We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
citizenM Rotterdam
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$145
$130
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Rotterdam Marriott Hotel(Rotterdam)
$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre(Rotterdam)(Great Value!)
$97
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Rotterdam(Rotterdam)
$183
$167
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel New York(Rotterdam)
$132
$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Suite Hotel Pincoffs(Rotterdam)
$145
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
nhow Rotterdam(Rotterdam)
$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$90
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Novotel Rotterdam Brainpark(Rotterdam)(Great Value!)
$130
$110
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$172
$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,706)
Filter reviews
1,706 results
Traveler rating
1,071
527
75
19
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,071
527
75
19
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscitizen mfree moviesmood lightingrooms are smallhigh techoude havenwall to wallhuge bedrain showerliving roomgreat conceptcube housesold harbourblaak stationmarket halltrendy hotelother cities
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
891 - 896 of 1,706 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2014

After making a booking error in a very expensive hotel in Rotterdam we needed a cheap place to rest our heads for the final night of our trip to the Netherlands. Booking.com showed us this hotel was 69euros for a night and it had 91% review score so we clicked onto their website to see the rooms. We signed up to become a citizen and got the room for 59euros.
Basically its a very simple idea - all bedrooms are the same (small but not too small) and are for sleeping and washing in - everything else is done in the "living spaces". Their is a well stocked bar area and food available 24/7. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Check-in/out was all done yourself on the computers at the top of the lifts and literally couldn't have been easier.... they even leave pens around for you to pinch and do their advertising for them!
Everywhere was spotless and very modern and a great atmosphere.
When we checked in we got a little reciept for two free drinks so we went over to the bar and being English were just expecting soft drinks or coffee but no - ANY drink you could pick - so we had cocktails! They were great, really tasty and made right in front of us. The bar staff were very nice and friendly.
The room was all controlled by a tablet - the TV, curtains, blinds, lighting - everything! My favourite was the "mood lighting". The bed was massive and really comfy and the view over the cobbled square was lovely.
We would definitely return to CitizenM hotels over the world as the concept is brilliant.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same.
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Grace R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2014

This hotel is great for a geek like me. You get a tablet in the room with which you can control lighting, air conditioning, the blinds, and the TV. It didn't always work immediately (the TV took several tries to switch on), but it was still fun and convenient.

The room is small but has everything you need: a spacious shower (with colored LED lighting), washing table, small desk, a chair, and last but not least: a large (king size) bed right against the large window (small people may have to climb in though, as it is a high bed). All in a beautiful designer interior.

The location is superb. It's close to the big square at Blaak, it's right next to the metro station (as in 20m or something), and it's a 1-2 minute walk from several restaurants surrounding the water (gorgeous view on old boats): Mexican, Tapas, traditional, cocktails, etc etc

The breakfast offers lots of choice and was delicious (try the pancakes!). The only minor thing here was that it seemed a little hectic. We had to wait in line for the coffee, which isn't a big deal for me, but the line wasn't too clear and it took a while. I had to ask for a knife and when we went for seconds, our (still half full) coffees had already been cleaned up. They could also use an extra table.

But this doesn't really reduce the overall experience. The staff was very friendly, rooms (and hotel in general) were very clean. It's not cheap, but it is a more than decent hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank PeterMorli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Nice hotel, good location. Citizen M hotels respond to your basic needs as a traveller: good bed, nice shower, clean rooms. Trendy and hipster atmosphere, but very correct. We've stayed at the Citizen M hotel in Amsterdam (city) and were very pleased with what we found: a comfortable, functional room with everything we needed on our city trip. Here in Rotterdam, we were not disappointed either.

Rooms are no huge ballrooms, beds can't be separated and they don't do room service. They mention that on their website: people who complain about this, should inform themselves better before making a reservation.
So, this hotel is less suited for people travelling with loads of lugage they absolutely want to unpack, or for people sharing a room that don't know each other very well. For a citytripping couple (like us) it's exactely what you're looking for.

Car park around the corner: Blaak 16, cheap (12€/day) and close to the hotel. Train station close by.

Some tips for restaurants:
Italian restaurant Gusto http://www.tripadvisor.com/Restaurant_Review-g188632-d1007020-Reviews-Gusto-Rotterdam_South_Holland_Province.html
Picknick, for a great breakfast or lunch http://www.tripadvisor.com/Restaurant_Review-g188632-d4469932-Reviews-PickNick-Rotterdam_South_Holland_Province.html

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Great location! The room is clean and cosy. Very good value for money. Had a great stay in August. Everything was nice and I found it very modern. It is a nice to be able to control everything with a Tablet! Public areas very comfortable with bar, books and computers. I will go back. Very good value for money .

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank touriste2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

Hotel is next to blaak metro station. Easy to go downtown by walk, by tran or metro! It takes only 5 minutes. We had a great time for sure! Watching movies on demand and snoozing in our super comfy king size bed!! Splendid! Rooms are extra clean btw.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Gözen Ç
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews