contruction details they should attend to (squeaking doors, dusty windows, etc). Our room was of average size, nicely furnished and with two very comfortable beds. There was a fridge and tea/coffee facilities (albeit in very meagre quantity). The room was air conditioned by an effective, silent, system.

Although there are busy roads nearby, the rooms are not just double-glazed, they are double-windowed and this was totally effective against outside noise - very impressive.

The hotel is wi-fi equipped throughout, and this is an internet terminal in the lobby, free for guests.

There is a bar and sizeable restaurant - they looked fine, but I cannot comment further as we did not use them. A 3-course menu was advertised for Eur19.00.

This new, modern, hotel provided comfortable accommodation for us in our required area of Capelle (where, otherwise, hotels are rather few and far between). We would recommend it as such.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Capelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2007

However a very enjoyable experience, a very good price €90 including a great breakfast.
The food is exceptional, and reasonably priced as are the drinks.
The hotel is brand new so obviously clean, and the staff are superb.
This indeed a fine hotel foe business travel!

Stayed: December 2007
2  Thank Earby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Bastion Hotel Rotterdam Zuid
#39 of 53 in Rotterdam
170 reviews
Campanile Rotterdam Oost
#40 of 53 in Rotterdam
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cool
easyHotel Rotterdam City Centre
Novotel Rotterdam Brainpark
#11 of 53 in Rotterdam
981 reviews
Worldhotel Wings
#13 of 53 in Rotterdam
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bastion Hotel Rotterdam Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bastion Hotel Rotterdam Alexander

Address: Hoofdweg 40, 3067 GH Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Rotterdam
Price Range: $73 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bastion Hotel Rotterdam Alexander 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bastion Hotels stands for a personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities for an attractive rate. Bastion Hotel Rotterdam Alexander offers a 24-hour front office, comfortable rooms and an extensive choice of dishes from the a la carte menu in the atmospheric restaurant. Guests are always welcome in the cozy hotel bar or smoking lounge. This lounge contains an LCD television, air-conditioning and relaxing lounge chairs. The hotel also offers a fitness room which guests can use for free, air-conditioning and free wireless internet in the entire hotel. In the lobby the hotel has a computer available, for guests, for free use of the internet. Domestic animals are not allowed. Location / accessibility Bastion Hotel Rotterdam Alexander is a comfortable four star hotel situated along the A20 and A16, near the centre of Rotterdam and a walking distance from the Kralingse Bos. The hotel is ideal for business guests because the hotel is well accessible by car. Only a ten minute drive of the Bastion Deluxe Hotel you will find the world dock and architectural city of Rotterdam. Lovers of nature and water will find the "Kralingse Forest" and the "Kralingse Plas" within walking distance. Rooms The hotel has 105 comfortable deluxe rooms. The deluxe rooms are equipped with a television, a modem, a bureau, a safe, free coffee and tea making facilities and a bathroom with bath, toilet and hairdryer. Food & Beverage The hotel serves breakfast on weekdays from 06:00 to 09:00 and in weekends from 07:00 to 10:30. The hotel has an attractive restaurant with an extensive a la carte menu. The restaurant is open from 11:00 until 23:00 for lunch and dinner. The hotel bar is open until 23.30. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bastion Hotel Rotterdam Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bastion Terbregseplein Rotterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing