We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Astounding service and value!”
Review of King Kong Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
King Kong Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Astounding service and value!”
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

My friends and I arrived in Rotterdam at midnight on a Friday, found ourselves outside the King Kong hostel and managed to get beds in a shared dorm. We were very impressed with the classy decor, free tea and fruit and the Netflix subscription! The rooms themselves are spotlessly clean and each have a separate toilet and washroom, and were very comfortable (though the pillows were fairly brutal). The staff are cheerful and full of local knowledge, and the hostel is in a central location and a pleasure to be in. And they even made me a packed breakfast! Thoroughly recommended.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rhodri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alisa_Kokorina, Manager at King Kong Hostel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Rhodri,

Thank you very much for your review! We appreciate the beautiful words you use to describe our hostel! Furthermore, we took your feedback on board and have changed the pillows in the rooms to a softer ones :) .

Hope to see you again soon!

King Kong Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    58
    10
    5
    4
See reviews for
7
48
79
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Wonderful experience at this hostel. Very friendly and welcoming staff who were happy to give us directions to all the best sightseeing attractions! Brand new furtinture and the rooms are very clean. I liked the layout of the rooms, very comfortable beds! Amazing massive showers. Very cool interior design and artwork, with great communal areas. Vending machine selling beer, and free tea and coffee 24 hours! Complimentary breakfast for the first month! The location is so central and easy to find that we walked in 10 minutes from cetraal and did not even need to use the map! Located next door to a very popular bar on a nice street! Excellent value for money as well, I would definitely stay at this Hotel again, highly recommended. Thanks guys :-)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saczok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alisa_Kokorina, Manager at King Kong Hostel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Joseph,

Million thanks for a wonderfull review! You and all your thousands and thousands of friends are welcome to stay at King Kong hostel anytime!

We miss you already!

King Kong Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2014

It is bit odd but I haven't been to King Kong Hostel, but still I have experienced perfect treatment from them. Planned to stay in King Kong Hostel for one night in the beginning of March. Eventually one day before the departure one lovely administrator from the Hostel called me to inform, that they have technical issues with the opening and therefore they need to postpone it for a week. To make it up, they actually booked a place in nearby hostel and paid the stay. Therefore it was nice and carefree weekend in Rotterdam. Thank You.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taavi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Stadsdriehoek
citizenM Rotterdam
citizenM Rotterdam
#2 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,317 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#8 of 52 in Rotterdam
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bilderberg Parkhotel
#11 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,108 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
Mainport Hotel
Mainport Hotel
#4 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,158 reviews
Cool
Rotterdam Marriott Hotel
Rotterdam Marriott Hotel
#6 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Kong Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Kong Hostel

Property: King Kong Hostel
Address: Witte de Withstraat 72, 3012 BS Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam > Cool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — King Kong Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
King Kong brings an entirely new attitude to Rotterdam. This boutique hostel has an iconic urban style and is a choice of a sophisticated, yet budget conscious traveller. Located in the middle of Cool district, the Witte de Withstraat, King Kong hostel has it's finger on the pulse of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld and Evoline ltd so you can book your King Kong Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing