We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, very stylish, love it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of citizenM Rotterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
citizenM Rotterdam
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent location, very stylish, love it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

I am glad that I picked this hotel after reading reviews on tripadvisor. With affordable price, I got all I need. It's in an excellent location - 2 minutes walk from the Rotterdam Blaak station (Pay attention to the sign. I used google map and it directed me to a more difficult way to get to the hotel). The famous cube houses are also 2 minutes away.

I got a warm welcome message and a free drink once I got into the room. The king size bed was very clean comfortable. The room was a bit small but with this price and location I have no complaints.

The entire hotel was very modern and stylish. If I was not going for a trip, I could just sit in the lobby or bar area for the whole day and felt very relaxing.

The only trouble is from the street to the door I needed to walk through a flagstone path. I dragged my spinning luggage in and out and the front wheels got damaged. Hopefully it can be replaced in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snow Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    712
    318
    33
    13
    10
See reviews for
89
536
88
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

Stayed for one night with a friend in one of their double rooms. The beds are huge, and the rooms equipped with a Samsung Tab that basically controls your entire room: the curtains, the lights, the tv, the color of the lights in the shower etc.

+ Insane value! The hotel is as central as they get, and the high standard of pretty much anything makes it worth the while and money. Me and my friend walked around the city for quite a bit just to scan the area for cheaper/better hotels, and out of the tenfolds we found, there was no better option.
+ Free wifi (quite good as well, 25/8 mb), bathroom accessories, free TV/films (of quite recent date) and tonnes of porn at your disposition, just enjoying an evening on the huge king size bed is an experience in itself.
+ We got two free drinks at the bar, or well actually 4 because the bartender was nice enough to make them doubles, which is a value of ~20 euros.
+ Nice lounge with state of the art iMacs at your disposal with a functional printer that came in handy for our sake.

- No proper reception, just a desk with computers and debit card machines with staff semi present.
- Elevator was a bit weird, three panels that are quite confusing.
- No gym/pool or offers for activites of any kind, could make for the perfect hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ado D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
62 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

The hotel is very stylish decorated, all the common areas have iconic design pieces, where they create different kinds of spaces, and you always find an area that suits better your need. The room wasn't big but it was very smart organised, with storage under the bed. The bed taking all the space from wall to wall, but with the big window that looks really nice. The breakfast was also very good, mainly with local products. The location is also very convenient. It's right next to the modern part of the city. There is a metro and train station right at the door. And night life (restaurants and bars) is also 5 to 10 minutes walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carla m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

I'd recommend citizen m to anyone looking for a modern hotel unlike your standard traditional hotels. The hobby or 'living rooms' are chic with comfy sofas. We even got a voucher for 2 free drinks when we checked in! We loved our room. It was clean and has everything you need for a short break. The tablet was a nice touch with free Internet.

Highly recommended. I'd not hesitate staying at other citizen m hotels in the world!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank JJ_TravelExpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Level Contributor
48 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

I spent a night here for a business trip, but still I don't know if I love or hate it.
Room was pretty small, with bed covering completely the side near the window. Technology wae everywhere: motorized sunshades, tablet controllet light and television and a nice RGB light inside the transparent bathroom.
Clean and nice, but I was feeling like inside a Terry Gilliam movie.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pape x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
115 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights and enjoyed our time. The staff is very pleasant, and the area is perfect for the tourist/traveler. The rooms are tiny, but we didn't need anything else and enjoyed the adventure. The technology included in the room kept my husband entertained. :) Note the "mood lighting" in the shower. The living room on the main floor is a great place in the evenings to enjoy a drink or surprisingly tasty dinner. Be forewarned, however, if you are conservative or easily offended, because some of the paintings and art are a bit "out there."

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SandEseetheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

great location in oude haven, great staff and perfect for single traveler...but a bit small for a couple. comfortable king size bed takes up lots of floor space, huge windows bring the light and harbor in and common areas are spacious and welcoming.

Room Tip: request a high floor overlooking harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marwargar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Stadsdriehoek
Mainport Hotel
Mainport Hotel
#3 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Suite Hotel Pincoffs
#1 of 52 in Rotterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#7 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
nhow Rotterdam
#8 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
Cool
Hilton Rotterdam
Hilton Rotterdam
#4 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
Cool
Rotterdam Marriott Hotel
Rotterdam Marriott Hotel
#6 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Rotterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Rotterdam

Property: citizenM Rotterdam
Address: Gelderseplein 50, 3011 WZ Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam > Stadsdriehoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Rotterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Rotterdam's historic yet hip Oude Haven with lovely views of the port, citizenM offers 151 rooms of affordable luxury. Enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, a chic Vitra living room style lobby with free iMac access for your convenience, a MENDO library collection for your reading pleasure, 24/7 on-site dining and cocktailing at canteenM, hi-tech tablet MoodPad in every room with free movies, wall-to-wall window for peeping the view, high pressure rainfall shower and bespoke amenities, and of course the ever popular XL king-size bed with luxurious linens to sink into. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your citizenM Rotterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing