We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap, cheerful and pleasant.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Stayokay Rotterdam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stayokay Rotterdam
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cheap, cheerful and pleasant.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Along with 3 other friends I was in Rotterdam for New Year. The Stayokay was our choice of stopover. We were travelling on a budget, so a group room in a hostel was ideal. It is well located in Blaak, near the tramline and metro stops with good access to off-street parking.

The hostel as a whole was easily navigable, clean and well presented. The four of us were in a room for 7 so had plenty of room and a fantastic view over the historic harbour next to the hotel and the surrounding skyline. The bunk-beds, whilst not huge (I am 6ft 1 so any bunk-bed is usually a squeeze), were just about the most solidly built bunk I've ever stayed in - the smoothed steel frames simply did not move anywhere and didn't creak, bend or rock. Good stuff.

Staff were helpful and wonderfully multi-lingual and the continental breakfast was pretty damn tasty. Any Brits expecting table service or a fry-up here will be sadly dissapointed, but you will not go hungry.

The bar is quiet, couches are comfy and enough games, cards and table-football is available to entertain any REALLY bored travellers. The building lacks a bit of atmosphere somewhat but hey, its a hostel!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adzee26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    141
    70
    19
    17
See reviews for
57
45
77
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, Paesi Bassi
Level Contributor
172 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

If you decide to stay in Rotterdam, this is best place.Clean stuff,nice rooms,wifi,good meal,perfect position. A lot of pubs and restaurants around,or you can also do few things inside the Cubus.really the place to go inside!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TulpanAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hostel is located on a noted architectonic building, the Cubic Houses. It has a close location to the train station and a public library.
The design of the hotel is great! It has a lounge where you can sit and use the free wifi, use the computers to plan your day.
It has an elevator that gets you to the upper floors, where the rooms are located. The rooms are great, very clean, with an ensuite bathroom with separate WC and shower. Every bed has an electrical sucket.
The service was not as great as the other features of this hostel. The two receptionists that were on duty did not have any idea of where can one get maps of the city, or where the tourists information center were located. They were not rude nor kind.
The breakfast is ok! As much as you can expect from an hostel, bread, cereals and juice. The have a lunch and dinner services for a fee, but we never tried them.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

Be prepared to be amazed by the design of this property in the cube houses. The entrance is a little tricky, but walk around to find a ramp to avoid lugging baggage up stairs. Reception friendly, bar and free Wi-Fi located in lobby, and elevator available from reception to upper floors. Beds clean and comfortable, WC in room clean, and towels avail for EUR 1,00.

Located next door to Rotterdam Blaak rail station, where you can take a NS train direct to Rotterdam Centraal in 2 min. Metro and streetcar also stop at Blaak for easy connections. A few bars and restaurants located next door, but a quick walk to Stadhuis will reward you with dozens of trendy lounges and wine bars. A great hostel and would return anytime!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

We found this hostel because a lovely train guard helped us find it when we got stranded in Rotterdam trying to get to Berlin! Although the machine that prints out maps was not updated and so we visited the hostels old location, the fantastic man at reception, BORIS, helped us find our way and was so so kind to us on our arrival at 1.30am. He made us a delicious breakfast to take with us as we were getting the 6.30am train the next morning and could stick around. Absolutely lovely man, I hope he reads this because he was just brilliant! Lovely clean hostel, large spacious rooms and comfy beds too! would have definitely stayed here longer if we could! Fab!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

I have stayed there for few nights as my weekend trip.
Well, this hostel is....okay but not really nice to stay.
I found so many problems like strange equipment like shower which is looking like being put on the wall( very difficult to wash feet and legs)and water stops too often!
And toilet water often cannot stop...The ventilation is horrible. Some rooms have no window.
Sometimes water discharge skins awfully.Bed is obviously too small and its mattless and pillow are too soft. I often had backache and nechache there.
Most of people are very friendly but some people seemed to help guest unwillingly...

I couldn't have comfortable stay there...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emine777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

5 friends and myself stayed here for a long weekend at the start of September and came across this place as it was quite cheap.

It is aprox 15 to 20 minute walk through Rotterdam from the main train station however there is metro that drops you right at the place.

The place is very 70's / IKEA esque. The rooms we had slept 4 with double bunks. They were basic and were very basic but to be expected from a hostel. You will need to place a deposit to get a towel from reception but I founds these very small so it may be advisable to bring your own.

We did not have food here apart from breakfast one morning which was included, however this is a continental cold breakfast and not what is need with 8 Irish blokes however there is numerous cafes in the vicinity..

The location is very handy in the centre of Rotterdam with a few cafe/ bar restaurant in walking distance. ( you can see them from the hostel windows). We especially liked the bar that served the main course and all you can drink in 3 hours for e20!!. But cannot remember the name of the place

On the whole I found it very hospitable with the staff and locals very friendly

As well as the standard visit to Amsterdam I would recommend visiting Delft, as we had an excellant day here and would came back with my wife

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank daveandcarolyn25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Stadsdriehoek
citizenM Rotterdam
citizenM Rotterdam
#3 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#8 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Cool
easyHotel Rotterdam City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Rotterdam Brainpark
#10 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
Cool
Hilton Rotterdam
Hilton Rotterdam
#2 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stayokay Rotterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stayokay Rotterdam

Property: Stayokay Rotterdam
Address: Overblaak 85-87, 3011 MH Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam > Stadsdriehoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stayokay Rotterdam 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stayokay Rotterdam is located in the centre of Rotterdam in the striking Cube Houses. These peculiar homes built on pylons were designed by the Dutch architect Piet Blom in 1984. The houses are located close to the Oude Haven, a historic area of the city bristling with bars, restaurants and cafés. Every room has its own washing facilities and the hostel will be fitted with state-of-the-art facilities. The hostel is particularly suitable for groups staying several nights, but also for meetings & workshops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stayokay Rotterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stayokay Rotterdam Hotel Rotterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing