We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quirky decor, fab hotel!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Art Hotel Rotterdam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Art Hotel Rotterdam
Ranked #40 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quirky decor, fab hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for business purpose - area did not look great - but short inexpensive taxi ride from Rotterdam Central train station. V close to metro and some train noise could be heard from room but good double glazing.

Upgraded to suite on arrival - massive bedroom with separate lounge area, dining table, kitchenette and large bathroom. Antique type furniture in room which may not be to everyones taste - but decor made the suite cosy, Very clean, very friendly staff, large choice at breakfast including organic bread. Did not eat dinner in restaurant myself but colleague did and said food good.

A nice hotel - with good facilities.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RosieG001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    146
    119
    52
    64
See reviews for
63
146
32
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bruxelles
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

We went with Groupon, so a bit anxious, but everything was more than satisfying : a very warm welcome, spacious, well situated rooms with great views, cleanliness, the deco, ... Meals OK.
Thumbs up to them!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bénédicte F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

Chose this hotel because we were going to the North Sea Jazz Fest and it is only one metro stop away from Ahoy Stadium. This is an interestingly funky/quirky hotel decorated with eclectic and antique furniture. I liked that when we checked in, just about noon, they offered a shot-glass sized welcome drink of rose wine -- nice touch. The rooms are also quirky and may not satisfy some people's need for same old, same old but I found the amenties (small kitchen), decoration, small couch, and comfortable beds very serviceable. The negatives were only that the hotel claimed free Wifi that never worked (I heard another guest complaining that it didn't work for his entire 4 night stay) and there is no air conditioning so if you need your windows open, it may be noisy--our room was at the same level as the metro line (it is not underground at this spot). I'd try for a higher-level room next time, but I'd definitely consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Try for a room that doesn't face the metro line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alternatives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

We spent 4 days there while attending the North Sea Jazz Festival. The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. The property is very convenient for accessing the transit systen as a metro station is only 50 meters away and is one stop from the Ahoy center. We shall stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paddyinmexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

One redeeming feature, the staff were delightful, friendly & helpful. Sorry, but the compliments are now over........

I was shocked when I entered my room to smell urine; see dirty mirrors; stained, dirty, damaged furniture; appalling decor - everything mis-matched and totally tasteless.

My complaint was dealt with promptly in a professional, friendly manner and without argument. I was allocated another room immediately but unfortunately, the same problems were there too.

My business colleagues held a similar opinion, but the 2 night stay had already been paid for by our employers, so there was little to do unless we paid again to move to another hotel.

The staff asked if I did not like the 'boutique/art/antique' theme of the hotel - I responded that not only was the place dirty, it was full of badly worn 'junk' that should have been taken to the garbage depot rather than use it for a tacky, bizzare, dismal hotel.

The hotel is located in an urban, slightly run-down area with few amenities and quite a lengthy walk from the central attractions/stores. Accross the road is a large 'Quaker' foods processing factory that is busy throughout the night. I was awake from 1am with the noise of a grinding/cutting tool.

The entrance area is littered with grubby, worn-out, gaudy, ornate, gold coloured chairs. The lobby/reception is dismal & badly lit with restricted space for the staff to have contact with the guests.

The room numbers are hand-painted on the walls, in the style of a 4 year-old. Another room number sign is placed to the side of the door & can barely be read because of the abstract design.

The bathroom door obstructs the main entrance door. The lighting is poor. There is a bare electric socket for the haidryer right next to the handbasin. The bath/shower is slippy with no mat to prevent this. There is a shelf right next to the bath - guaranteed to injure you arms when you climb in or out of the bath. The toilet design is very strange and needs to be cleaned with the brush after use.

The beds were comfortable and clean - but the cover had a cigarette burn hole. The small-screen TV was so far away, it was not easy to see or hear.

There are no 'extras' such as complimentary toiletries or drinking water.

We had a good business trip - but spent most of the time away from this 'Worst Western' hotel !

Room Tip: Look at other options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rotterdam hotels

.
Level Contributor
86 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

The hotel looks good and unique, the service is very good, and the room I had was large and nice decorated, but... I came late May 2012, and it was 30c outside, and the hotel has no air condition... So, they promised me a room with 2 windows that you can widely open. I entered the room, opened the windows and 20 meters under me, found railway line with a close railway station...
So, in hot days - take it into account. And, always ask for a room on the side that is far for this train line.

Room Tip: always ask for a room on the side that is far for this train line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boazsharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

A good surprise. For 118 €, I spent a night at the Art Hotel, ideal if you have an event at the Ahoy sports & events center (walking distance). The hotel is surprising : dimensions are unusually large for a BW hotel, and it looks a bit like an art gallery. Very good space in the room, even an ensuite kitchenette. Separate shower in the bathroom, XXL bed (I'm tall, this bed was not only very large, but also had a very good mattress. Nice breakfast area, huge tables, fast coffee. A couple of negatives : TV not working, trains next door but good insulation, and they do charge for the breakfast.

Room Tip: Refreshing type of hotel, and you get more room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jprbrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Cool
easyHotel Rotterdam City Centre
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#7 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Hotel Rotterdam
#29 of 52 in Rotterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
nhow Rotterdam
#8 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
Bastion Hotel Rotterdam Zuid
#34 of 52 in Rotterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Hotel Rotterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel Rotterdam

Property: Art Hotel Rotterdam
Address: Mijnsherenlaan 9, 3081 GA Rotterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly BEST WESTERN Art Hotel Rotterdam)
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Art Hotel Rotterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Art Hotel Rotterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rotterdam Best Western
Best Western Rotterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing