We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Communal Spa Schlock”

Thermen Holiday Sauna
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At Thermen Holiday, we ensure that you get a complete rest. Come to Thermen Holiday and experience our world of wellness with extensive sauna, massage and beauty facilities. Thanks to our selection of arrangements and good service, we provide you with a day you will not soon forget!
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
115 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Communal Spa Schlock”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Located in a park location a 5 minute walk from the Prinses Beatrixlaan tram stop (#21 or #23) in Schiedam. Take the trams from your Rotterdam location or the train from Rotterdam Central one stop to Schiedam Central then the trams #21 or #23 to the park. The complex has a number of steam rooms and saunas all with a different theme name, indoor and outdoor pools and jacuzzis. Early in the morning the facility is very clean, but that soon changes as the number of people begin to enter and overflow they facility. The outdoor area is noisy despite attempts to sound dampen as the grounds are surrounded by highways. So it is not very comfortable or relaxing. The grounds are reminiscent of a children's day camp environment. Yes there are communal locker rooms and no bathing suits permitted except on designated days. Most attendees come as couples or with friends. I would consider the facility a social diversion like going to the movies. It is not a grand european spa. I found that 2-3 hours there was enough and beginning to get boring. The restaurant was not patronized but appeared nice, and facility staff were also very nice.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank drjeffh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    36
    18
    9
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Upmarket Butlins Experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

I went for an evening session on one of their swimsuit nights. Relaxation and pampering were non existent. The place was bursting at the seams with men, women and teenagers, it was like being in the middle of Schipol Airport in your bathing suit! The men took over the whole facility with stag night behaviour which included running jumps into the pools accompanied by excessively loud laughing and whooping. Every hot tub was beyond full and not once during our hour long stay did we manage to get even so much as a toe in either of the whirlpools. The temperature of the outdoor pools was tepid at best and full of old men snorting into the water which left a lot to be desired. Most of the saunas were empty or only partially full but there is only so much dry heat a body can take. The steam room was fabulous hot, steamy and mostly empty and the showers were plentiful with free salt scrub. However everywhere was dirty with the changing rooms being the worst and we left within an hour of arriving.

Very disappointed after the big sell on their website and the positive reviews. Please avoid this place if you have experienced great spas outside of NL, the Dutch seem to think a spa is a place to go with family and friends like a group holiday and where possible always bring their children. The idea of a spa being a retreat to get away from everyday life for a few hours has got lost somewhere in translation. If you have to go try the women only days as without the men present I would say the whole evening would have been a different experience.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Two_Thomases
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“some improvements, but still not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Since my last visit I have noticed several improvements: the lady arranging löyly ritual is more professional that previous one, insisting on the total silence during ritual, using more aesthetically correct zinc buckets instead of huge plastic buckets from mayonaise (!). The several hammocks were added to the garden. Cons: the facilities definitely need some renovation. The worst thing is smoking. People smoke everywhere in the garden, next to the entrances to the outdoor saunas, next to outdoor whirpools, on the terasses of all cafes... I think that sauna/thermen/wellness resort (as they declare themselves) have to promote a healthy way of life, how it could be combined with omnipresent cigarette smoke? Would be nice to define specal smoking areas, if not, non-smokers enjoy indoor facilities only.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Bentammi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boblingen, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Relaxing,Great Food, Massage/Pedicure good not great!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

As a first timer with nude facilities (American) the experience was not as traumatizing as I expected...lol. It was quite relaxing, the food was divine! The massage was not the best I've had... my arms were never touched. The pedicure was just okay the clear polish was coming off the same day. Those providing the services were friendly, everyone at this facility were quite accommodating.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank CerissaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Just lovely and relaxing place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

It's my favorite Sauna. Good atmosphere, clean and good range of sauna's; good restaurant.

Helpful?
3 Thank Ellen2614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thermen Holiday Sauna also viewed

Rotterdam, South Holland Province
's Gravendeel, South Holland Province
 
Bleiswijk, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 

Been to Thermen Holiday Sauna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing