We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, efficient, safe, clean, good value”
Review of Hotel Skyline

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Skyline
Ranked #23 of 28 Rotterdam B&B and Inns
Harrow
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Friendly, efficient, safe, clean, good value”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Under 50 Euros a night en-suite (mainly) breakfast optional, but there is the excellent Westerpavilion within a short walk for that. Some nice little touches, free use of internet on PC, TV with BBC1 & safe deposit. At under 50 Euros a night it is good value in an expensive city. Single room are quite small and the way the en-suite facilities have been crammed in is a bit flaky, but it is an ideal base for using to get around as convenient for bus,tram & metro.

Room Tip: Try & get a room round the back, as the road side can be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnClementHarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    5
    1
    7
    12
See reviews for
3
6
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Around the corner from Chinatown it's not smack in the middle of the sights in Rotterdam, but the center of Rotterdam is small and you're never more than 5-15 minutes walk away from anything.

I was greeted by a friendly staff member and given a tour of their restaurant and lounge, looked very nice, but didn't eat there so can't really evaluate that part of the hotel grounds. I'm a non smoker and even though the exterior lounge was for people smoking I didn't smell any smoke, and inside the Hotel def. not.

I was shown my single room which faced the garden. The room was clean, newly furnished and spacious. The shower was big and I slept like a baby in the soft bed. Breakfast was not included and I didn't try that either. I stayed one night and I'd say that's enough time to see most of what Rotterdam has to offer. The WiFi was quick and the place felt safe. No noise intrusion etc. The only thing I reacted negatively to was that they didn't have a luggage room, they offered me to leave it in the lounge without supervision and without any guarantees, I said no thanks and lugged it around for a few hours instead.
Get a luggage room and this place will be close to perfect.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingNormands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

The heater was on (though it's summer) and it was so warm that I had to open the window. But then I couldnt sleep at all because of the really noisy street. A nightmare.

Bathroom is more than basic.

Old stuffs.

I've tested a fwe hostels in Rotterdam but this one is definitely the worst of them.

Go to Hotel Poort which is also basic, same price but so much better

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rotterdam hotels

chicago
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Exceptionally basic. Nowhere in bathroom to plug in a razor or hairdryer (so could not shave ir dry hair next to a mirror). They claim to have free internet but computer was broken both nights we were there. Very pool lighting. Could not read in room in evening plus one of ceiling lights broken. Comfortable very firm beds. Clean. Very steep narrow staircase. Hard to climb with suitcase. Dicey/seedy neighborhood. Were told not to walk s. of hotel at night. Across from hotel was redlight hotel. No hairdryer in room but could borrow one from reception. Plenty of hot water with excellent water pressure. Helpful front desk. Room nicely if basically decorated. Expensive for what it was but that seemed to be a problem in Amsterdam and Haarlem, too.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelholChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Cool
easyHotel Rotterdam City Centre
Oude Westen
Hotel Light
Hotel Light
#3 of 28 in Rotterdam
14 reviews
Cool
Thuis bij Schell
Thuis bij Schell
#17 of 28 in Rotterdam
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Erasmus
#7 of 28 in Rotterdam
35 reviews
Weena House
#18 of 28 in Rotterdam
21 reviews
Hotel Amar
#22 of 28 in Rotterdam
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Skyline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Skyline

Property: Hotel Skyline
Address: 's-Gravendijkwal 70-72, 3014 EG Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam > Oude Westen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Skyline 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Skyline reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing