We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Rotterdam Hotel/Hostel”
Review of Stayokay Rotterdam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stayokay Rotterdam
Reviewed December 6, 2012

If you decide to stay in Rotterdam, this is best place.Clean stuff,nice rooms,wifi,good meal,perfect position. A lot of pubs and restaurants around,or you can also do few things inside the Cubus.really the place to go inside!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TulpanAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (404)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 404 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hostel is located on a noted architectonic building, the Cubic Houses. It has a close location to the train station and a public library.
The design of the hotel is great! It has a lounge where you can sit and use the free wifi, use the computers to plan your day.
It has an elevator that gets you to the upper floors, where the rooms are located. The rooms are great, very clean, with an ensuite bathroom with separate WC and shower. Every bed has an electrical sucket.
The service was not as great as the other features of this hostel. The two receptionists that were on duty did not have any idea of where can one get maps of the city, or where the tourists information center were located. They were not rude nor kind.
The breakfast is ok! As much as you can expect from an hostel, bread, cereals and juice. The have a lunch and dinner services for a fee, but we never tried them.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarleeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Be prepared to be amazed by the design of this property in the cube houses. The entrance is a little tricky, but walk around to find a ramp to avoid lugging baggage up stairs. Reception friendly, bar and free Wi-Fi located in lobby, and elevator available from reception to upper floors. Beds clean and comfortable, WC in room clean, and towels avail for EUR 1,00.

Located next door to Rotterdam Blaak rail station, where you can take a NS train direct to Rotterdam Centraal in 2 min. Metro and streetcar also stop at Blaak for easy connections. A few bars and restaurants located next door, but a quick walk to Stadhuis will reward you with dozens of trendy lounges and wine bars. A great hostel and would return anytime!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We found this hostel because a lovely train guard helped us find it when we got stranded in Rotterdam trying to get to Berlin! Although the machine that prints out maps was not updated and so we visited the hostels old location, the fantastic man at reception, BORIS, helped us find our way and was so so kind to us on our arrival at 1.30am. He made us a delicious breakfast to take with us as we were getting the 6.30am train the next morning and could stick around. Absolutely lovely man, I hope he reads this because he was just brilliant! Lovely clean hostel, large spacious rooms and comfy beds too! would have definitely stayed here longer if we could! Fab!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

I have stayed there for few nights as my weekend trip.
Well, this hostel is....okay but not really nice to stay.
I found so many problems like strange equipment like shower which is looking like being put on the wall( very difficult to wash feet and legs)and water stops too often!
And toilet water often cannot stop...The ventilation is horrible. Some rooms have no window.
Sometimes water discharge skins awfully.Bed is obviously too small and its mattless and pillow are too soft. I often had backache and nechache there.
Most of people are very friendly but some people seemed to help guest unwillingly...

I couldn't have comfortable stay there...

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emine777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

5 friends and myself stayed here for a long weekend at the start of September and came across this place as it was quite cheap.

It is aprox 15 to 20 minute walk through Rotterdam from the main train station however there is metro that drops you right at the place.

The place is very 70's / IKEA esque. The rooms we had slept 4 with double bunks. They were basic and were very basic but to be expected from a hostel. You will need to place a deposit to get a towel from reception but I founds these very small so it may be advisable to bring your own.

We did not have food here apart from breakfast one morning which was included, however this is a continental cold breakfast and not what is need with 8 Irish blokes however there is numerous cafes in the vicinity..

The location is very handy in the centre of Rotterdam with a few cafe/ bar restaurant in walking distance. ( you can see them from the hostel windows). We especially liked the bar that served the main course and all you can drink in 3 hours for e20!!. But cannot remember the name of the place

On the whole I found it very hospitable with the staff and locals very friendly

As well as the standard visit to Amsterdam I would recommend visiting Delft, as we had an excellant day here and would came back with my wife

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank daveandcarolyn25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

I'm studying architecture so rotterdam was such a good place to go, and specially this hostel which I had already seen in the internet.. and it is good, it's so clean, everybody is so quiet, everything is like too correct and we didn't like it that much because it kind of felt like being in high school again. But if you want to rest and sleep good and cheap you have to go here! it won't have the best party ever but it is nice

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gabirul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#8 of 53 in Rotterdam
825 reviews
Cool
easyHotel Rotterdam City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Rotterdam Brainpark
#10 of 53 in Rotterdam
996 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
citizenM Rotterdam
citizenM Rotterdam
#2 of 53 in Rotterdam
1,460 reviews
SS Rotterdam
#9 of 53 in Rotterdam
1,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stayokay Rotterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stayokay Rotterdam

Address: Overblaak 85-87, 3011 MH Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam > Stadsdriehoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Rotterdam
Price Range: $28 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Stayokay Rotterdam 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stayokay Rotterdam is located in the centre of Rotterdam in the striking Cube Houses. These peculiar homes built on pylons were designed by the Dutch architect Piet Blom in 1984. The houses are located close to the Oude Haven, a historic area of the city bristling with bars, restaurants and cafés. Every room has its own washing facilities and the hostel will be fitted with state-of-the-art facilities. The hostel is particularly suitable for groups staying several nights, but also for meetings & workshops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Stayokay Rotterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stayokay Rotterdam Hotel Rotterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing