We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, brand new & great service”
Review of citizenM Rotterdam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
citizenM Rotterdam
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2014

A true feast to come and stay here.
Close to the shopping street, great restaurants nearby, really a great location to visit Rotterdam.
Good service, nice people, next to train & metro station. Nice atmosphere, easy check in quite enviroment, great bed, ...
We had a wonderful time here.
We will surely come back to stay here once more.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view on the white house... you will like it.
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tom_Hadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,389)
There are newer reviews for citizenM Rotterdam
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

682 - 688 of 1,389 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2014

My mom and I had planned a trip to the Netherlands for a week, and quite honestly I was looking forward more to Amsterdam then Rotterdam + other cities. However, we decided to spend three nights in Rotterdam first. I chose Citizen M, quite honestly, based on the location. For any runners out there, it's incredibly close to the water and you can get a fairly long run (at least 8 miles) in. The room was very pleasant, the bed huge, surprisingly while the room was small, I didn't feel as cramped in as I expected.
My mom's one complaint about the room (regarding the touchpad), is that it doesn't seem to serve as a clock, which is a little annoying when you're trying to figure out what time it during the night (but that's a small problem). Also, we could never figure out how to fully turn off the alarm. .
The location was excellent, I truly wasn't sure where it would be in comparison to other attractions (besides close to the water). However it's incredibly close to the cube houses that Rotterdam is well known for, as well as the Willemsburg bridge. The little inlet area the hotel is in, is close to at least four or five restaurants. The hotel is also across the street from the second largest train station, which was convenient, as if (like us), you want to go to Delft or The Hague for the day, you don't have to stop at Central Station first.
All in all, I recommend this hotel, however if you are a family (or more then two people), it might not be the best option just because of the room size.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
3  Thank briaviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Stayed just the one night, but wished it could have been more.
The hotel is brilliantly eclectic, great artwork, and super streamlined from check in, to breakfast to check out, it's all so seamless.
The rooms are a comfortable size and due to clever design and layout absolutely perfect.
The king size bed, free wi fi and movies, make this the best hotel hotel to stay in.
Location is awesome, and all the sights are within walking distance.
And the price? Incredible value.

Room Tip: They are all great
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank maurieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

CitizenM has been my home for the last 3 weeks, and I enjoyed every minute of it! Great location, extremely attentive staff, comfortable rooms, tasty food, beautiful and creative interior - everything seems to be carefully thought through down to the smallest detail. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Rotterdam, short or long stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

A hotel unlike any other hotel I've stayed in recently, CitizenM is a refreshingly different experience. Ultra modern design, electronic self check-in/check-out, informal/casual atmosphere, this hotel makes for a comfortable and relaxing place to stay in Rotterdam. It's located opposite Blaak railway and Metro station and close to a large shopping environment. Staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ratichon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Nice design, nice gadgets and very friendly staff. Breakfast is ok but expensive. Not ok is the selfstarting TV in the night (four times in one hour!!!). The location ist perfect for visiting Rotterdam.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Max S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

This hotel is a delight for the eye and the comfort.
The concept and design of this hotel is very modern, high tech and clean.
This is the best hotel I have stayed in and I travelled a lot.
The staff are always smiling and helpful. The location is great, with Metro, Tram and bus second away from the hotel. The hotel reminds quiet.
In the modern room, you have a tablet control system which allow you to control the light, temperature, blind and give you free access to TV, movies and fast internet. I didn't use my IPad during my stay.
I didn't use the canteen as I wanted to discover Rotterdam local food. You can leave your luggage free of charge in the secure luggage room, handy when you checked out at 11am.
I will recommend this hotel to everyone. When high tech become Affordable.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Coreenj567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Stadsdriehoek
Mainport Hotel
Mainport Hotel
#4 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,225 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#8 of 52 in Rotterdam
789 reviews
Cool
Hilton Rotterdam
Hilton Rotterdam
#3 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
nhow Rotterdam
#6 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,579 reviews
Suite Hotel Pincoffs
#1 of 52 in Rotterdam
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Rotterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Rotterdam

Address: Gelderseplein 50, 3011 WZ Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam > Stadsdriehoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Price Range: $97 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Rotterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Rotterdam's historic yet hip Oude Haven with lovely views of the port, citizenM offers 151 rooms of affordable luxury. Enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, a chic Vitra living room style lobby with free iMac access for your convenience, a MENDO library collection for your reading pleasure, 24/7 on-site dining and cocktailing at canteenM, hi-tech tablet MoodPad in every room with free movies, wall-to-wall window for peeping the view, high pressure rainfall shower and bespoke amenities, and of course the ever popular XL king-size bed with luxurious linens to sink into. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Otel, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your citizenM Rotterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing